skip navigation
Al Capone

Al Capone(1959)

  • Wednesday, September 17 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Al Capone Chicago's most notorious... MORE > $16.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Capone

    • DevlinCarnate
    • 5/31/14

    Steiger snarls menacingly through this gangster flick...it's a grittier take on the character than the TV show The Untouchables from the same era

  • Tess

    • TT
    • 5/24/12

    If all of you liked this movie so well, why did it only get 1.5 stars?

  • Great to see this....so good it surprised me.

    • mitch mcguire
    • 1/20/12

    In the intro it was mentioned that Rod Steiger wrote this film...really? If so he did a great job. Gripping and Steiger's performance is perhaps his best. One fact that may surprise you is that about 8 years ago I was in Chicago doing genealogical research and wandering in a Catholic cemetary just West of Chicago and while I was looking at a tombstone I stepped back into one with fresh flowers and other decoritive objects freshly placed. It was the tombstone of Al Capone, and I heard later there are fresh flowers placed on his grave every day.

  • Great Allied Artists Movie

    • David Atkins
    • 8/12/11

    Rod Steiger is brilliant in this gritty film from a small boutique movie studio Allied Artists. AA was so small its rental lot could not be used for wide screen films, and most of its films were shot at nearby Paramount. In its glory days AA made Love In the Afternoon, Soldier In the Rain, El Cid, 55 Days At Peking, and two great hits Cabaret and Papillion. Stars that worked at AA were the likes of Audrey Hepburn, Gary Cooper, Ava Gardner, Steve McQueen,Liza Minnelli, and Elvis Presley. My favorite AA film is the sublime Friendly Persuasion directed by William Wyler.Al Capone filmed in black and white with a gallery of great character actors is a superb movie.

  • al capone

    • bergy7
    • 12/17/10

    Talk about making an impression...I remember going to the drive in and seeing this movie at the age of seven.I will never forget the intensity of Steiger's performance. Not his greatest role, but he was awfully convincing.Kudos to the late Fay Spain.

  • A Comparison

    • Bruce Reber
    • 9/16/10

    I watched "Al Capone" on TCM last night 9/15/10, the biopic of Chicago's most powerful gangster during the Prohibition Era (1920-1933). It was the first time I had seen it since it played on another movie channel in the late 90's. Rod Steiger gives a powerful performance as the ruthless, undisputed king of the Chicago underworld, and the supporting cast led by James Gregory, Martin Balsam and Nehemiah Persoff is also excellent. I have also seen "The St. Valentine's Day Massacre" (1967), director Roger Corman's take on the Capone story starring Jason Robards as Capone many times(I have the DVD). That film focuses mainly on the planning and execution of the title event, with Capone's gang gunning down members of Bugs Moran's mob in a garage on Clark Street February 14, 1929. It also offers a look at Capone's gang, from Frank Nitti, Jake Guzik, Charles Fischetti et al, and also the members of Moran's gang, something "Al Capone" doesn't do. "The St. Valentine's Day Massacre" is in color, while "Al Capone" is in black and white, giving it an somewhat more authentic atmosphere of 1920's Chicago. While I like both films, I would have to give a slight edge to "The St. Valentine's Day Massacre". Please show it sometime TCM, and also show "Al Capone" again soon.

  • Al Capone (1959)

    • Shelby
    • 9/16/10

    Saw the movie last night and loved it. Recommend it highly.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.