skip navigation
Music for Millions

Music for Millions(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Music for Millions A pregnant musician awaits her... MORE > $15.99 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Music for Millions

    • Andriel
    • 1/15/14

    I love my classic movies. This one especially because of the classical music. The pieces performed were absolutely fantastic. I would love to beable to purchase the exact arrangements performed by the exact artists. Please let me know if this possible. Andriel

  • Great Margaret flick on her b'day

    • loveiturbi
    • 1/15/14

    Fan-tastique

  • Lovely!

    • RedRain
    • 11/4/12

    I watch this film each time TCM airs it and I love it still. The music w/Jose Iturbi is worth watching the film for, as it is full orchestra and outstanding. June Allyson is a bit too weepy here for my taste (I don't like weak women!) but the great Jimmy Durante provides a much needed comic relief and there is one terrific supporting cast too, particularly Marsha Hunt. Margaret O'Brien is just incredibly believable in her role as the six year old little sister to June Allyson's character. It's such a shame she only received a "juvenile Oscar" (for her performance in "Meet Me In St. Louis") throughout her career, as she was a terrific actress both as a child and as an adult. btw: She is 75 years old now and still with us! I'd love to see a special tribute to her at the Oscars or the AFI banquet.

  • Clair de lune

    • sam
    • 11/4/12

    I first saw this in a hotel room in Bay City, MI. I was missing the woman I loved. It was Larry Adler's "Clair de Lune" on the harmonica that made this movie for me.

  • Childhood

    • Jean
    • 4/8/12

    Like many of your writers I also saw this as a 7 year old and have never forgotten it, I would love to see it available on DVD. It takes me back so many years. I was the same age as Margaret O'Brian when she made this film. wonderful . Jean

  • why not on DVD? Argh!

    • bob franks
    • 3/14/12

    Love this movie! As with Fred MacMurray's 'Singapore' and Loretta Young's 'The Farmer's Daughter' I simply don't understand why this isn't on DVD! All of the middling waste-of-time films that are being transferred and these films don't get modernized? What gives?

  • Music for Millions

    • Nita
    • 4/30/11

    I have never forgotten this movie from my childhood! The first movie I ever watched that made me sob uncontrollably and cry myself to sleep. I would love to see it again and hope that one day it is available on DVD.

  • Sound problems

    • Ashley
    • 11/20/10

    I like this movie, as my memory serves me, but I couldn't stand to watch it again yesterday because of the background noise. If this title is ever released on DVD or DVR, please do restore the sound, and perhaps even consider restoring the picture.

  • Brings back strong childhood memories

    • David Ellis
    • 8/15/10

    This wonderful movie was so moving in a personal way. In March of 1945 I was a five year-old boy with my Mother when the postman came up the steps and gave my Mother the telegram informing her that my Dad had been killed in Remagen, Germany. I witnessed my Mother breakdown after she read the letter and I just said over and over again, "It could be a mistake!" The musicians and the music in this precious movie were my Mother's favorites and the very ones she was listening to again and again as she waited for my Dad to come home. He never did. As I heard Jose Iturbi play Claire de Lune on the piano the memories just flooded in and before I knew it tears were streaming down my cheeks. It is said that our memories make us who we are. This movie is a gem and especially for so many of us who have very personal associations with the love and emotions that it regenerates. Thank you for this great movie.

  • Music for Millions

    • Dawn
    • 8/15/10

    I had never heard of this movie before - THANK YOU so much for showing it! I loved the cast, I loved the music, and I loved the movie. I laughed and I cried - what more can you ask for - we need this movie available to help us all remember life during WWII and how everyone took care of each other....the characters and the music touched my heart - Make it available for purchase - Please!

  • A moving movie

    • Bill Mathis
    • 6/29/09

    Generally, I'm more into film noir and crime drama, but this movie really got to me. I'd love to see it again and add it to my collection. It's unforgetable.

  • Music for Millions

    • jean leblanc
    • 2/17/09

    I was wondering what the song played on harmonica in the restaurant scene that made "Babs" cry was? Was it Claire de Lune? Can anyone answer that for me? It was so beaytiful

  • heartwarming

    • margie
    • 1/31/09

    Saw this movie about 15 yrs ago on tv and have never forgotten it.Would love to obtain a dvd of this movie

  • A Great Story!

    • I <3 June Allyson
    • 1/18/09

    I love this movie! I have seen a lot and like them all but it takes a lot out of them to make me ABSOLUTLY LOVE THEM! It is sad but funny and exciting. I recomend it to people who haven't seen it. I hope they will put on DVD soon! June Allyson and Maggie O'Brien are great together and Jimmy Durante and Jose Iturbi are great musical composers.

  • Loved this movie

    • Sharon M
    • 1/16/09

    I loved this movie I want my grankids to see it. I did a search to buy it but no luck. Would love for this to come out on DVD.

  • good movie and message

    • rox
    • 1/15/09

    never seen this before which is surprising to me...but liked the story and message it gives especially at Christmas...would be wonderful to see it played more often as we need this kind of encouragement today just as they did in 1944. Margaret O Brien's facial expressions showed her acting ability to me as if they were truly felt.

  • Sweet Movie!

    • Debbie Q
    • 12/6/08

    This was one of the nicest movies to watch. I wish it was played more often especially during the Christmas season. Please put it out on video/DVD soon!

  • Excellence

    • Duane
    • 10/23/07

    This is one of the best movies ive seen in awhile. The movies of this time are the best in my opion, the actors and actress' were consumant professionals. I am and will always be a devoted fan of Turner Classic Movies.

  • Loved this movie

    • Renee
    • 10/18/07

    I cried and laughed all through this movie. It was so sweet and Margaret O'Brien was wonderful!

  • music for millions

    • dee colonna
    • 10/17/07

    i love margaret o'brien.i love every movie she has ever been in.they just don't make movies like that anymore!!

  • music for millions

    • sherrie
    • 7/4/07

    i love june allyson & margaret o'brienthey are favorite

  • Can't Miss Heart-jerker.

    • GV
    • 10/7/06

    A touching tale with 2 renditions of Debussy's Clair de lune. I'd buy if if I could find it. Thanks.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.