skip navigation
Pay or Die

Pay or Die(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Pay or Die A policeman attempts to crack... MORE > $15.95 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Well Worth Watching

    • Steve Myers
    • 10/13/17

    A classic straight forward crime movie with excellent acting. Also good to see a movie that doesn't glorify the mob.

  • Glorified TV Movie

    • Radcliffe Bond
    • 8/28/14

    The minute this movie started, I could tell it was made by a unit that made television shows like "The Untouchables". The original story concept seems to be watered down for television. Just a run of the mill movie with an interesting plot.

  • Low Budget?

    • Alice
    • 8/24/14

    Who cares if this was a low budget film! What a great story; so well acted and photographed. I loved every part of it. I loved it so much better than the later "Godfather" movies. It got its point across without the violence, gore, and everything else that goes with those films. It is amazing to me how we can tell, with the older films, how bad the crimes and criminals of the Mafia were, yet without the shock factor of blood, gore, violence, foul language, etc. These older films are the true classic gems that are priceless because we've forgotten how to make them. Thank you TCM. Please keep playing them.

  • Great mob movie

    • D
    • 2/14/12

    A real look at corruption in the NYC lower east side in the early20th century. True story with excellent cast. Eduardo Cianelli is memorable.

  • Chilling scene

    • Alan Bowman
    • 8/22/09

    This little gem contains one of the most chilling and dramatic scenes I've come across in any movie. Ernest Borgnine. playing New York Police Lieut. JosephPetrosino is in Sicily, dining with an elderly, bookish gentleman and asks him; 'Who is the leader of theComorrah (Mafia) here in Sicily? The old gentleman replies; 'I am!' The camera immediatly cuts to Borgnine's face and the look of sheer terror is a masterpiece of acting. At that instant Lieut. Petrosino (Borgnine) realizes He will never leave Sicily alive. I certainly would like to see this movie run again on TCM. Thanks! Fan

  • Need a copy

    • J. Emma
    • 10/30/08

    I would really like to buy a copy of this movie "Pay or Die" someone please get back to me....

  • Need a copy of "Pay or Die"

    • Tommy
    • 10/13/08

    Does anyone have a copy of Pay or Die that would be willing to make me copy to sell..??

  • TCM should add Pay or Die to the roster.

    • PETER MILO
    • 4/5/08

    Ernest Borgnine plays a true American Hero: Giuseppe Petrosino, an immigrant from Salerno who became the New York City Police Department's first Italian-American detective. He went on to wage a valient battle against the infamous Black Hand, who prayed upon Italian immigrants.

  • A forgotten Classic

    • ,Paul Bobe'
    • 1/28/08

    I'm talking about PAY OR DIE, A movie made in 1960. The star was Ernest Borgnine, and he played police Lieutenant Joseph Petrosino. He tried to stop the Black Hand known as Mafia today, from taking over little Italy. It is his live story. He was kill in the streets of Sicily by the Black Hand. This movie is one of the best crime films ever made in Holliewood. It is hardly ever shown on TV, and you can't get it on DVD. This is a classic movie that if we don't fight for it, It will be forgotten for all time. Don't let this happen. Thank you

  • Movies that need tobe on dvds

    • DellaReese
    • 10/24/07

    This is another Classic movie that needs to be on dvd or vhs

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.