skip navigation
The Wild One

The Wild One(1954)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Wild One - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • THE WID ONE

    • W.J.R.
    • 8/3/14

    This movie un intentionally, even in 1954 came off like a Mel Brooks comedy. After World War 2 Korea and Vietnam who could take these bums seriously? Threatening small towns in America? The bikers were told even way back in the fifties by the U.S and Canadian governments. Go ahead drink and drug your selves to death, out in the desert or in the mountains where ever. BUT If you threaten the peace and security of Americans and Canadians, the military and civilian forces who helped to build these countries, will rise up and destroy you. So, for over half a century, we have been watching this trash ride around, trying so hard to look tough and just getting long in the tooth. The average persons, didn't give a damn back then and don't give a damn now. Wake up. No ones scared. No ones impressed, or intimidated. You were a Bad Joke back then, and are now. When you've finally died off, and you will, no one will even remember you, except for comedies like this movie.

  • Time has not been kind to this sad delinquent

    • mooserider
    • 9/13/13

    This, like "Rebel Without A Cause" gets more comical, and overly melodramatic, with every passing year. The tortured, misunderstood delinquent, method actors have passed away with a good riddance to bad acting, worse scripts and worst of all, the directing. These films are fun for teenagers, but now belong on the ash-heap of midnight movies.

  • Dated, But it Lives On

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/4/13

    I hadn't really thought of this film until last week when I was reading minutes from my small town's governmental meeting. The town together with a bicycling club plans to develop a bicycle park on empty land beside an established neighborhood. A gentleman from that neighborhood came to the meeting to express his disapproval of this plan and his fear of bicyclists. He felt this park would lead to numerous bicycle "gangs" showing up and spilling into his neighborhood to "menace" the residents. Over time these bicyclist would soon be "terrorizing" the whole town and we would have to double our police force just to take care of these bicyclists. He would be happy if we banned bicyclists period. While reading this it gave me a laugh because I had a feeling he thought it would be a motorcycle gang park, not a bicycling club park. So, when he used words like "gangs," "menace," and "terrorizing" it made me think of this movie. I honestly believe that gentleman had seen this movie at some point in his past and it terrified him. Even now, it still haunts him. And, I can understand why. The realism in this film is unnerving at times. The tension in the air is palpable, so much so you can feel it, and it even stirs up memories of your own chaotic confrontations, all the while the music accompanies your grinding teeth and clenched hands making it worse. I think this film is a great one. Showing how all of the different residents deal with a rift that has broken into their peaceful world is how it really is. Some people want to capitalize, or hide, or bully, or placate, and some even want to join in to escape their dull lives. In different forms, the truths of this movie still resonate today.

  • The Wild One

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 9/30/12

    The film that practically invented "Teenage rebellion." Brando is magnificent as the leader of the B.R.M.C, Murphy & Marvin are great as his love interest & rival bike leader respectively. Engaging story shows the confused intolerance against conformity, but by today's standards is ridiculous. Dated, but entertaining nonetheless. I give it a 4/5.

  • Hats

    • Godzilla 97
    • 8/2/11

    Was there an Oscar that year for funny hats? This picture should certainly have won it. I loved Brando's fetching modified forage cap, but I wonder why it didn't blow off when he was riding. The skunkhead look was very daring, the crownless boater created a very understated fashion icon, and I was particularly taken with the patterned cloth cap which seemed to express the feminine side of motorcycle gang membership.Also, Mary Murphy runs more like a girl that any girl I have ever seen. Get those knees working, lady.OK, having gotten all the sarcasm out of my system, I have to say I found this movie quite funny. It is so seriously dated, especially in its attitude towards women. Kathie is such a drip and Britches (what kind of a name is that?) totally advertises her Bad Girl status with very tight sweater with her stupid name on it. By the way, where would motorcycle gangs get their embroidery done?Brando's performance was absolutely riveting and he was just so ridicuously good-looking. That final smile at drippy Kathie was just heart-melting, as he rides away into the sunset, leaving her waiting for her Prince to come and carry her away.I'm sorry, but I think that the only reason to take this movie at all seriously is Brando. And the hats.

  • One of the best

    • Drauber
    • 4/17/11

    With the trash we have available now this this 5 stars. It takes work to make a movies like this, no high tech tools to get you excited.

  • Could easily be remade as a western

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 5/26/10

    In fact, I wonder if the script originally was inspired by western outlaw stories. I know it's based on a real-life incident, but the set-up of the plot, complete with bar owner and sheriff and the sheriff's daughter seems very much like a western. I was expecting a story about urban youth, but it's not that at all. Brando is great, especially in the scene at the end where he gives the trophy to the girl, but he's chunky and not as physically in-shape as screen idols of later generations are expected to be.

  • The Wild One (1953)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/3/10

    This is one of those films that has lost some of it's punch over the years, but it is still a compelling piece of filmmaking. For the most part the performances are great, but some characterizations come off a bit extreme. Very good cinematography, well edited and the score is excellent.

  • Whattaya Got!!!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 5/4/09

    When Marlon Brando as Johnny, the leader of the BRMC motorcycle gang says that line in response to what he is rebelling against, it one of the greatest moments in one of the most powerful films of the 50's. "The Wild One" is about a gang of rebel bikers cruising the highways and roads looking for thrills, drinking, brawling and making trouble wherever they go. This was the first biker film and set the stage for more films of the genre in the 50's and 60's. Brando was the perfect choice to play Johnny, as he was the first of the actors who were everything anti-establishment and anti-Hollywood. When Johnny is telling Kathy about his lifestyle ("You gotta put somethin' down, you gotta wail"!) is also one of my favorite scenes. Lee Marvin is also excellent as Chino, ex-member of the BRMC who shows up and tries to make peace with Johnny and ends up in a fight and getting thrown in jail. The ending is also very good, when Johnny gives the trophy to Kathy and they smile at each other before he leaves town. "The Wild One" rocks!!!

  • it all started with this movie

    • fitzy
    • 3/20/08

    I REMEMBER SITTING IN THE EMBASSY THEATER WITH MY SCHOTT BIKER JACKET ON WATCHING AND DIGGING THIS MOVIE. I WAS 14 YEARS OLD AND IT ALL BECAME CLEAR TO ME WHEN THAT CHICK SAY'S"WHAT ARE YA REBELLING AGAINST JOHNNY?" AND JOHNNY REPLIES"WHAT HAVE YA GOT"I SAW THIS MOVIE SEVEN MORE TIMES BEFORE IT LEFT THR THEATER. I WATCH IT EVERY TIME IT'S ONTHE TUBE.,AND I HAVE THE DVD AND SOUNDTRACK.STILL ANSWERING THE QUESTION AFTER 50 YEARS. "WHAT HAVE YA GOT?"

  • WHAT YOU GOT

    • WILSON
    • 5/16/07

    THIS IS A ONE OF A KIND MOVIE. MARLON BRANDO AND LEE MARVIN MAKES THIS A FILM WORTH SEEING.IT GIVES US A TRUE PICTURE OF THE YOUNG AND THE RESTLESS.IT HAS GONE DOWN IN HISTORY AS A TRUE CLASSIC. WHAT YOU GOT?A FANTASTIC FILM

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.