skip navigation
Rome Adventure

Rome Adventure(1962)

  • Monday, January 12 @ 12:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Rome Adventure A rebellious teacher moves to... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • My favorite Actress

    • Carlene Slowe
    • 7/20/14

    I was 18 years old when I first watched Rome Adventure with a few of my girl friends. I was so in awe of Suzanne Pleshette and thought she was the most beautiful woman in the world. I loved everything about her. As soon as I heard that her name in that movie was "Prudence," I immediately turned to my girl friends and told them that I was going to have a daughter and name her Prudence. I became so obsessed with that name that my sister started calling me Prudence. Well, I had a beautiful daughter at the age of 23 and when she was born, my family and friends were on pins and needles wondering weather I would stick to my word. I certainly did. I named my daughter Prudence and I have always called her Pru to this day. (thanks to Suzanne Pleshette). She was truly my favorite actress as well as the most beautiful actress ever. I also fell in love with the song "AL Di LA." It makes me cry. It is so beautiful. Funny thing is, I watched Rome Adventure early today and I played Al Di La over and over and over on the internet. I am so glad for this opportunity to comment. This is unbelievable. Suzanne Pleshette and Troy Donahue (he was so handsome) really did an outstanding job in that movie. they don't make movies like that any more.

  • Rome adventure

    • Cynthia
    • 4/9/14

    Was 15 when I first saw this movie. Fell in love with it and Rome. Took me 50 years but I finally went to Rome, Piazza Navona,etc. It was a dream come true !

  • Lovely

    • June
    • 3/4/13

    I really enjoyed this movie and I wanted to jump on an airplane to visit the Italian Lake District again! Al Di La is one of the most romantic songs that I have ever heard and it is such a tribute to that era.

  • Beautiful

    • David C.
    • 1/18/13

    Gorgeous views of Italy. Tourism must have gone up after this film came out!

  • ...and that song...

    • Eileen
    • 1/17/13

    I must add that the lovely song in the movie, Al Di La, is one of the most beautiful movie tunes I've heard!

  • Loved it!

    • Eileen
    • 1/17/13

    Just finished watching it. Can't believe I had never seen that movie before. I enjoyed it very much, especially seeing all of the familiar faces! The story line and scenery kept me interested as well as the lovely, well-known actresses and extremely handsome Troy Donohue! For a hopeless romantic like me, who had the fortune of visiting Italy for the first time in recent years, I would definitely want to see this film again!

  • Singer of Al Di La in "Rome Adventure"

    • Marc
    • 6/4/12

    Ida...the singer's name is Emilio Pericoli...the man who sang "Al Di La" in the movie. Dozens of famed recording artists have covered this song, You will probably find many versions you can buy on Amazon. But the best two versions are the one's by Connie Francis and Jerry Vale.

  • Rome Adventure

    • Ida
    • 11/5/10

    Watched Rome Adventure last night for the first time and I just loved it, especialyy the song Ai Di La and the singer. What was his name? He was fabulous, even though I don't understand Italian. Couldn't sleep last night because of the song playing in my head. Suzanne Pleshette was good but Angie Dickinson was great. Thanks for showing it but please where can I buy the song .

  • Troy Donahue, Movie Star!

    • David Atkins
    • 11/4/10

    Troy Donahue was a Movie Star! Lets all hear it for that fading breed of cinema actor. Donahue was a WB contract Star who had tremendous hits in Delmer Daves films A Summer Place with Sandra Dee and Parrish with 3 lovely WB contracteesConnie Stevens, Diane McBain and Sharon Hugueny. (Parrish also saw the return of Claudette Colbert as Donahue's Mother). Jack Warner cast Troy Donahue in this 3rd Delmer Daves smash Rome Adventure which was supposed to co star Natalie Wood, then queen of the WB lot but Natalie ankled off the picture, Suzanne Pleshette replaced Ms. Wood and soon became Mrs. Troy Donahue. This is a wonderful romantic movie directed by Mr. Daves with a great score and photography. All of us of a certain age remember this movie, and its great song Ai Di La. Donahue would go on for a few more years starring in smash WB films but when he left the studio his star waned. His career deserves review

  • rome adventure

    • frank
    • 5/19/10

    adventure? more like a self conscious travel log, complete with wooden line readings. a cheap 'roman holiday' ripoff.

  • Monument to 60's Love Stories

    • Gerry
    • 5/18/10

    One of my favorites from an era that sadly marks the beginning of the end for such movies, just like the Italian liner Christoforio Columbo she traveled to Italy on, and other steamships were in their last days. I consider this a must have along with Roman Holiday and Three Coins in the Fountain. Wonderful photography and great people (they too are now gone). Thank you for showing this film on TCM and for making it available on DVD. Sure brings back pleasant memories.

  • Rome Adventure

    • Kathy
    • 5/18/10

    They don't make these kind of movies anymore! Scenery of Italy fantastic. I loved all the details. The young love and innocence. Troy a hunk in the day and Suzanne Pleshette in her 1st main role.A "nasty role" for Angie Dickenson as she played the other woman. Great for an evening at home.

  • Makes Me Think of My Youth

    • Christine
    • 5/18/10

    I first saw this movie as a teenager and fell in love with it. It was one of those kind of movies that stuck with me for many years and was so excited to see that it was on TCM tonight. I'm also happy to know that it is now on DVD. The lead actresses were all great; beautiful Suzanne Pleshette, sexy and bitchy Angie Dickenson and smart and bookish Constance Ford. Troy Donohue was not a very good actor but won the heart of Suzanne anyway as they got married after the filming of this movie. This movie is romantic, the scenery is bellissimo, the music exquisite. It's hard to take your eyes off of Suzanne Pleshette, she was a marvelous actress, but Angie Dickenson rates high in the sex appeal. Her legs coming out of that gown almost stole the movie.Thanks TCM for showng Rome Adventure and thanks Warner Bros. for finally releasng this on DVD. I give this movie 4 stars. Italy is gorgeous and the real star of this movie!

  • 4 Stars

    • Val Beauchemin
    • 5/17/10

    Loved the movie when I was a teenager when it was released.I still love it and it made me want to travel to Italy. I have been to Italy 4 times and always think of Rome Adventure and especially the music. Probably not the best acted movie except Suzanne Pleshette but it is a great escapist movie.

  • ROME ADVENTURE NOW AVAILABLE ON DVD!

    • Kyle Michael
    • 1/18/09

    For all of you who have asked for the DVDrelease of "Rome Adventure" (1962), your wait is now over! TCM is now taking advance orders for the January 27th release of "Warner Bros. Romance Classics Collection", a four-disc set that includes "Rome Adventure", as well as "Susan Slade" (1961), "Parrish" (1961)and "Palm Springs Weekend" (1963). This boxed set will be a nice tribute to MissSuzanne Pleshette as well, who passed toosoon last January of 2008. Enjoy!

  • Early days of Troy Donahue and Suzanne Pleshette

    • mike
    • 7/6/08

    The movie takes two average American kids and allows you to interact with them in a great love story and places you with them in the eternal city of love- ROME. Add some of the greatest music I have ever heard and a classic is made. If this movie is not deserving of being immortalized on a CD, then I don't know what is.

  • Great Travel-log through Italy

    • Mark
    • 5/26/08

    A wonderfully romantic travel adventure through Italy. Good acting and a fabulous musical score and memorable story. This movie deserves to be released on DVD ASAP!

  • Suzanne Pleshette memories...

    • kathie
    • 3/9/08

    Suzanne Pleshette did such a great job in this movie... since she just past away it would be good to have it available to watch. It was one of my favorites as a young girl. I loved the song that was played in the movie. I would love to be able to see this movie again and would love to be able to add it to my collection of oldies.

  • Would like to be able to acquire on DVD

    • Steve
    • 2/28/08

    This movie shold be in DVD

  • "THE INNOCENCE OF PRUDENCE"

    • SHARON VALENTINE
    • 1/20/08

    SUCCINTLY PUT, THEY JUST DON'T MAKE LOVE STORIES (MOVIES) LIKE THIS ANYMORE...AND PERHAPS NEVER WILL. IT'S SPEAKS TO THE TWENTY FIRST CENTRY ABOUT A BY-GONE ERA, OF THE FRESHNESS OF LOVE AND EXPERIENCING CONFLICT ON A SINCERE LEVEL, OF A JOURNEY TO LEARN SOMETHING ABOUT LIFE, LOVE AND THE PURSUIT OF ONES PERSONAL HAPPINESS!

  • Why not on DVD?

    • Pam
    • 1/4/08

    I have found on VHS but would LOVE to have my on DVD because of the beautiful story and scenery!! Please release !

  • please release this movie

    • phyllis
    • 12/2/07

    these type of movies are so very good and a lot of the public has never seen this movie.this type of movie is what made troy donahue a movie star.

  • Release these movies, please.

    • pam
    • 9/26/07

    I just find it so hard to believe that there is so much junk on dvd and the movies we boomers want to see are just ignored by the studios. I have been waiting for Rome Adventure, Parrish, Susan Slade and Palm Srings Weekend to be released for a very long time. I hope they come out while I can still enjoy them but I don't hold out much hope.

  • Attention Warner Bros.

    • pam parsons
    • 6/1/07

    Come on Warner Bros. Considering some of the really bad stuff released on dvd, I just don't understand the reason for not releasing movies people keep asking for. Movies like Parrish, Susan Slade, Rome Adventure and Palm Srings Weekend would fly off the shelves.

  • DVD Imports

    • pam parsons
    • 4/6/07

    I bought a dvd of Rome Adventure as an import. I was desperate to find it on dvd and hoped this would be ok. Alas, it was of poor quality, which was no big surprise. Warner Bros. has brought me to this.

  • Fine Movie

    • Movie Fan
    • 10/12/06

    This movie is lovely and well acted. Troy Donahue and Suzanne Pleshette are great in the film and kudos to Angie Dickenson. This movie should be on DVD!! As a matter of fact you should have other Troy Donahue films on DVD such as SUSAN SLADE and PARRISH. All these films are well acted. Please put them on DVD!!

  • TROY DONAHUE - WHAT A SWEETHEART

    • DUANE
    • 8/18/06

    TROY DONAHUE AND SUZANNE PLESHETTE ROMANCEIN FRONT OF THE SCREEN MOVIE. REALLY ENJOYED THE SPARKS FLYING. BEHIND DONAHUE'S BOYISH LOOKS IS A FINE ANDUNDERRATED ACTOR. WELL CHOSEN CAST.BRING THIS ONE OUT ON CD.

  • Rome Adventure

    • Elaine
    • 7/31/06

    When can we see this lovely movie on TCM?It's has been a long time since the film was presented on television and it's such an enjoyable film that one could not miss it!The actors, the scenery, the music and the storyline all combined make this a beautiful romance. Please put this movie on your channel, not just once, but several times so we can enjoy some GOOD TV!

  • Rome Adventure

    • P Parsons
    • 5/21/06

    It is a lovely movie with the most wonderful backdrops. You feel like you are visiting Italy.

  • Rome Adventure

    • Joanne
    • 4/30/06

    I would love to see the movie on TCM. It seems to be impossible to find any movies from Troy Donohue on DVD. I love your network and hope to see Rome Adventure and other Troy Donohue movies in the near future

  • Rome Adventure

    • Elaine
    • 4/10/06

    This movie hasn't been on any tv schedules for the longest time! It's such an enjoyable movie, just like a Summer Place and other young romance movies from the early sixties. Please schedule these movies in the near future.Thanks!

  • Rome Adventure and a Summer Place. Thank you

    • Emily Maliner
    • 3/25/06

    When will you broadcast Rome Adventure and a Summer Place.Thank you

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.