skip navigation
About Face

About Face(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

About Face - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • About Face

    • Laurie
    • 3/10/14

    Would love to have this movie!

  • about face

    • randy taylor
    • 12/22/13

    Please show this movie on TCM or release it on Dvd. It is one of my favorites and i never can find it anywhere. I was just watching Moonlight Bay and was reminded how much i miss Aboit Face

  • hail hail to the wooden indian

    • She
    • 3/23/13

    I was a kid when I saw this musical. It was funny and the music was wonderful!I am sixty-two now, and I still hear and see Gordon singing, "Hail! Hail! Hail! To the wooden indian! Please release this movie. I will purchase it!

  • About Face

    • B Jackson
    • 1/20/13

    I have been looking for this movie for years also. Saw it as a kid in New Jersey. TV station there always showed great classics. Please release to DVD. It is a funny, joyful movie. Gordon MacRae is wonderful in it!!

  • About Face

    • Kathleen
    • 4/14/12

    I just found out that they played this movie this March and I missed it because I had to go somewhere. I so wanted to this film and I hope they will play this movie again soon! I hope they release it on DVD soon too! I am a big fan of Gordon Macrae and this is one of his movies I have't seen. I read it's a great movie. So please show it again soon!

  • Enjoyable

    • Condie
    • 3/23/12

    While this is a musical comedy that is not intended to be very serious, Phyllis Kirk's acting role is quite believable. The singing and dancing is well done, but the music is, on the whole, forgettable. Joel Grey's solo song and dance in the laboratory is the best part of the show.

  • About FAce

    • Eldridge McNabb
    • 1/4/11

    I used to love this movie when I was a kid. Hope one day soon it can be put on DVD. Will it ever show on TCM? Please, let me know when if ever.

  • about face

    • roro
    • 9/2/10

    great movie love that joel grey and eddie bracken

  • When will this be shown again

    • The Duke
    • 8/29/10

    A great movie.....can somebody at TCM advise when they plan to show again??? Are there copyright/ownership issues keeping this from being aired??? I know "The High and the Mighty" was not shown for years for this reason.....same here??

  • Feel good movie

    • Mandy
    • 5/29/10

    I want this in DVD for my Mom because it's her absolute favorite movie. I watched once with her on TCM. She told me she watched it with her mother. I'd like to watch it again with her, I fear it maybe the last. Please don't make it the last time I see it with my mother.

  • About face

    • Regina
    • 5/18/10

    I have not seen this movie for over 40 years ,when I lived in N.J. and watched on WOR 9 THE MILLION DOLLAR MOVIE. please put this movie on dvd ,I have been looking for it for a very long time!

  • About Face - They Don't Make 'em Like This Anymore

    • Weese
    • 5/17/10

    My brother and I watched this in the mid-60's when WOR in NY/NJ played it every night for 1 solid week at 600p or 700p. We adored it and have been looking for it ever since! We haven't seen it in over 40yrs. Oh, please distribute it on DVD! It's so much better than the junk produced nowadays. What a joy!!!

  • about face

    • robert
    • 5/16/10

    That evening, during pre-game festivities in the courtyard where the school mascot, a wooden Indian, standswith actors in phony feathers and war paint doing a war dancedo they still allow the black face movies to be played as welldisgusting display of lack of respect of other cultures and total disregardfor anti defamation act .Does TCM ever review a film before it shows itworst film i ever saw,

  • about face

    • susan
    • 5/16/10

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE.. ME AND MY BEST FRIEND ALWAYS TALK ABOUT IT.. I SAW THIS WHEN I WAS A KID. PLEASE RELEASE THIS ON DVD

  • About Face

    • Jimbo
    • 5/16/10

    The first time I saw this film it was on the old Late Late Show in the early 1970's. I was hooked and I tried to watch it everytime it was on. I would give just about anything to have a copy.

  • About Face - 1952

    • Frank
    • 3/14/10

    I saw this movie as a teenager and loved it so much I watched it over and over again for a whole week (NYC - Million Dollar Movie). It is my favorite movie of all time. If anyone has it please email me.I can't believe that they have not put this movie on VHS or DVD.This is a clean and wholesome movie. the music is great and the story is awesome.

  • "Great Day In The Morning"

    • Americo Rodriguez
    • 12/8/08

    This is one of the best musical movie that i saw as a child and never forgot that experience. It is uplifting and hilarious. Anyone who needs a laugh should watch this movie. Garanteed to make you laugh.

  • it's about time to put about face on dvd!

    • k anderson
    • 11/8/08

    please if anyone has a copy of this movie email me. my favorite movie of all times. it's clean and wholesome. the musical score is memorable especially the music when they are marching in the "pass and review". the movie ending brings tears to my eyes. the acting is great and the cast is perfect for this movie.this posting is bringing back so many childhood memories that i wish i could go back into time.

  • Gotta getr get movie !

    • FLOYD MILES
    • 5/27/08

    Please let me know if you ever get this movie. Pleeeeeeesssssssse !

  • Looking for "About Face"--'52

    • Deb
    • 4/26/08

    My dad loved this movie and has mentioned several times that he would like to see it again. He's in his late 70's. If anyone knows how I can get a copy or if it will be showing anywhere, please let me know.

  • About Face (1952)

    • Mary
    • 1/28/08

    This is a great movie that I saw when I was very young. I'm trying to get a copy of it. It's from a time when movies really meant something! Also has good CLEAN humor. I'd love to see Joel Grey's acting debut again!

  • About Face made in 1952 starring Gordon MacRae

    • Jo
    • 11/15/07

    I love this movie "About Face" When I was a young girl I watched it over and over again on Million Dollar Movie in New York City.There's alot of music in this movie, very upbeat. The tune "Piano, Bass and Drum" has stuck with me all these forty some odd years. I love the good old fashioned comedy showing the discretion of a young couple married and with child but keeping it a secret so that the husband/student could finish military school and graduate. Watching Joel Grey as a very young man in a very Jerry Lewis style comedy role made me feel like I was the only one who recognized him. Dyeing the hair of Lt. Jones was later repeated in Goldie Hawn's movie. I would dearly love to see About Face again. If someone out there has a copy I would love a chance to view it. It would be heaven!

  • when will about face be shown on TCM?

    • duke
    • 8/1/07

    when will about face be shown on TCM?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.