skip navigation
Twentieth Century

Twentieth Century(1934)

  • Saturday, January 31 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Twentieth Centur... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Twentieth Century

    • Goetan
    • 10/9/14

    An exceptional screwball comedy. Drama-diva Lombard and the equally dramatic and more egotistical Barrymore bicker about them working together again. Lengthy establishing opening is slow at the beginning, but the remainder of the film on the train is funny and worth the wait. Great performances, hilarious dialogue match with Hawks' direction. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Shout, scream and overact

    • Savoirefaire
    • 10/5/14

    I found this film almost unwatchable because of the acting. Barrymore and Lombard literally shout at each other in every scene. It seemed they were trying to see who was loudest and most animated. The supporting actors were just as bad trying to keep pace with the stars. I blame Hawks for letting this production get overwrought. Several years later Hawks came back to the same type of quick paced dialog with " His Girl Friday" and succeeded beautifully with the great Grant and Russell- far superior performers.

  • Good Early Morning Film To Watch

    • BarrymoreStar
    • 9/24/13

    Liked it,Carole a little too flaky,but loved Barrymore,the ham

  • Brilliant. John Barrymore at his finest.

    • Jhaemes
    • 9/24/13

    This is, hands down, one of the most amusing films of ALL time. There are so many laugh-out-loud moments---all due to the manic gyrations and rantings of Oscar Jaffe ("I clo-o-ose the Iron Door on you!"). What a shame that a man with this calibre of talent should come to such an inauspicious end. It truly makes me sad. But this film is among the greatest pieces of comedy and should be hailed as so. I wish people would remember Barrymore for his beauty and amazing talent, than the 'caricature' he was relegated to be near the end. ****On another note----a poster below (Jewish lady, and possibly seeing anti-semitism everywhere, I guess, because of the turbulent time in Europe this film was made) claims their is a Nazi swastika around the 36 minute mark. It's just past 37 minutes, and it's the Buddhist/Sanskrit/Tibetan (etc. etc. etc.) symbol of auspiciousness and good fortune/luck. It's even used in Kabbalah! The swastika, which has been around for millennia, mind you, is either right or left facing, and always SQUARE. The Nazi symbol for the National Socialist party that was adopted in 1920 is ALWAYS right facing, and ALWAYS at a 45-degree angle!! Please learn the difference, people! A lot of misunderstanding could be avoided!Also, for the record, Americans and the Western world really had no clue about Nazism until 'The Mortal Storm' (a tiny taste) came out in '39...or the early 40's. No one was aware of the true horrors, and therefore that prop could not be an attack on Jews....nor could the scene she describes with the character Max Jacobs/Mendelbaum....most all of Hollywood and Broadway were owned/run/written/produced/etc. by people of the Jewish faith in those years; there is nothing derogatory there./end rant

  • Twentieth Century

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ****1/2

  • Superb

    • filmnoir47
    • 7/30/09

    Barrymore is, no pun intended, Oscar-worthy, and Lombard matches him note for note. It's astounding and sad that John Barrymore was capable of giving this performance and just a few years later was parodying himself and relying solely on cue cards. Yes, there's a lot of yelling, and yes, we're a little glad when we take our leave of these two, but it's a brilliant portrait of the old school diva and Belasco-like producer-egomaniac-sociopath. I love the still handsome, magnetic figure Barrymore cuts, and he swings for the fences. It's his comedic "Hamlet" and absolutely worth seeing. How terrible it is that he couldn't keep it together enough to truly be this strong again. There's so much wit and sardonic dialogue flying that the crew probably had to duck. Everyone in the cast is superb, and this is one of my favorite gems of that era.

  • Nazi swastika !

    • Hannah B Fischthal
    • 6/14/09

    Interspersed with Barrymore's great comic scenes are very disturbing anti-semitic images. About 36 minutes into the film, you can see a Nazi swastika on the right-hand side for quite a few seconds. Add that to the comment made just before it that Max Jacobs used to be Max Mandelbaum. Jacobs is the only one having lots of money. In his last scene, he has a profile that shows a grotesquely huge nose, similar to "Jewish noses" used in Nazi propaganda films. Note the film was made in 1934, when Hitler was in power.

  • "O" My--it's The Final Irony

    • Lee
    • 11/30/08

    Hawk's managed to cram wit, charm, and warmth into this rolling 90 minute gem. Lombard & Barrymore are great together and make a surprisingly convincing team. (Their confrontation & his fake suicide threat scene is what clinches this whole movie for me. So good!) Walter Connolly also adds another great comedic element. And all those O's! Oscar, Oliver, Owen...and so many more...O I love it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.