skip navigation
The Asphalt Jungle

The Asphalt Jungle(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Asphalt Jungle A gang of small time crooks... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Monroe as a Moll

    • denscul
    • 2/6/14

    This film is full of semi-stars and character actors. Together with a better than average plot for a heist film, its grimy film noire stuff. Monroe plays the plaything of a once wealthy sleazy attorney who is young enough to be his daughter. Sam Jaffe is the brains of the heist, constantly shifting as the needs arise. He would have escaped, if it were not for his passion for women. Well, he was in prison a long time. Poor Sterling Hayden provides the hard case loser, with the fallen angel who is bonkers over Hayden. There is a double cross, a short gun fight, the death of the safe cracker who of course has 19 kids and a nagging wife who warns him he should give up his trade. James Whitmore plays the handicapped owner of a dive, who plays the driver. Add the crusading DA. the crooked cop and a sweaty bookie, a you end up sympathizing with the guys who pulled the failed heist.

  • "Don't worry, baby, you'll have plenty of trips"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 6/27/13

    Great off-the-cuff utterance by the commissioner: " (An) educated man who uses his brain to circumvent the law - worst type of human being as far as I'm concerned." This film came out in 1950, when going to Cuba was "not a bad idea." Of course, some things never change: the brains behind the caper dreams of escaping to Mexico (it's never Canada). "The Asphalt Jungle" has terrific acting (especially Calhern), well developed, realistic characters, and a fresh Monroe never looked better. You get sucked into pulling for the scum so much that Huston found it necessary to include a scene that seems very much out of place (and is quite memorable): the commissioner explaining to the press that without law enforcement "the battle's over; the jungle wins; the predatory beasts take over."

  • The Asphalt Jungle

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 3/26/12

    The truly original heist thriller that has inspired countless films. Strong characterizations showing the business relationships between different career criminals. Grim cinematography & a combination of Huston's direction & script makes the adaptation of W.R. Burnett's novel come alive. A great thriller overall. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • A true 5 stars

    • Glen Ulrici
    • 4/28/11

    This movie is remarkable in that it develops at least 6 characters in the span of 112 minutes. You learn their hopes and dreams and feel their pain as the plot unfolds. It's hard to pick a favorite as each is compelling and necessary to round out the story. However, one cannot help notice the dominance of Sterling Hayden

  • ASPHALT JUNGLE

    • WILLIAM GAUSLOW
    • 1/27/11

    This movie is currently listed by the A.F.I. as # 31 in Film Noir movies. I think it desires to be higher. About # 15. I like this movie because Sterling Hayden is a adult who lived on a a horse farm. He had to leave the farm as a child due to hard times just like me. He chooses to die in the company of horses. I'd say he died in Heaven. Leaves me in tears.

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/25/10

    Um filme noir de primeira qualidade tendo Marilyn Monroe no elenco. Um verdadeiro clssico.

  • one of the best

    • johnexdell
    • 6/1/10

    I saw "Asphalt Jungle" on TV late at night when I was at home from college in the 1960s. It hooked me on old movies, especially 40s-50s film noir, and on John Huston's work. I still love to watch it whenever it shows up. None of the actors were big stars when it was made. It was riveting because of the superb ensemble performances, direction, and cinematography. The one flaw in the movie comes from the film industry code of the time, requiring that a movie show that crime doesn't pay. The ending is contrived in order to deliver that message.

  • The Asphalt Jungle (1950)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/13/09

    What an intense film noir classic. Incredibly well written and directed. The whole cast is great, especially Sam Jaffe, Louis Calhern and Jean Hagen. Very exciting, superbly photographed. First rate in all ways.

  • Champion Caper Flick with extras

    • Kevin
    • 7/21/09

    Toughest Sterling Hayden character , doesn't take long to figure you don't want to mess with. Stellar supporting cast with many against character, Sam Jaffe as master criminal, James Whitmore in his least cuddly role, Louis Calhern oozing hubris, and a very early superior Marilyn Monroe as a pivotal Daddy's (Uncle's?) gal introduced in the darkest noir world.Huston's direction shines , take Maltese Falcon ( a personal fave) and add 50's menace and urban exhaustion. The City no longer beckons, the shadows are longer and the night hides more. Interesting progression from Falcon to Key Largo to Asphalt Jungle. The role of the 'hero' or most compelling character evolves from Sam ,a gumshoe , nominally on the side of the law at least in an earlier time, Frank McCloud as free from anchors as the sky,a man without affiliation in Largo, to Hayden completely indifferent to societal norms and any code other than his own. A Must see anytime anyway, anywhere...

  • One of the Best!

    • Steve
    • 11/16/07

    One of John Huston's finest films. Loathfull characters from both sides of the law keep your attention all the way through the film. The perfect crime that goes afoul and the characters self destruct in this well written and directed film noir drama. A film so well made that I have the DVD of this film in my collection.

  • ASPHALT JUNGLE

    • fitz
    • 10/11/07

    ONE OF THE BEST CRIME DRAMAS IN MOVIE HISTORY.

  • final scene

    • Dana
    • 8/11/07

    The final scene where the horses surround him while he was dying in the field was filmed at my parent's farm in the north end of Lexington Kentucky.The fences are white in the film and are now black and there is a stone bridge and a pond.

  • A great film!

    • Christine Hoard Barre
    • 4/15/07

    This is an excellent movie with everyone involved in top form and stays true to W. R. Burnett's original novel. A must for crime fans, film noir fans, films of great film making. One of the best from its era.

  • Opening Scene of "Asphalt Jungle"

    • mike whalen
    • 4/10/07

    A great movie of the Film Noir genre. Many viewers want to know where the opening scene was filmed. The picture you see of the bridge & skyline is 1950 Cincinnati, Ohio. That is the old Central bridge which has been torn down & replaced by a new modern span. The skyline is graced by the Carew Tower & pyramid shaped Central Trust Tower. The Great American Ball Park now adorns that area that was once known as the Public Landing. It is where steamboats docked during their stay in Cincinnati. The reference to Boone County, KY in the movie is real. It's about 15 miles south of Cincinnati & is the home of the Greater Cincinnati Airport.

  • Good pick Gene Hackman

    • Jonathan
    • 6/2/06

    The Asphalt Jungle is one of the greatest capers ever made no question. I think it should be a DVD and maybe totally remade but we know how remakes go i.e. Lady killers.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.