skip navigation
King of Kings

King of Kings(1961)

  • Tuesday, December 23 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

King of Kings Epic retelling of... MORE > $7.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A True Classic.

    • Rick
    • 4/27/14

    With the exception of perhaps the miniseries "Jesus Of Nazareth", this is the best film presentation of the life and teachings of Jesus ever made. From Jeffrey Hunter's movingly beautiful portrayal of Jesus to the incredible musical score, this film is a deeply moving exerience for Christians and non-Christians alike. All of the major personnas are portrayed well and fully. The historically accurate background of the Roman occupation and it's brutal power are extraodinarily contrasted with Christ's eternal message of the power of universal love and humble service. A powerful and great film for all- not to be missed. I, like others here wait in anticipation for the blue-ray release. 10 OUT OF 10 STARS.

  • Entertaining Fantasy

    • Taran
    • 4/20/14

    Well-made entertaining fantasy. Right up there with the Hobbit and the Lord of the Rings.

  • king of kings

    • margo
    • 10/30/12

    This is my favorite movie of all time.I don't understand why TCM would show this movie at Halloween time amidst a lineup of freak shows. Guess there's an anti-Christian attitude at TCM.

  • "Echo !"

    • Alice
    • 10/30/12

    I echo and give a hearty, "Amen" to the viewer who suggested reading (studying) the New Testament for the True story of Jesus. However, to the cre dit of the " "hollywood of old", part of the reason I am such a fan of classic movies, is that they tackled so many of the "hard" topics; the biographies and famous events in our history. True, so many have been "hollywood-ized", to a degree. But, they were not dishonoring (for the most part). There are a few exceptions, i.e., "The Last Temptation of Christ". However, I do, remain a faithful TCM fan. So very, very, many of the films you coose are wonderful.Thank you, TCM and fellow viewers and re-viewers.

  • quality

    • dan marlena grant
    • 9/29/12

    second best movie ever made with ben-hur being first. Once again Miklos Rosza'a music second to none

  • Praise The King

    • Ron Merk
    • 4/8/12

    I remember first seeing this film when I was in high school, during its original release. I was impressed then and I am still impressed 50 years later by the quality of this film, and its ability to touch us with its sincerity. The film has been harshly criticized, especially Jeffrey Hunter's portrayal of Christ. His acting is solid, sincere and I believe that his face carries the beauty of the idea of Christ and his teachings. I don't think there's much more that one could ask for in a performance of this great historical personality. Playing Christ on the screen has always been a great risk for actors, and many have avoided this part because of the kind of criticism that's been heaped on Hunter (particularly the "I Was a Teenage Jesus" rants). Hunter's portrayal of Chris is the best one ever put on film. It's time someone said that. Nicolas Ray has ably guided this film through production difficulties and his fights with Phillip Yordan, the writer, through perilous waters, and while he didn't quite walk on water, his work here is solid, intelligent and often moving. The cast is uniformly good, and the characters they have created are indelibly imprinted on our collective consciousness. Cast off your doubts, and look again at this wonderful film, and let the great score by Miklos Rozsa give you that feeling of awe and wonder about this greatest story ever told.

  • No title

    • Ed
    • 10/24/11

    To those who expect to know "the life of Christ", you'll not get it from Hollywood - read the New Testament...

  • Jeffrey Hunter's King of Kings

    • David Atkins
    • 8/17/11

    Jeffrey Hunter portrays Jesus Chris with much reverence in Samuel Bronston's epic King of Kings. I found this to be a better film than George Stevens' massive epic The Greatest Story Ever Told due to Max Von Sydow's passive interpretation of Jesus Chris. I recommend this film.

  • Music King of Kings

    • Jacqout
    • 4/25/11

    Very beautiful music of Miklos Rozsa, great compositor

  • King of Kings

    • Lissa
    • 4/17/11

    My Favorite movie about the life of Christ. Jeffrey Hunter did an excellent job portraying Jesus. The movie has a great supporting cast and the music used is inspirational.

  • TIMELESS CLASSIC

    • RON
    • 11/27/09

    WELL DONE EPIC THOUGH AT TIMES NOT HISTORICALLY ACURATE. WHY DO PEOPLE THINK THIS IS OVERLONG? IT'S ONLY 2HRS. 45MIN. OTHER EPICS ARE OVER THREE HRS. RAY LAYS OUT THE RELIGIOUS/POLITICAL CONFLICT OF THE TIMES IN WHICH JESUS LIVED VERY WELL GIVING THE STORY A GOOD BACKGROUND AND WHY PEOPLE WERE LOOKING FOR THE MESSIAH. THE MUSIC IS PHENOMINAL SHOULD HAVE WON AN OSCAR FOR MIKLOS ROZSA. JEFFREY HUNTER AND CAST TURNED IN MEMORABLE PERFORMANCES. WATCH IT OFTEN CAN'T WAIT FOR A BLU RAY RELEASE.

  • King of Kings (1961)

    • Jay
    • 7/25/09

    Painfully overlong and talky, but the magnificent production is a big plus in an otherwise melodramatic and uninteresting story. The acting is way over the top and far too dramatic. Technically though it is excellent, if you can stay awake long enough to appreciate that.

  • An Important Film

    • P.R.
    • 2/19/08

    The King of Kings, starring Jeffry Hunter, is an important part of Film history. Though just a handful of scenes actually concentrate of the life of Jesus,it is a milestone, especially having the great music of Miklos Rosza to accompany it. Sadly, the script is weak and does not focus enough on the King of kings, but it is done respectfully, and the cinematography is beautiful, and the Spanish locations are beautiful as well.It is still a film worth seeing and having in your film collection.

  • King of Kings

    • Dan
    • 4/8/07

    A good epic film that deals with the teachings of Christ. Their is some Spegetti Western type characters in this film who are dubbed, but isn't too noticable. Jeffrey Hunter plays Jesus along with a great music score and countless thousands of people. The film is a little long but worth the watch.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.