skip navigation
Les Girls

Les Girls(1957)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Les Girls

    • Tom Johnson
    • 10/25/17

    "Rashomon" with chic! One of the most enjoyable of MGM's backstage musical comedies with lush, atmospheric color, appropriately risque costumes, and what's left of Cole Porter's partially discarded original score just delightful. The cast is perfection: Mitzi Gaynor dances nimbly with Gene Kelly who along with Jack Cole did the highly theatrical choreography, the hilarious Kay Kendall almost stealing the whole confection, while the Finish Taina Elg is amazing hot as an almost on-her-toes French minx. Notable as Henry Daniel's breakthrough into musicals! Giddily directed by George Cukor; One never tires of "Les Girls". Bravo!

  • Les Girls

    • DON RILEY
    • 6/25/17

    This is a nice little story and it has some moments as a musical. But Gene Kelly is not Fred Astaire and that's not bad, but when you're used to Fred's films and you get Gene. It just does not appease. That said I believe the story here is worthwhile. Unfortunately Gene's acting and vocals are not strong enough to make it work to a high level. I hope that does not sound snobbish because I liked this film but felt it may have been more than the cast could "pull off". The one dance number, again, is excellent. It actually does make this film worth a single viewing at least 3 1/2 stars.

  • les girls

    • kevin sellers
    • 6/20/17

    Except for the "Brando dance" remarked upon by previous reviewers this is a rather tired musical with not one decent Cole Porter song. I guess the guy was really coasting on his reputation by the late 50s. Solid C.

  • Gene and Les Girls

    • Susan Lloyd
    • 6/15/17

    Jack Cole choreographed the rest of the dances but Gene Kelly choreographed the Brando dance he does with Mitzi Gaynor. Naturally, it's the best dance in the movie and they're both great in it.I see that "Les Girls' is on Saturday morning at 5:45 AM! Why TCM is showing this fun film starring the one and only Gene Kelly in the wee hours is a real mystery to me. Kelly is always prime time.

  • Fascinatin' Europe in the Fifties

    • el debbo
    • 8/28/13

    So many wonderful movies were made about Americans living in France or Italy after WWII. This is a lovely film, with a fast pace, gorgeous costumes by Orry-Kelly, and choreography by the great Jack Cole. He created dynamic numbers in Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, On the Riviera, and some of Rita Hayworth's and Betty Grable's movies. Some parts of this film are so beautiful, it's like watching a great French painting...that moves. The faces of the 3 women are stunning! I kept looking at Taina Elg, who portrayed Angele, and wondering where I saw her before. It was as a prostitute in "Gaby", starring Leslie Caron. Anyhow, you put Kelly and Cukor together on a project, set in Paris, what's not to like? Bubbly like champagne.

  • What is Truth

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/21/13

    Definitely a fun film to watch. The musical numbers are great and the story is interesting in its differences.

  • Les Girls

    • Sharon
    • 5/21/13

    It was funny and entertaining, i missed the ending though... would love to see it again. I love Gene Kelly so almost anything he is in i would like to see. This was my first time seeing this one..

  • Debra Levine's Comments about Gene

    • Stephen Heise
    • 9/25/12

    This was Gene's last film for MGM and a very nice movie it was with Gene dancing, singing and just being himself. Jack Cole choreographed the dance numbers in his own style, but allowing Gene to still be Gene. While the moves are definitely different than the type normally scene in all of Gene's other movies, they were, nevertheless, great.I take issue with the Comments by the dancer turned critic Debra Levine. She rightly states that Gene was doing his last film and there may have been a natural clash of styles between Gene and Jack Cole, but she also states, incorrectly that during the first dance number, that Gene was obviously stretched doing the simple 16 counts of dancing. He was no more stretched by that fairly simple dance than by any other move in his portfolio, which is to say not at all.She states that Jack had him going low on his haunches and where he did not often go and that is was late in career as if to make an excuse for Gene. Well, Debra really needs to watch Gene's movies over again and analyze his dance number. There were only two down low moves in the big Les Girls numbers and I think Gene could easily handle a few deep knee bends, even at the "Old Age" of 45.Jack Cole was a great choreographer and dancer and I too loved his style, but I think Gene handled it fine and could take anything Jack could throw at him.Just watch the motorcycle number later in the film and see Gene jump up to a high bar counter. Stretched, Old, I don't think so.

  • Les Girls

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/11/12

    An entertaining, dazzling musical from Cukor. Kelly & Gaynor sometimes overact, while Elg & Kendall both shared the Golden Globe for Best Actess in a Musical/ Comedy. The story is at times confusing, but the flashback scenes are visually striking, thanks to Orry-Kelly's Oscar-winning costumes. A fine film to see from time-to-time. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • A Fun Film to watch!

    • Patti
    • 9/11/12

    There is a sexy quality that Gene Kelly brings to this film that I have not seen in his other films. Watching him dance with Mitzi Gaynor is a real treat. I really enjoy their chemistry. I feel that the choreography in this film is somehow different from Gene's other films.

  • LES GENE!! LES GENE!! LES GENE!!

    • Rachel
    • 2/21/07

    "LES GIRLS" is a fun trilogy to watch. Although GENE is a bit older in this movie, he was still handsome, charming and sensual as always . Each account of events told by "Sybill," "Angele," and "Barry Nichols" are all so fun to watch; GENE is a real player in this movie, and even though I've seen it several times, I still love to watch each story unfold. I love the cute little number, "CHARMING," that GENE and Kay Kendall perform--it's so peppy. But my favorite of the trilogies is his account of "Joy" and how he constantly tried to win her over, yet she remained uninterested--but of course he gets her in the end--and lucky for her!! Over all, this is a really good movie to watch, and although GENE doesn't do any of his amazing tap dances, he does speak a bit of French, and coming from GENE, it will suffice a great deal!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.