skip navigation
The Thin Man

The Thin Man(1934)

  • Saturday, August 9 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Thin Man - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "...didn't come near my tabloids."

    • Arbogast
    • 11/11/12

    Glad to see so much love for this pre-code, post-prihibition, five martini classic. The murder mystery is a little stodgy, but who cares when Nick and Nora are knocking back cocktails and making with the rich banter? It's got to be my favorite Christmas movie. (And Angelica, wtf does O.A. mean? Just wondering.) Drink up.

  • The Thin Man

    • The Thin Man
    • 8/3/12

    The funny & suspenseful film which showcased a new on-screen couple. Powell's broad humour & droll delivery earned him his first nomination as Best Actor, Loy deserved a nomination as his female counterpart. The dialogue sometimes over shadows the story based on Dashiell Hammett's novel. W.S. Van Dyke created an instant classic which will forever be cemented as the film synonymous with Loy & Powell unions. I give it a 4/5.

  • "Waiter, will you serve the nuts"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 7/8/12

    Great film. Released only about a month before a Hays Code certificate was needed before a movie could be released and less than a year after the end of Prohibition, "The Thin Man" was a daring delight with its many sexual innuendos and overt drunkenness in a party scene (not to mention Nick constantly imbibing). This film tweaked many social conservatives 78 years ago. Although loved by persons of all persuasions, Nick and Nora's first film would have to be tinkered with to fit the mindset of today's far left Hollywood honchos, what with Nora's unforgiveable fur coat, the blasphemy of there being only one black person in the entire film (and playing a porter), and the mentioning (many times over) of "Merry Christmas!" Oddly, although used heavily as a prop in most films of the thirties, I don't recall anyone smoking a cigarette. Today's Hollywood would change that, too, but it wouldn't be a cigarette the character was smoking.

  • THE THIN MAN FEVER!!

    • Angelica
    • 12/23/11

    Who would have thought that this film was done only within 16 DAYS. For this... I considered this film THE BEST OF ALL THE FILMS I EVER WATCHED.

  • YOU GOT TYPE? ..ONLY YOU DARLING

    • Angelica
    • 12/22/11

    love the chemistry!!!!!!!!!!

  • IT MAKES ME SICK! OVER AND OVER AGAIN :)

    • Angelica
    • 12/22/11

    Before, I really thought that black and white movies are drop dead worse. I thought it were O.A. and kinda BORING.But, that impression changes it's because when one day I got bored due to my usual hobbies, I decided to look up BLACK AND WHITE MOVIES especially the screwball ones to shift my mood and confirm if Black and white ones were really that O.A. and boring. And fortunately, when I searched it, the one that caught my attention first was that of the THIN MAN movie . It got my attention because it was a film that touches about a whole new idea of a husband and wife team up. And when I started to watch it, I definitely saw a change in me especially the way I look the black and white ones. I've concluded in me that the The thin man movie is really one of the best film of all the films I've watched.Because of this movie, I've realized that a movie can really handle a husband and wife story in a way that SEX is not visible ; that a romantic comedy film will be delivered successfully by using WITTY LINES and GOOD CHEMISTRY. The thin man teaches me that you will see romance in a very creative ,smart , sexy and suave way.What I also like in the film is the team up of POWELL AND LOY as NICK AND NORA CHARLES. Personally, I've never seen such a chemistry wherein you can't blink even a second for because you want to watch every single act that they are going to do for each other. I've never seen such a chemistry that I always get so excited and mysterious every time I see them watching each other, complimenting each other and even studying each other.I've never seen such chemistry that you will see THAT THERE EYES ARE REALLY FOR EACH OTHER. And lastly, what really makes me feel so PROUD OF THIS MOVIE is that wherever and whenever you want to watch this film, there's always this AMAZING CONCLUSION THAT WILL BE INTACT IN YOU ... and that is LOVE, LOYALTY, FAITH, AND SINCERITY.

  • The Thin Man Series

    • Natasha
    • 9/27/11

    Of all the movies I've seen The Thin Man series have to be my all time favorite. I was 11 when I first saw The Thin Man and I fell in love with it all from the smart witty dialogue to the amazing cast in each movie. It's very rare in comedy/mystery movies today that have a couple with such great chemistry like William Powell and Myrna Loy. In general the cast in this whole series are phenomenal and play their roles perfectly; they'll have you wanting to keep watching them over and over again. I am currently 20 going on 21 and I'm the only one of my friends that watch and actually love black and white movies, it's difficult talking to them about movies especially when I compare the actors and movies of today to the ones in the past. Personally I love old movies and will continue to keep watching them, and if you're someone who loves murder mysteries and comedies than this movie series is perfect.

  • The Thin Man

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ****

  • The Thin Man

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    Nick Charles solves murder mystery

  • Teen Who Loves The Classics

    • Natalie
    • 5/2/10

    The Thin Man series are the best movies I have ever seen. After seeing the first movie, I asked for the whole collection on DVD, and have seen each movie a dozen times. William and Myrna are the cutest couple I have ever seen, and it's their witty remarks and nicknames (mommy and Nicki) that keep me watching. There is no new movie with murder that can even compare to this. I love mysteries and comedies, and this is by far the best of both. I am 14 years old, and as surprised as many adults may be to hear this, I own more old movies than recent ones. Unfortunatly, I am the only person at my school who has ever heard of Cary Grant or Audrey Hepburn. I am very disappointed in the way movies and television have gone, but I would like every adult to know that there are a few teenagers who know and love old movies. This movie is a classic and I beg everyone to watch it because I promise you will love it.

  • THE THIN MAN

    • cheryl west
    • 4/3/10

    THIS IS ONE OF MANY OF MINE ALL TIME FAVE MOVIE OF ALL TIME I LOVE OLD TIME MOVIES

  • a super awesome movie.

    • gossipgurl13
    • 4/1/10

    This movie is probably one of my favorites. I am crazy about this movie. It isn't irrelevant to our time period and there was never a real boring moment. Trust me i have one of the worst attention spans! I wish i could watch it again but it got deleted on the dvr by SOMEONE in particular.lol. TCM, play this movie more often it is the BOMB.

  • I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

    • Stephanie
    • 6/9/08

    Loy and Powell made a dynamic team. They played off each other beautifully. You can tell they enjoyed their work. The Thin Man is one of my all time favorite mystery/comedy movie.

  • Dynamic Duos

    • Nancy
    • 3/15/08

    Myrna and William sizzled! It would be great to see a theme-focus of great duos like them.

  • A Fantastic Duo

    • Marcos Augusto
    • 6/20/07

    William Powell and Myrna Loy made an excelent couple on the screen, in one of the funniest comedies ever made

  • Great movie, little scratch reduction.

    • John Clement
    • 7/6/06

    This is the first and probably the best of the thin man series with the wonderful talents of Myrna Loy and Dick Powell. The supporting cast is also excellent. The DVD version has excellent sound, and good resolution. Unfortunately they did not use digital scratch and dirt removal so some scenes, especially the dark ones, look like they were filmed in a rain storm.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.