skip navigation
Five

Five(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Five The five survivors of a... MORE > $18.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The pick of the litter?

    • r
    • 12/21/12

    This wins the award for the worst film of 'end of world' movies marathon on TCM today. The acting is atrocious, in fact, unlistenable. It is pointless, devoid of message, a total waste of celluloid. Avoid at all costs,

  • Five (1951)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/30/10

    This is the very first film to deal with a nuclear war aftermath and it's quite good, in spite of the low budget. Fine acting, no one stands out though. It is a little slow in the midsection, but it really is quite a remarkable film to tackle such a morbid and depressing subject, it wasn't that common in that era. Director Arch Oboler had quite a vision. Certainly ahead of it's time.

  • the house in Five

    • Andrea Lee
    • 9/14/08

    After some internet searching I found the house used in the movie is know as Eleanor's Retreat. She was the wife of Oboler. Oboler also had another Wright house on the same property, now known as the Oboler Gatehouse and was larger. The Retreat was an artist studio for Eleanor. There were plans for a main house and stables but were never done due to lack of funds. The property was sold in late 1980's and the new owner has plans to restore the houses. Eleanor's retreat is in poor condition, the Gatehouse has a live in caretaker.

  • Little known classic

    • Andrea Lee
    • 9/14/08

    I just happened on the movie when it was shown recently. I am a long time fan of such movies but had never seen nor heard of it before. I enjoyed it very much and recommend it to both fans of such films and anyoneinterested in lost classic movies. I also liked the house used in the movie, the ending credits said it was a Frank Lloyd Wright house. I belief it was called Cliff house? I could find no such FLW house??

  • "Five" 1951 Sci Fi movie

    • Janet
    • 8/6/08

    I also missed this when it was on in the last few months....Please let me know when it might be shown again.thanks

  • Play it again! I missed it the last time.

    • ward
    • 6/29/08

    If you need another reason, it's significant -- the first nuclear post-apoc ever made.

  • Please play it again!

    • vjr
    • 6/8/08

    I missed this when it was on recently. It is a classic that I'd like to see. Please play it again!

  • I want to see this again!!

    • becky
    • 5/18/08

    I saw this when I was about 14 years old and loved it. I haven't seen it since.Imagine my excitement to know it was on 5-9-08 and my disappointment that I had missed it by 2 hours!!Please run it again! I would buy it on DVD

  • A good one for the doom and gloom collection.

    • imakerain2
    • 5/10/08

    First time I've seen this even though it came out just a few years before I was born, where's it been hiding all these years? A few awkward moments where dialog is not very realistic. Most biologic reations to radiation have been overlooked but then few knew what would actually happen outside of the government. Missed the last 20 minutes so the ending will remain a mystery until someone feels like releasing it again. It's a keeper if it comes out on DVD.

  • I give Five a Five out of five

    • allen
    • 5/9/08

    first time watched this movie (2008/May) thought it was very well done. enjoyed in very much. great camera work, a story line that one could find themsevles within and wonder what they would do. would watch it again.

  • After school special

    • jms
    • 5/9/08

    I first saw Five and a number of other atomic bomb movies after school in the early 1960s. My strong anti-nuclear weapons stance began then and continues 45 years later.

  • re-release Five

    • d
    • 5/7/08

    I saw this movie when I was about 9 years old.My dad evidently wanted to see it after he and my mom divorced. The images of the effects of nuclear war complete with people knowing they were going to die because of certain symptoms -- like strange and large bumps on their chests-- and a woman in labor left alone.It was extraordinarily powerful and the images have remained with me to this day.

  • Waiting Many Years to See FIVE agaom!!!

    • MVJ
    • 3/11/08

    I would love to see this movie again and again and would love to own a DVD of it. I saw it as a young girl when it came out and it has stuck with me. Please do the world a favor and re-release it!

  • FIVE - a Rare Must See film!

    • Nicholas
    • 10/24/07

    Years before ON THE BEACH hit the screens in 1959, this rare gem of a world destroyed by Nuclear war, tells a tale of a bleak survival of 5 people with its haunting sound track and a hopeless future and their struggle to survive. To make matters even worse there is but one woman and she is pregnant dealing with the possibility that IF she does survive she will have to raise her baby in a dead world.A gripping- sad film but one that makes you think how good we have it here in America during peacetime.

  • Show it Again

    • BK
    • 3/7/07

    When I watched this movie, I was a young girl babysitting and it scared the pants off me. Now, every month when the sirens are tested, I still think about this movie and would love to see it again to see. I've never known it to be shown on TV, but would like to find out if it ever is. I'd vote to put it on video or CD or DVD or something.

  • FIVE

    • K.C.
    • 7/6/06

    I WOULD BUY THIS MOVIE. IT WAS SO STARK AND SO SHOCKING FOR ITS TIME. WWII WAS STILL FRESH IN EVERYONE'S MIND WHEN THIS MOVIE WAS MADE. I THINK HOLLYWOOD AND THE REST OF THE U.S. WERE TRYING TO GRASP THE ENORMITY OF NUCLEAR WAR. EVEN THOUGH THE MOVIE SEEMS HOKEY AT TIMES--IT STILL GRABS YOU IF YOU'RE WATCHING IT ALONE LATE ON A FRIDAY NIGHT.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.