skip navigation
Caged

Caged(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Caged A young innocent fights to... MORE > $29.98 Regularly $29.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Intense

    • Kathryn
    • 1/9/14

    To this day it is one of the best 1950's movies. Keeps you from a world of crime. I still cannot believe it passed morals reviews back then.

  • Frightening Memory

    • Minnie Lusa
    • 1/4/14

    I don't think my parents knew what their 12-year-old daughter was watching at our Omaha neighborhood movie theater, but between the stark black and white scenes, the cruelty, and the train whistle at lights out, it sure kept me from turning to a life of crime. It gives me shivers just seeing the title on this page.

  • Both Kitty and a kitten are crushed

    • Jeff Boston
    • 6/11/13

    Parker and Emerson deserved their Oscar noms. Parker's total transformation is a bit much for only being in 500 days, but for what she lives through, it's realistic. Emerson's character is simply not to be forgotten. This and other films that have shown guards as even worse than the guarded (I Am A Fugitive From A Chain Gang; Cool Hand Luke; Shawshank Redemption; etc.) have affected glaring change by making the exception to the norm seemingly widespread and playing to our hearts instead of our heads. Our nation's penal system is getting closer and closer to the point of realizing the entire throwaway line from the man talking to Moorehead's warden: "What do you want for your girls (the inmates)? A swimming pool? Television sets? A beauty parlor?"

  • Caged

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/15/13

    I can only say one thing about this horrific film to sum it up.. Dead Kitten.

  • As a young girl

    • mary
    • 11/18/12

    My first viewing of 'Caged" was as a young girl-they used to show older movies in the afternoon after the soaps had run their course. I was sick at home alone (as both parents worked) and viewed the movie. I was awe struck at the cruelty of the matron and eventual change of the heroin of the movie. It made me want to "make a difference" in the system-one of the influences that made me a social worker. Fighting for the underdog-bucking!the "system". Take that MATRON!! This and the "Nun's story" although I was "religious I didn't become a nun-just a social worker. :)

  • Women Behind Bars

    • Bruce Reber
    • 9/28/10

    "Caged" is a powerful and shocking film about women prisoners. The cast is excellent, especially Eleanor Parker as young Marie Allen, sent to jail because of being an accomplice with her husband in a robbery. She's thrown in with the older and toughened convicts, and eventually she becomes just like them and wins their respect. Hope Emerson gives a scary performance as the evil and sadistic matron Evelyn Harper, who brutalizes the prisoners and because of her connections with corrupt politicians is able to get away with it. Agnes Moorehead is also very good as the warden Ruth Benton, who is trying to help the women and also deplores Harper's treatment of them, and is constantly, though unsuccessfully, trying to get Harper fired. An appropriate closing line by Benton when Marie is finally paroled at the end - "Keep her file open, she'll be back".

  • Intense

    • Brittney
    • 7/30/10

    John Cromwell did an awesome job w/ this film! Eleanor Parker did an amazing job! Along w/ Agnes Moorehead, Ellen Corby, & Hope Emerson these women did exactly what it took to make this film work!

  • Caged

    • Mike
    • 6/16/10

    This was a very well acted movie for it's genre. Intelligent and filled with intrigues on both sides of the bars!!! It had a lasting effect on me as a kid when I saw it. I only saw it once but I think the most memorable seen was the Christmas scene, toouching. It's definitely one of those " it's society's fault" films. There's certainly a lot of character developement going on for the main character. It's a good film.

  • WARNER'S LAST VESTIGE OF PRISON REALISM

    • Mikey Lacy
    • 7/22/09

    It is a shame this outstanding piece of film making is reduced to the status of "Camp Classic". It is only campy due to the slang terms used to put the lesbian overtones through. Everything anout this picture shines not only as an excellent film, but one of the last and best of the great Warner crime-drama legacies. The black and white photography is superb, Max Steiner's score evocotive, and John Cromwell's direction harkens back to the last of the great silents. As far as the acting goes you couldn't ask for a better ensemble. Parker is a wonderful counterpart to the highly underated Hope Emerson (playing the role of a lifetime) as Evelyn Harper..."her first name is filth!" Watch this movie several times and each time you see it you will appreciate it all the more.

  • pipe the new fish

    • rick w
    • 6/8/08

    truly one of the best gal prison films ever. the swank hair style of the prison big moll to the subtle lesbian references. one to own and watch over and over

  • Poignant

    • Eugenia Renskoff
    • 3/2/08

    I saw Caged as a very young girl on TV in San Francisco and was touched by its poignancy and realism. The part where Marie finds the little kitten was very touching. I remember when at the end, Agnes Moorehead tells her secretary that Marie will be back. Since then I have wondered why people like Marie have to go through such horrible experiences and why the corrupt jail keeper exists. Caged is one of the most memorable movies I have ever seen. Eleanor Parker is really great in it. She is one of my favorite actresses from the Golden Age of Hollywood. Eugenia Renskoff

  • Frightened

    • Walter Moores
    • 6/22/07

    I was a pre-teen when I saw the movie Caged with Eleanor Parker. I had nightmares about it for months and still think about some of the scenes in the movie that were probably avant garde back then in the cruelty department. I always felt sorry for Eleanor Parker and hated the matron so much I would have killed her if I had seen her on the street. I still can't watch the movie without having nightmares.

  • SCARED THE HELL OUTTA ME!!!!

    • JUDY
    • 6/11/07

    SAW THIS FOR THE FIRST TIME AS A YOUNG KID GROWING UP IN BROOKLYN...DECIDED RIGHT THEN AND THERE A LIFE OF CRIME WAS NOT FOR ME.. TURNED TO MY MOM AND DAD AS THE PICTURE ENDED AND SAID "HOPE I NEVER END UP THERE!!!".. MY MOTHER LOOKED AT ME AND SAID "DON'T WORRY YOU WONT".. LOOKING BACK GLAD I NEVER DID!!! SHOULD SHOW SOME OF THESE MORE DISTURBING PRISON FILMS TO KIDS DECIDING ON DRUGS, SHOPLIFTING ETCETERA....IS PARIS LISTENING???

  • "caged" on dvd

    • jcc32
    • 5/2/07

    it is scheduled to be released on june 26th, but i, of course, have already "pre" ordered it! i can hardly wait to see it again after all these years!

  • Seriously Great Movie

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 3/7/07

    When will this one be on DVD? Eleanor was a great actress.

  • GREAT flick! Eleanor, Hope, Agnes Shine!

    • saladbar
    • 1/19/07

    I cannot understand why the best movie ever made about women in prison hasn't been released on video or DVD! This movie features Eleanor Parker's greatest performance, with excellent support from Hope Emerson (chilling as the cruel matron), Agnes Moorehead, Jan Sterling, Betty Garde, Olive Deering, Lee Patrick, and many others. In recent years, some have categorized this as "camp," but I think that this movie is too well-made to fall into that category. "Caged" is a dynamite movie, and it deserves to be seen by a wide audience. TCM, please show this! (In primetime!)

  • I haven't seen caged in years.

    • Roger
    • 1/7/07

    Will Caged ever be shown? Will it be released on dvd?

  • PLEASE PLEASE SHOW CAGED...

    • Renee
    • 12/17/06

    I have been trying to find this movie forever and it is nowhere, one of the best movies I have ever seen...If you cannot tell me where to find a copy...Please at least put it on TCM...Forever grateful ;)

  • Will Caged ever be shown on TMC???

    • Larry
    • 12/1/06

    I have watched TCM faithfully since its inception and read the schedules religiously each month and have never even seen Caged listed. Has it ever been shown on TCM? If not, it would lead me to believe that there may be some sort of issue with the rights or clearances since it truly is the quintessential women's prison movie and one of the best Warner's melodramas of all time. Hope Emerson gives one of the best supporting performances ever as the sadistic matron Evelyn Harper. (Best line- " I got a man waiting for me outside. Every time he kisses me goodbye I want to keep on leaving.")Eleanor Parker's best performance ever. If you can't release the DVD, as least show it on TCM!!!

  • Uncage "Caged"

    • Herbert Greenberg
    • 11/30/06

    Not enough attention is being payed to Eleanor Parker and her fine body of film work. A good place to begin to rectify this oversight is to release "Caged" on home video. Excellent supporting work here by Agnes Morehead and Hope Emerson, as usual.

  • RELEASE THIS GREAT TITLE ON DVD

    • BARRY
    • 10/17/06

    WHEN WILL WARNER BROTHERS RELASE THIS OSCAR NOMINATED FILM ON DVD? I'VE BEEN WAITING FOR YEARS TO SEE IT ONCE AGAIN.ELEANOR PARKER AND HOPE EMERSON ARE OUTSTANDING AND THE SCRIPT IS GREAT.

  • the best of the best prison movies

    • rich
    • 10/14/06

    Betty Garde is exceptional in her role as Kitty Stark. Eleanor Parker is outstanding. Hope Emerson as the head matron defines the word evil. A must for anyone who is a prison movie buff.

  • Eleanor Parker's Birthday 6/26/22

    • brian
    • 6/8/06

    Eleanor Parker's birthday is this month.Why not celebrate it by showing her moviesespecially CAGED made in 1950.It is the greatest prison movie ever!!!I have not seen it in years, there is no DVD available.Please honor this great actress on her birthday by letting everyone know how great she was in this picture.Caged also had a grea supporting cast as well.Please Please Please show this film this month!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • A movie classic ahead of it's time.

    • Jennifer Weber
    • 3/16/06

    Caged is a brilliant movie!!! I can't say enough good things about it. Filmed in black and white, it's stark, gripping, exciting, everything you would want in this kind of genre. Eleanor Parker is a revelation in her role as a true innocent, who goes to prison and emerges a hardened broad ready for a life of true crime. Her transformation is incredible, as is the scene nearly at the very end, where she is released and gets in a car with gangsters, one of whom gets fresh. She casually moves his hand away and settles in for whatevers going to happen next, then Agnes Moorehead as the nice warden tells her secretary to keep her file open. It is sublime, as is the whole movie. At times it verges slightly on camp, but this only enhances the movie, it doesn't at all make it silly. Many years later, in the 1980's "Reform School Girls" a campy women in prison movie, copied parts of Caged by having the inmates hide a kitten from the dastardly matron. There's a lesbian guard, a queen of vice, a prostitute, a wizened old woman inmate(A lifer), who quotes some great dialog, and of course the star of the show Miss Parker! Years later she played the Baroness in The Sound Of Music. But this is the definitive women in prison movie that still hasn't been topped. Please step up to the bar Mr. Turner and make them put this great movie on DVD or at least put it on TCM!!! PLEASE!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.