skip navigation
Billy Budd

Billy Budd(1962)

  • Wednesday, September 17 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Billy Budd Adaptation of Herman... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Performaance by Robert Ryan!

    • Marlene Rantz
    • 11/15/13

    I, too, was very touched by this movie! Considering this was Terence Stamp's debut movie, he got off to a great start with his excellent performance! I agree with Muriel, Iowahawkeye, and Robert Kawasaki that Robert Ryan should have at least been nominated for an Academy Award, if not win it! He did not even have to say a word-he looked vicious: a really great performance! Peter Ustinov and Melvyn Douglas(I loved his accent) were both excellent, and rest of the cast were equally good! No hesitation in recommending this movie!

  • Billy Bud

    • darcy fickett
    • 11/11/13

    This is a heart wrenching movie. I watched it at 6pm on TWC. I watched this movie with no expectation of feeling anything, however before the move was half over I was blubbering like a baby, and kept doing so until the end of the movie. Thanks for showing it...

  • Completely Compelling

    • Muriel
    • 2/3/13

    This was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid. I thought Robert Ryan was a genius even then. The TCM article says that the Captain's final decision is a turn around from his previous kind hearted attitude. Apparently the person who wrote the article hasn't read a lot of naval history. Actually, I found the Captain completely believable and he did the only thing he was DUTY BOUND to do. Admiralty Law was extremely harsh in 1797.Do not miss this film. It is hard to believe that Ryan never won an Academy Award.

  • Ryan and Stamp are Wonderful!

    • suebee
    • 1/3/13

    Robert Ryan and Terence Stamp run away with this production, and their scene together on night watch should be shown in every university film course as an example of tour-de-force acting for film. Stamp's debut is astonishingly good, and Ryan just continues to amaze with another brave, multi-layered and risk-taking performance. Ustinov's acting did not (and perhaps could not) rate as highly, but the b/w cinematography, excellent supporting cast, and lack of an annoying musical score more than make up for this. A must-see!

    • 6/12/11

  • Billy Bud

    • Bruce
    • 6/11/11

    Am very excited to get to see Billy Budd. I was assigned this in a politicalscience class in college. There is great acting by some noted individualsin this film. Yet, it has a deep measure within that these actors tell that isthe real tell - not tale.I had never seen it previously. The professor, Dr. David Briley gave a test on it. There were only two questions that had to be answered - no less than a page front and back and worth 100 pts. Was the punishment that Billy Budd received appropriate? 1. Yes, explain in complete detail . 2 No, explain in complete detail. I am not going say what I wrote. But I'll have a big bag of popcorn, an icy coke ready when this airs at midnight tonight!

  • Ryan should got the best actor award.

    • robert kawasaki
    • 11/5/09

    Sure, he is the villain, and he is the evil force of BILLY BUDD. But Robert Ryan's Claggart is the focal point of the film. His character dies and Ryan does not appear for the last 30 minutes of the production, though his character's impression and influence still dominate the entire film. Because of his act, Billy suffers, because of his presence, everybody on the men-o-war ship struggles, and even he is not there, Melvin Douglas's character murmurs "he is here..." Moreover, he is first billed star in Billy Budd. If Terence Stamp was nominated for the best supporting actor in the 1962 Academy, who was the leading actor for Billy Budd? It is hard to think anybody but Ryan. Because The Academy did not want accept a villainous part to get a best actor award? Because, Ryan's characterization of the brutal master at arms was too vicious? A pivotal role is still a pivoral role, and a good acting is still a good acting. Its nonsense! If that was a case, Anthony Hopkins and Micheal Douglas never should got the Oscars! Likewise, Robert Ryan's performances in films like THE NAKED SPUR, CLASH BY NIGHT, ODDS AGAINST TOMORROW, and ICEMAN COMETH should have been much better praised. A time will solve this problem, we shall see...

  • Cannot BELIEVE Ryan wasn't nominated..

    • Iowahawkeye
    • 2/4/08

    for a Supporting Oscar for this movie...to put it into perspective -- Tommy Lee Jones got an Oscar for The Fugitive (joke!), and Javier Bardam is now considered to be one of the scariest movie villians -- umm, not even CLOSE! By just a look or a glance Ryan conveyed more menace than most actors do w/their whole bodies! I became intrigued after reading repeatedly how underrated Ryan is, and i have to say i could not agree more. This film surpassed my expectations, check it out!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.