skip navigation
Cover Girl

Cover Girl(1944)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cover Girl A nightclub dancer makes it... MORE > $8.55 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Beautiful Hayworth!

    • RedRain
    • 4/7/13

    It's so easy to see why Fred Astaire preferred Rita Hayworth to all of his other partners. The gal could dance and, frankly, she dances rings around Gene Kelly in this film! This isn't the sultry "Gilda" but a really beautiful and light Hayworth in a role very suited for her talents. I particularly enjoy the film being told through the love story between her grandmother and her modeling agent. I like this film a lot and the musical numbers are quite something, as they are intricate and fun. The storyline is not formulaic and is a new twist on the boy and girl love story. Just a fun film!

  • A Rare Musical That Has An Excellent Storyline

    • Gwendolyn Z. Green
    • 7/19/11

    Although I enjoy musicals, they are not my top category of classic movies, but this movie may change that. The movie was excellent. The color and the costumes were delicious to look at, and the song "Long Ago and Far Away" is still stuck in my head (in a good way). I thoroughly enjoyed the montage of the different magazines and the "cover girls" who posed for them. I am seriously thinking of adding this movie to my classic collection.

  • Magnifico

    • Sonia
    • 11/1/10

    Um musical excelente. Com timas canes e o Gene Kelly arrassa danando. Ele tinha um carisma incrivel e uma leveza formidavel. Rita est linda no filme.

  • Cover Girl (1944)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/4/09

    An exceptional musical, made just prior to the hopelessly overdone musicals to come. Simple, subtle and with an amazingly good pairing of Rita Hayworth and Fred Astaire. Great score and musical numbers, excellent costumes and art direction. Fantastic support from Phil Silvers and especially Eve Arden.

  • Rita Hayworth and Gene Kelly

    • Karlton
    • 6/12/09

    What a treat it would have been if Gene Kelly and Rita Hayworth had been allowed by their studios to become a dance team. This was the only time they had the chance to team up to dance in a film. There make a delightful duo. This film is a classic.

  • From Pin-Up Girl to "Cover Girl"

    • Eunice_Campbell
    • 5/30/09

    Rita Hayworth sweetly steals this show with ease and grace. Her dance routines with Gene Kelly easily top those of Ginger Rogers & Fred Astaire. Hayworth and Kelly were way more atractive a couple, oozing with sex appeal, the every day peoples' dancers and this was their film to prove it. The plot of"Cover Girl" is too good. Rusty (Rita) hears about an audition backstage and decides to try out to be a Zigfeld-type of magazine cover girl. Kelly's not only her dance partner, he's her beau who doesn't know she's gone for the interview. Eve Arden is the lady in charge of locating the company's new cover girl. Phil Silvers is best friends with Kelly and Hayworth who proves with his performance that he's quite a song and dance man. This is a very entertaining film, guaranteed to be a good time for one and all. ClassicClassicClassicClassicClassic Class

  • Great movie.

    • Janey
    • 6/27/08

    I loved this movie!! It's such a great musical and really takes me to a different time and place. It makes me think of the good old days. I recommend it for anyone who likes musicals. There's one of my favorite songs also, "Long Ago and Far Away." Wonderful!!

  • miss this kind of movie

    • mavis
    • 12/1/07

    loved this movie

  • WOW! TWICE THE GENE KELLY!! WHAT A DANCE!

    • Rachel
    • 4/27/07

    I love this movie. Rita Hayworth was a perfect mate for GENE in this movie. She was a very beautiful, graceful dancer; her arms flowed perfectly, her steps were light and she was in perfect timing with GENE. I love the routine she and GENE did "Put Me To The Test." But the alter-ego number proves just why GENE became such a demand after doing this movie. I watch that tap number over and over, and each time I'm just as blown away as the last. What fantastic innovations during such an early era--but that was GENE'S best quality, going beyond the bounderies and reaching perfection. Ths is really a nice, soft romantic movie that anyone should enjoy. It shows how "real" love can win out over worldly possessions--in real life as well as in the movies. But then again, who would've chosen "Noel Wheaton" (Lee Bowman) over "Danny McGuire" (GENE KELLY) anyway?!!

  • great vehicle for the luscious hayworth

    • marcco
    • 3/13/07

    beautiful showcase for the ultimate love goddess hayworth, hollywood's most graceful female dancer!! harry cohn's technicolor productions for hayworth will forever ensure her immortality.

  • I love this movie!

    • marielly
    • 3/1/07

    I love this movie!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.