skip navigation
Claudelle Inglish

Claudelle Inglish(1961)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Claudelle Inglis... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Claudelle Inglish

    • Kim
    • 11/10/12

    Great Movie, very different from all the other movies on TCM.

  • Good Girl Gone Grown

    • Patricia Butler
    • 11/1/12

    This is an amazing film! It's not "B" at all. It's beautifully and sensitively produced and McBain is amazing! Taylor nor Kelly could have achieved the multitudinous layers and shading she brought to this character. They'd have commented on such a character and therefore distanced themselves from her. McBain imbues Claudelle with incredible intelligence and pathos. The agonizing pain of emotional separation is one of the most difficult things to translate to film. Watch McBain's wordless scene on the bed after she receives the Dear Jane - it's supremely effective. The passage at the bedroom window with the boy she needs to assure her that she is "...pretty all over..." makes it clear that she is most desirous of the self affirmation she believes she must receive as a result of her sexual power over men. The cinematic take of the 'presents' Arthur Kennedy discovers in Claudelle's bedroom, like so many trophies garnered by a star athlete, is haunting. They cannot blot out the pain and humiliation of the first, lost love. I could go on, and I may, one day. Claudelle Inglish warrants a dissertation paper. Any takers?

  • Great

    • Doris
    • 10/31/12

    I like this movie she was hurt so bad that she just kept the hurt going to herself and every one that admired her

  • Ending anti climatic

    • John Wesley
    • 10/21/12

    D storyline became weaker as the movie wore on. Not much character development; it kinda just plodded on, leaving one hoping for more but never really getting it. It almost had a film noir quality to it.

  • Claudelle Inglish, cautionary tale.

    • Willis
    • 6/2/12

    The lack of conscience or self protectiveness in Claudelle lays bare a personality made all the more tragic by the reaction of the other flawed characters around her. Where is a good psychologist when you need one? Too bad for Claudelle, she had to act out with all of her neighbors in a small town in 1961. Today, she could have snuck off to exercise her almost psychopatic romantic needs through Craigslist or Adult Friend Finder. Seriously, The movie, to the story's credit weaves a web of deceit, exploitation and naivete between a host of dysfunctional participants who all seem powerless to avoid the social tsumami that builds mercilessly until it washes over the viewer with the terminality of Claudelle's last gasp. This movie displays a raw glimpse of human weakness without the affectedness of "entertainment" that an A-list movie would have embued it with. It hits hard. It brought to my palate flavors of Hitchcock, The Crucible or Delores Claiborne.

  • Claudelle Inglis

    • Debbie Parker
    • 6/2/12

    This is the first time I have seen Claudelle Inglis. Very interesting indeed. Small town farm community, a young girl who was hurt and trying to find her way. All she wanted was to feel loved! Her mamma feeling a little lonely, too! I love this old Black and Whites.

  • Claudelle lesson to us.

    • Annalee
    • 1/30/12

    I thought the movie was very interesting, what hurt people will some times do to others because of what was done to her.Very very intresting but sometimes true.

  • Diane McBain Should Have Been A Major Star

    • David Atkins
    • 2/19/11

    Diane McBain was touted at WB as a new leading lady. Lovely looking Diane stars in this Gordon Douglas film along with the WB stock company of players, Chad Everett, John Logan,Will Hutchins, etc. Diane in interviews said she beat out Carroll Baker and also WB contract player Shirley Knight for the role of Claudelle Inglish.Gordon Douglas made many a fine movie and this is one of them. Enjoyable.Diane McBain went on to make A Distant Trumpet with Troy Donahue, Mary, Mary with Debbie Reynolds and then left WB. Natalie Wood was the #1 Female star at WB at the time and Connie Stevens and Dorothy Provine also had strong acting assignments, likely Diane McBain just could not get enough work at WB. Diane was announced for Natalie Wood'sSex And the Single Girl, but quit the film and the movies.

  • Claudelle Inglish

    • gary
    • 5/29/10

    Dear lovers of this film ,Claudelle Inglish is one of my favorite B movies of that era . I've been looking for this film for about eight years , and I found someone on the internet , who had taped it on television one late night . I later found someone who had it on dvd . I think this would be a great remake if done right , and very sinister with an element of horror to follow . I also read the book .The book has some surprizes as well .Anyone who loved this film , feel free to email me at garysgrabbag@yahoo.com and we all can dream of what would it be like to befriend Claudelle Inglish .Sincerely , Gary K. Smith

  • GOOD, BUT HOKIE BABY BOOMER MOVIE

    • DUANE
    • 8/18/06

    AS A BABY BOOMER, I ENJOYED THIS MOVIEIN MY TEENIE BOOPER YEARS. WOULD LOVETO WATCH THIS AGAIN ON CD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.