skip navigation
Captain Blood

Captain Blood(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Captain Blood After being unjustly sentenced... MORE > $6.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Captain Blood

    • Bariebel
    • 5/26/14

    A wonderful movie, the film is set during the oppressive reign of King James II. Irish physician Peter Blood (Errol Flynn), arrested for treating a wounded anti-crown rebel, is condemned to slavery in Jamaica. Here he earns several privileges after treating the governor for gout; this does not rest well with the wicked owner of the plantation on which Blood is forced to work. Nor is he pleased with the growing relationship between his niece Arabella (Olivia DeHavilland) and the imprisoned doctor. An attack on Jamaica by Spanish pirates gives Blood and his fellow slaves the opportunity to become buccaneers themselves. After several months of fighting and plunder, Blood's men capture a merchant ship on which Arabella returns to Jamaica. Blood fights a duel with a French pirate (Basil Rathbone) over the girl; having "won" the duel over her, Blood tries to renew the friendship he had with her before becoming a pirate. No more details you have to see the movie it is absolutely great.

  • leading man

    • Maria Ramos
    • 2/1/13

    Errol Flynn 78 years later how beautiful he remains.And even today Mr. Flynn could still stand up to any leading man today. He was one of a kind. HE should have been nominated best actor!

  • Excellent Film

    • Alex
    • 2/1/13

    This movie is excellent on all levels. It's not just a classic swashbuckler - it is an excellent drama, romance, adventure, even comedy.Errol Flynn's debut shows great skill and confidence. He is brilliant.And credit should be given to the superb cinematography - the lighting and shadows are used to superb effect.

  • Captain Blood

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/24/12

    This overlooked swashbuckler is literally a masterpiece. It was the star-making film for Flynn & the actor's first union between leading lady De Havilland & duel with Rathbone. The battles, drama & romance are excellent to see under Curtiz's direction. The best pirate movie before "The Pirates of the Carribean" franchise. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Best Pirate Flick Ever

    • Pirate
    • 7/22/12

    Flynn was a find!Many things to love in this movie,most of all to me the surprise dueling skills of Rathbone,to me the reason to watch this film.Why didn't he get more pics with Miss Olivia,they seemed to get on well.Here Rathbone is totally sexy.

  • Killer Beach Duel

    • Bazz
    • 7/22/12

    Love the quote on the Rosary of Pain.Basil quite attractive here,more so than Flynn.Lost interest after his death on the beach.Sure could teach Flynn how to act.

  • New to me

    • Adam
    • 2/21/12

    Just saw this film for the first time today, must say I really enjoyed it.

  • Captain Blood

    • Randy Hagan
    • 2/21/12

    An excellent swashbuckler and emblematic of the romance and action of all Sabatini's novels. My recommendation is to watch it ONLY in black and white ... the colorized version too clearly reveals the technology used by B&W filmmakers to create the backgrounds and environment for display in B&W. So, watch it in the original and enjoy every minute as you appreciate the genius of the filmmakers of the day and the technology they mastered.

  • CAPTAIN BLOOD

    • KENNETH
    • 2/21/12

    ALWAYS LOVED FLYNN -HES AT HIS BEST IN THIS FILM-GREAT DUEL ON BEACH,NEVER BE ANOTHER FLYNN.

  • More Rathbone

    • Bart the Pirate
    • 2/16/12

    To me,the highlight will always be the duel to the death on the beach.

  • THE DEFINITIVE PIRATE ADVENTURE MOVIE!

    • alexander perez
    • 8/28/11

    unequaled in it's sheer Excitement, imagination and Romantic adventure, CAPTAIN BLOOD is an excellent Swashbuckler that established Errol Flynn as a star with his Debonair gallantry and reckless daring. taken from the eventful pages of Rafael Sabatini's novel, it was practically the first true Swashbuckler of the sound era, Flynn not only being Douglas Fairbanks' predecessor but also preceding him in Swordplay and Devil may care attitude. Flynn really shows Johnny Depp how a REALl Pirate movie should be! and Olivia DeHavilland, this being her film debut as well, is radiantly Beautiful in what would be her first of Eight films with Flynn. Basil Rathbone is marvelous as the Gentleman rascal Levasseur, Lionel Atwill is Fiendish as much as he is Bungling, and the rest of the cast is great, too. and let's not forget Erich Wolfgang Korngold's spirited action score that keeps the sea Battles and Sword fighting going!

  • Captain Blood

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ***1/2

  • captain blood

    • joe. l
    • 3/30/10

    This movie having seen it countless times remains for me the grandfather of all pirate movies. Errol Flynn and olivia de havilland make the perfect partnership in any movie. Highly recommend it!

  • Captain Blood (1935)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/27/10

    Rousing and very exciting swashbuckler, one of the best ever. Errol Flynn is perfectly cast and does a fantastic job. Entertaining from start to finish. The supporting cast is excellent. The score is outstanding, one of the best from that decade. Fine art direction and sound, the costumes are excellent. The use of lighting is impressive. Just an all around great movie. Oscar nominations went to best picture, sound recording, musical score, director Michael Curtiz and for screenplay writing. Director Curtiz excels with films like this, he also directed The Sea Hawk with Errol Flynn as well, and that film is even better than this one. This is one classic I think would have been even better if it was in color, something I usually don't feel

  • Great Movie, Takes you back...

    • Mate
    • 1/7/10

    This movie was made in the 1930's but the story, the direction and the acting is by far better than anything we see today. Even the special FX, the scenes and the setup are all better than today's movies!(without using computer animations/Fx)!I wonder if they had the computers to help them back then what amazing movies they would come up with? Certainly the talent of the pioneers in the movie industry were greater in those days.Todays actors only deliver a few lines of derogatory remarks and few cuss words and call it "art"! Heh, you cannot even compare people like Errol Flynn or Gary Cooper to anyone today , the quality of actors and acting became below standards in the 50's then it diminished in the 70's, 80's up until today. I frankly do not see anyone as good looking or as lady or gentleman-like as the actors of the old days any more.That is too bad and a reflection of how our low standards reflects in the movies today.

  • Great movie

    • joseph
    • 12/16/07

    After initially seeing the black and white effects, I stayed up pretty late to see this movie. It was a good movie to see and I suggest this movie as good to watch.J.B.

  • Swashbuckler credit

    • Jill Maryn
    • 1/26/07

    I just thought it might be nice for someone to mention the professional fencing doubles used in many of these swashbuckling movies. My dad, Wilfrid J. Holroyd, Jr., was the fencing stand in for Mr. Flynn in this movie-just look at the face when the real fencing starts-that's daddy! It seemed the directors didn't try too hard to hide it. As this was such a big part of the movies of this genre, I think it's odd that not even the fencing masters who coordinated all the difficult swordplay received any credit. My dad was also in Prisoner of Zenda, Count of Monte Cristo, Three Muskateers, etc.-all made around this time. It appears as if the directors just told him to "duck his head a little", then shot the scene. Jill (Holroyd) Martyn

  • RE: Attention to Detail

    • Kevin
    • 7/31/06

    Just a note to Donna: Rafael Sabatini wrote Captain Blood less than one hundred years ago, the first edition having been published in 1922. Perhaps you are aware of previous accounts of the good doctor. If so, please advise, since I was under the impression that this was a novel and not a biography.

  • Attention to Detail

    • donna
    • 6/8/06

    Captain Blood was produced with great attention to detail of the story, which was written about Captain Blood several hundred years ago. I did a search on the history of Captain blood and I was amazed of the accuracy that the film portrayed.And for it's time, the special effects of that era rival even todays...the only diffence....it's in B and W! Good Job!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.