skip navigation
Susan Slade

Susan Slade(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Susan Slade A pregnant teen allows her... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A fan of 60's movies

    • Sheila Turner Walker
    • 8/23/13

    This movie was very good. I am a fan of movies made in this era (the 60's). Connie Stevensplayed the role very well and I was fascinated with her acting. I have always enjoyedTroy Donahue. Susan Slade reminds you of the times now but now it's really not taboo for a teen girl to become pregnant. The emotion of her trying to struggle and not let the truth come out was brilliant.There is one movie that you don't show, that I would love to see and that isParris with Troy Donahue. I've looked for that movie forever. Will this movie be shownanytime soon or in the near future? It goes along this movie, as well as A Summer Place. Showing teens struggling to become adults.

  • Timeless Classic

    • Henrietta
    • 11/21/12

    I watched this movie in its 'heyday' with my older sister & we always loved it! For years, it fell off 'the radar' and as we began to 'collecting favorite movies'..this one eluded us!!! We always said our collection would be complete if we could only get our hands on the movie Susan Slade. Fast forward almost 40 yrs...finally - the movie resurfaced and our search is complete! I can watch it over and over! It is from my sister's generation as was Summer Place, Peyton Place, etc! They just don't make them like that any more! Next goal - soundtracks from these classics!

  • One of The best

    • Anita
    • 6/14/12

    Susan Slade, is one of the best movies. It reminds me of life as a teen and also being a mother of a teen daughter. The story brings to mind my life as a teen girl. It touched me and brought me to tears, reminding me of deep feelings I had while in deep young love. I would encourage all to watch this movie. Not only is it a touching story but teaches the importants of the family bound and dedication.

  • ROUGHLY SPEAKING

    • KATHY STEVENS
    • 3/28/12

    I KNOW THAT YOU HAVE SHOWN THIS MOVIE IN THE PAST (QUITE SOME TIME AGO), BUT YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED IT SINCE. IT IS WITH ROSALIND RUSSELL AND JACK CARSON. IT IS A WONDERFUL MOVIE AND I WOULD REALLY APPRECIATE IF YOU COULD SHOW IT AGAIN.MANY THANKS,KATHY

  • Susan Slade

    • Kate Poppy
    • 6/29/11

    I was so excited to see Susan Slade in the listings! I grabbed my remote to set my recorder when, sob, I realized it was looking at the previous day! I requested this moving several years ago and when it finally came on I missed it. Please re-run it (Connie Stevens' birthday is August 8...)

  • This movie is my name!!!

    • Susan Slade
    • 6/14/11

    My name is Susan Slade (no lie!). I have never even heard of this movie and my mother in law just told me about it. Now I am very curious about it. Thanks for all the good reviews. I will check it out!

  • Great Melodrama - Don't Miss It!

    • muriel
    • 4/24/11

    With illegitimate children a dime a dozen these days, and people who would rather take their shameful family secrets to TV than conceal them with heartbreaking subterfuge, they just don't make pictures like this anymore. It's probably the last of it's kind. The tearjerkingest part to me was when she had to say goodbye to her horse. Beautifully filmed and over the top. There are scenes where Connie Stevens is filmed clearly and Dorothy McGuire gets the 'vaseline' focus; it's so obvious. Just another thing to enjoy. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

  • beautiful

    • Phoebe
    • 4/23/11

    sweet and innocent this story reminds me of my past and the love I will always have for the one I love and miss very much

  • SUSAN SLADE

    • Dan Ireland
    • 4/1/11

    I love this film! It's one of the great WB teen romantic weepies, and a milestone for actress Connie Stevens and director Delmar Daves. Troy is his usual wooden self, but he's less so here, and the movie never loses its sense of humor among the melodrama. The score by Max Steiner is sublime, the cinematography by Lucien Ballard is breathtaking and best of all, the damn thing makes you cry at the end. The supporting cast give it their all, with a special nod to Grant Williams for his speech about climbing "virgin peaks" as he's about to seduce CS. Dorothy Maguire commits herself as always, as does Lloyd Nolan and Bert Conway. Watch this little gem, it'll pass two hours away in a heartbeat, and if you're reaching for your Kleenex 41 years later, well then all the above has an element of truth to it. Enjoy SS.

  • Susan Slade

    • Gwendolyn Davis
    • 7/5/10

    I have been looking for the movie Susan Slade for so long.WhenI first saw this movie I enjoyed it so much and at the time I wasnot able to tape it. Thank You TCM for this movie Classic and all the others.

  • NEED TO PLAY MORE MOVIES LIKE THESE......

    • Lupe
    • 8/28/09

    Susan Slade, Parrish and Summer Place. These are the movies that bring back so many memories. These are movies that you can sit down with your family and watch without having to pause or forward.

  • SUSAN SLADE NOW AVAILABLE ON DVD!

    • Kyle Michael
    • 1/18/09

    For all of you who have waited and waitedfor the DVD release of "Susan Slade" (1961), here is your chance to grab it!TCM is now taking advance orders for "Warner Bros. Romance Classics Collection", a four-disc set that includes "Susan Slade", along with "Parrish" (1961), "Rome Adventure" (1962) and "Palm Springs Weekend" (1963).The boxed set will be available on January 27th, 2009. Enjoy!

  • Brings back so many thoughts1

    • Phyllis
    • 1/6/09

    Loved this and all movies like it' "Parrish" was another good one. I wish Troy and Connie had made more movies--they clicked.

  • Finally, the movie I've been waiting to see.

    • Sandra
    • 1/6/09

    I was an unwed teenage mother in the early Sixties and fortunately for me, my parents were very supportive of me. So when I saw this movie many years ago it made a very deep impression on me. I have been checking every place I could think of to purchace the video. It seemed to me that I was the only one interested in the movie because every place I searched said searched not found. Then last Sunday, my Son flight back to Oregon was canceled and I turned on TCM to see what was playing. Boy to my surprise there was the movie I had been waiting for. It had already been on for 30 minutes but I at least was able to see the rest. Now I know that I will be able to purchase the DVD. I plan on doing that today.Thanks TCM you made my day.

  • Susan Slade

    • Debby
    • 1/5/09

    Finally! I have been waiting for a long time (about 38 years) for this movie to come out in some kind of video format. I first saw this movie when I was just a young girl. It was my first time going to a Drive Inn. I had taped it years later when it came on the TV. My tape is wearing pretty thin and I was so afraid that it would finally break and I would only have this movie in my heart to play over and over in my head. Imagine my surprise when a friend from work told me that he thought it was playing on the TCM network and not only that but it is now on DVD for purchase. Thank You, Thank You. What an awesome belated Xmas gift to myself that I will treasure for along time to come!

  • SUSAN SLADE AVAILABLE SOON ON DVD!

    • Kyle Michael
    • 1/5/09

    I too missed last Sunday's viewing of "Susan Slade" (1961). I saw it many years ago and remember being impressed with the story and the acting of all the performers, especially Connie Stevens.The following information is for all who have inquired about this film's availability on DVD: it is now availableon DVD as part of a boxed set, beginning January 27th, 2009. TCM is releasing "Warner Bros. ROMANCE Classics Collection" with these four films: "SUSAN SLADE" (1961), "PARRISH" (1961) and "PALM SPRINGS WEEKEND" (1963),all three starring Troy Donahue and Connie Stevens, along with "ROME ADVENTURE" (1962) starring Donahue and Suzanne Pleshette. TCM is now taking advance orders for the set. Finally, you can get your own copy to keep forever!Just look for the advertised DVD info,or type in 'Susan Slade', to find it. Enjoy yours, as I will mine.

  • Show again

    • Jackie
    • 1/5/09

    I too missed the ending of the movie, and is one of my favorites, PLEASE show it again. Also, how about Summer Place and other movies in this category? Thank you....

  • movie Susan Shade

    • norma mitchell
    • 1/5/09

    I was watching this movie on Sunday but missed the ending. I would so like to know which man she married and if she was able to get her baby back from her mother. Not knowing is driving me nuts!

  • Please show the movie again

    • Pat Hubbarad
    • 1/5/09

    I found this movie on TV after it had already started. Please show it again and again as it is one of my favorite movies. I like these clean type movies and would like to see more of the movies made in the late 1950's and all of 1960's. Thank you

  • Purchase of Susan Slade

    • Peggy DeBraal
    • 1/4/09

    where can I purchase this movie?

  • On DVD At Last

    • Julia
    • 1/1/09

    Troy Donahue is about to be remembered on DVD at last. A collection of Mr. Donahue's well-known films, Parrish, Susan Slade, Rome Adventure, and Palm Springs Weekend, is scheduled for release on January 27, which would have been his 72nd birthday.

  • bring it back

    • stella klein
    • 11/9/08

    I saw this movie forty years ago, never forgot the stars who were in it, or the name of the film. Thats how great this movie is, Been trying for years to get this movie had no luck. Tell me where I can buy this or if your going to show it soon.You just played movies if dothorty mcquire but susan slade was not among them Please if we can't buy it at least show it. Thanks Red111144

  • Susan Slade---Classic Movie

    • Jeannie Croutch
    • 7/18/08

    Thi is one of the best classic movies! We would love to see it on TCM sometime. Please let me know when it will be showing. Would love for our grandchildren to be able to see a real ly great movie.We have been waiting to buy the VHS or DVD to add to our collection.

  • Making this movie available on dvd!!

    • Shirley Jaenke
    • 7/10/08

    This is one of my most favorite old movies and I wish I had this movie so I could watch it. When I really like a movie, I buy it and watch it over & over. Several years ago I went to many movie stores to see if I could order it and they all told me that it had never been made on VHS and now I have asked if it can be ordered on DVD. Please consider putting this wonderful movie on DVD. A few times it was shown on TV on a movie channel but I never knew until it was already half over. I watched the TV Guide for months to see if it would be on again so I could tape it. I even knew who the main actors were and searched for it under Troy Donahue, Connie Stevens, Dorothy McQuire and Lloyd Nolan. Please consider putting this on DVD.

  • Bring Susan Slade to DVD

    • Doreen McEwen
    • 7/1/08

    This is a very romantic story that is well acted. It accurately reflects the morlas of the time that it was filmed. It has a great happy ending! The music is beautiful!

  • Keep these available to the public.

    • Jan Creighton
    • 3/28/08

    Susan Slade one of my favorite of the teenage movies by Delmer Daves. Max Steiner did the music for these teen greats and it was awesome. The four movies that Daves directed were Summer Place, Rome Adventure, Susan Slade and Parrish. It would be so nice to see these sold as a boxed set. All of my close friends loved the movies and so did their mom's. Susan Slade was never availabe to buy to the best of my knowledge. I always read about these boaring soap melodramas. I have carried some of these words from these movies with me thorough my life. I believe that these movies made me grow up to become the lady that I was and am, Jan Creighton

  • Keep these available to the public.

    • jJan Creighton
    • 3/28/08

    Susan Slade one of my favorite of the teenage movies by Delmer Daves. Max Steiner did the music for these teen greats and it was awesome. The four movies that Daves directed were Summer Place, Rome Adventure, Susan Slade and Parrish. It would be so nice to see these sold as a boxed set. All of my close friends loved the movies and so did their mom's. Susan Slade was never availabe to buy to the best of my knowledge. I always read about these boaring soap melodramas. I have carried some of these words from these movies with me thorough my life. I believe that these movies made me grow up to become the lady that I was and am, Jan Creighton

  • Great movie!

    • Pam
    • 3/10/08

    One of the best movies about young motherhood made in the 60's and definitely a tear jerker - please, please, please make it available on DVD- I am sure that it will sell like hotcakes! - Great performances by all involved.

  • Wonderful Movie Unforgetable

    • Linda Wheat
    • 3/4/08

    I saw this movie years ago. I have looked everywhere for it. The bestlove and heartbreaking movie I have ever seen

  • Been Looking Everywhere !!

    • Pam Walker
    • 1/4/08

    I have searched everywhere on line for this movie!! I have collected my 60's favorites including Parrish, A Summer Place, Rome Adventure, Peyton Place, all the Romances that bring back the memories, but this one!! Would give anything for a copy! I can hear the theme song now.."Susan Slade.. da da dada da da" where's the soundtrack?

  • I love the movie, Susan Slade

    • Saundra Williams
    • 12/3/07

    I saw this movie well over 46 years ago when I was only 12 years old and never, ever forgot it.I thought it was the best drama I had ever seen. Especially for someone who usually likes light love stories.

  • Classic movie for teens

    • sorhas
    • 11/18/07

    Have not seen this more in years. Always liked Connie Stevens and she was great with Troy in this movie, as in Parrish.

  • Susan Slade...DVD......Please

    • jennifer
    • 9/23/07

    I loved this movie- I would love to see it in DVD- I have seen it once and that was at the movies so many years ago.....I would love to own my own copy--I have looked for years for it's release on DVD to no avail.

  • SUSAN SLADE, PAID IN FULL, STELLA,

    • jaye
    • 9/10/07

    Could you please have a day of "chick flick" favorites such as the titles mentioned above. Also, could movies such as Susan Slade be made available for purchase???

  • Susan Slade

    • Roberta
    • 9/8/07

    I would be thrilled if TCM could broadcast "Susan Slade" I remember this film as a young girl in the 60's, though at that time, it was also a cautionary tale. How about a (director) Delmer Daves tribute?? I would think I died and went to heaven if I could see "Susan Slade", "A Summer Place", and "Parrish", all on the same evening! How about it, TCM?

  • DESPERATE TO VIEW SUSAN SLADE

    • Desperate
    • 9/7/07

    I have tried over and over to ask if Susan Slade can be put on TCM. Please can someone respond as to whether or not this movie can be shown. I know it has been shown on TV many years ago. Also can you please tell me whether or not it is on VHS or DVD. Please show this movie on TCM. You have always shown old old movies why can't you show this one.

  • Susan Slade

    • Jennifer
    • 9/2/07

    I have tried to find this movie to purchase...even to just watch on TV. Is there any way to request a movie to be shown on TV? Does anyone know how I could go about buying a copy of it? I can't believe that I can't just go buy it or order it from somewhere. I'm listening for any help on this. Jennifer

  • I LOVE THIS MOVIE.

    • SUSAN
    • 8/13/07

    I have searched and searched for this movie. I was so excited to know that at least TCM recognizes there was such a film. Please make it avaiable in video or DVD....please!

  • I have been trying to get this movie

    • Bethany
    • 8/5/07

    I have been trying to get this movie for over thirty years. I caught it once and was able to tape most of it from a TV station with commercials. I finally found it on VHS on Ebay for over $30! I would probably pay the price but I don't own a VCR anymore (so antiquated!). If TCM showed it I would get it on my DVR and really be able to enjoy it.

  • Liked this movie for over 30 years.

    • Linda
    • 8/4/07

    I have missed seeing this movie which i can't believe that it isn't listed as a movie to play. I am sure there is many others that to like this movie would want to see it again.

  • i can't imagine why not available and showing

    • lesley
    • 7/6/07

    this is a good movie -- dorothy maguire is great, connie stevens does her best, it's campy and sad and strong and bears repeating as much as anything else of its genre and time. surely enough folks would watch it to warrant repeat showings. come on TCM and get this on the schedule already -- some of your offerings are at this point a bit long in the tooth if you get me!

  • We Want Susan Slade

    • C. Hill
    • 6/26/07

    I love this movie. Remembering this movie reminds me of how me and my husband met. The only difference is that we are still married. Love never dies. Please air this movie.

  • suaan slade

    • carol
    • 6/9/07

    this movie needs to be brought back, like the others, it has good memories and a story to tell.

  • Bring back Susan Slade!!

    • Danis Voogt
    • 5/23/07

    This was a very sentimental film for me, I have always loved it since I saw it as a teenager. It is a beautiful film, and a valuable one with a timeless theme.I have remembered it my whole life, and would kill to get a DVD of it.

  • SUSAN SLADE

    • SANDRA
    • 5/17/07

    REALLY NEED THIS MOVIE ON DVD. BRINGS BACK OLD MEMORIES. SOME YOUNG PEOPLE NEED TO SEE IT

  • SUSAN SLADE

    • Duane Crites
    • 5/14/07

    SUSAN SLADE IS AN ENTERTAINING FILMTHAT NEEDS NO ROCKET-SCIENTIST MENTALITY TO ENJOY.WOULD LOVE TO FIND THIS ONE ON DVD.

  • Susan Slade

    • Jeanette
    • 3/23/07

    Susan Slade was one of the greatest movies every made. We were all so innocent in those good ole days and this story really touched my heart! A great love story that should be shared with this new generation. I wish we could go back to those days and seeing this movie again would be one way. Please keep trying to get this movie released on DVD!

  • Susan Slade on VHS/DVD

    • Diana Howard
    • 3/5/07

    I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS MOVIE CAN'T BE FOUND ON VHS OR DVD BY NOW. THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE FOR THE BB's. WE GOT PARRISH, WE GOT A SUMMER PLACE AND NOW WE NEED SUSAN SLADE. HELLO, CAN ANYONE HEAR US.

  • PLEASE SHOW SUSAN SLADE ON TCM

    • Adele
    • 3/2/07

    I would love to see this movie on TCM. The last time I watched this movie was in a movie theater a long time ago. One viewer said that she taped it from TV so obviously it had been shown. Please show this movie on TCM or let me know where I can buy the tape and also why it can not be shown, especially when you have shown, Peyton Place, Summer Place, etc. why not this one.

  • I love this movie too!

    • JD
    • 1/30/07

    I have it on a VHS tape that I'd taped from TV long ago. I watch it often. I've requested it also, and keep checking.....It's so 60's---I love it! I have a feeling that that a similar story rang true for quite a few girls back in the day. How times have changed.

  • Put Susan Slade on dvd

    • pam parsons
    • 1/20/07

    I see there are more requests for Susan Slade on dvd. Since A Summer Place is being released ov dvd, it seems a shame that this one is not yet available. Please consider it seriously.

  • ANXIOUSLY WAITING TO SEE SUSAN SLADE ONCE AGAIN

    • Adele
    • 1/19/07

    PLEASE OH PLEASE SHOW SUSAN SLADE ON TCM, PUT ON VHS, OR DVD. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO SEE THIS FILM FOR YEARS, REQUESTED IT FROM TCM WITH NO RESPONSE. I WOULD ALSO LOVE TO SEE MARIO LANZA MOVIES. PLEASE ANSWER OUR PLEA IF YOU CAN. I RATED SUSAN SLADE AS NUMBER 1 BEING THE BEST.

  • A movie I saw when I was a teen.

    • andrĂ©e
    • 12/5/06

    This movie I watched with my mom when I was 10 years old.My mom suffers from alzeimer and as you must know this disease for old people makes them remember the past.She is 86 yr old. She doesn't probably have very long I wish I could still watch it with her one last time.Thank you.

  • YESTERDAYS MORALS WEREN'T SO BAD

    • ELAINE LORTIE
    • 8/19/06

    AFTER SEEING THIS FILM AS A TEEN, I MADE SURE I WASN'T GOING TO END UP A GIRL IN TROUBLE. WOULDN'T IT BE GREAT IF TEENS TODAY WOULD THINK THE SAME?WOULD LOVE TO HAVE A COPY OF THIS FILM FOR 17 YR OLD DAUGHTER. WE LOVE THE OLD TEAR JERKERS

  • This one is Worth Reproducing!

    • Barbara
    • 7/31/06

    Please reproduce this film for purchase on DVD? This is an excellent film and one well worth preserving for future generations. I could have used it in counseling youth many times if it had been available. Please make it a priority.

  • WAITED LONG ENOUGH

    • DOROTHY FAWBER
    • 7/23/06

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE AND THINK THAT WE SHOULD BE ABLE TO GET IT ON VHS OR DVD IT IS A GREAT MOVIES LOVE TO WATCH SUSAN SLADE,PARRISH,SUMMER PLACE AND WOULD BE INTERESTED IN PURCHASING IT FOR MY OWN PERSONAL VIEWING THEY ARE GREAT MOVIES THAT PEOPLE SHOULD WATCH AND I AM FOR THEM

  • We've Waited Long Enough!

    • Karen
    • 6/28/06

    What is the hold up? I requested this wonderful movie last year, and still have not seen it on TCM. It should be shown as often as A Summer Place. My daughter is now 13 and I have been telling her about this gem, and I would love for her to see it. I actually had a home VHS recording of it and lent it to a "friend" who never returned it! I can still see the room where the baby catches on fire from the cigarette lighter. Please show this movie. I saw it as a young teen and have never forgotten it. It needs to be released on DVD.

  • Favorite movies of baby boomers

    • Pam Parsons
    • 6/7/06

    I think that movies like Susan Slade, A Summer Place, and Parrish are movies people of our generation want to see on dvd. So, please give us what we want.

  • Need this on DVD

    • Wendy Singer
    • 6/4/06

    I saw this movie as a young woman and have never forgotten it. I am now 53 years old and it still frequenty comes to my mind when thinking of a wonderful romance with some of the best actors of the time. I true must see for all the romantics out there even though it is also a very tragic movie in many respects. I am a huge fan of TCM and watch it all the time. I have never even seen this movie listed and do not understand why TCM won't at least show it on TV. The cast alone makes it worth seeing.

  • essential troy donahue / connie stevens

    • Nancy Clay
    • 5/14/06

    Perfect teen mores of the times, plus "good girl" led down the garden path, left pregnant by a gorgeous guy who dies on a mountain top????? what more do you need??? and then mommie is the phenomenal Dorothy Mcguire???? Teen pregnancy was THE issue of the era, and parents pretending to be birth parents? "Frank Lloyd Wright designed our house"???? puhleeeeeez!!!!! - - it's so perfect on so many levels. Angst, thy name is Susan Slade. Gee, should I marry Bert Convy, orrrrrrrr, ummmmm, let's see, Troy Donahue????? what a dilemma!!!! Give (sell) me my DVD!!!!

  • troy donahue is awesome

    • suzie
    • 4/18/06

    this is a very hard to find..well no..impossible to find anywhere it should be on DVD or VHS or something somewhere so I get get it ...buy it..rent it...something..if there is anyway to see this movie again..I have requested it for years on TCM with no response...I am desperate to find this movie...is there anyone or anyplace I can find it???

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.