skip navigation
The Caine Mutiny

The Caine Mutiny(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Caine Mutiny Naval officers begin to... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • one of the best ever

    • carlo
    • 8/2/13

    I saw it first after it has been shown at the Festival of Venezia in 1954. I was very young then and thought that after so many years it would have been a little disappointing. No sir! It's just as great as before. My only objection goes to the length of the movie: I mean that it should have been at least 30 minutes longer, so that the love story might have had a more strong consistence, but even so I wouldn't be so squeamish. Forgive me for my poor English. I hope You coul understand my opinions. Thanks.

  • the caine mutiny

    • will
    • 5/4/13

    watched this brilliant film again today, and not to compare apples and oranges, but it reminded me of george armstrong custer, who rarely confided in his officers. always gave orders and expected them to be carried out, till the night before the little big horn fight, when he stunned his officers by asking there opinions and practicily begged them for help in making the right decitions. two officers in private conversation concluded (i think the general is going to die tomorrow,ive never seen him act this way at a staff meeting) the captain of the caine seems to be suffering from the same kind of break down. the lost tearful look in bogarts eyes says it all. a great film with an out standing cast.

  • Excellent

    • Michael
    • 2/24/13

    One of my all time favorites. Riveting performances all around.. Extremely gratifying conclusion...

  • Killer Good!

    • Steve
    • 2/23/13

    GREAT flick, didn't need the off center love plot but still nothing short of great acting from the top on down. Bogart was phenomenal as was Johnson. Who ever thought Fred MacMurray was that good on the big screen as well? This one lived up to the book as far as entertainment. Most interesting watching Bogart come unraveled when under fire be in in action or in a court martial.

  • GREAT PEFORMANCE BY HUMPHREY BOGART

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 12/21/12

    Humphrey Bogart gave a great performance in this movie, so great that it is easy to overlook the excellent supporting cast-the conflicted Van Johnson, the wise-cracking Fred MacMurray, the tough Tom Tully, the compassionate Jose Ferrer-all excellent performances, but overshadowed by the outstanding performance by Humphrey Bogart! He won an Academy Award for "The African Queen", but, surely, this was his greatest performance! A not-to-be-missed performance, and a not-to-be-missed movie!

  • GREAT PERFORMANCE BY HUMPHREY BOGART!

    • MARLENE RANTZ
    • 12/21/12

    Humphrey Bogart gave a great performance in this movie, so great that it is easy to overlook the excellent supporting cast: the conflicted Van Johnson, the wise-cracking Fred MacMurray, the tough Tom Tully, and the compassionate Jose Ferrer-all excellent performances, but overshadowed by Humphrey Bogart's outstanding performance! He won an Academy Award for "The African Queen", but, surely, this was his greatest performance! A not-to-be-missed performance, and a-not-to-be-missed movie!

  • The Caine Mutiny

    • Carlos M. Lopez
    • 12/7/12

    I read the book in the year 1970 as part of my High School English Literature class in Puerto Rico. The novel gives a deep assesment of actions of human beings under stressful scenarios. The movie captures the essence of this wonderful novel and the cast is magnificent. Being a Bogart fan I must say that his portrayal of Captain Francis Queeg is magnificent. But I must also acknowledge the performance of fellow Puerto Rican, Jose Ferrer who delivers an astute, clever and resourceful Barney Greenwald. I would highly recommend this movie to anyone.

  • The Caine Mutiny

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/13/12

    An engaging adaptation of Wouk's novel. Bogart earned his final Oscar nomination as a possibly-insane Captain of an unkept ship; great supporting work from MacMurray, Johnson, Francis & Tully, the latter in an Oscar-nominated performpance. This is Director Dmytryck & Producer Kramer's best film together, creating the tense lives of these sailors under a more disciplined ship. Entertaining & dramatic filmmaking at it's best. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • ... aka "Don't Make Waves"

    • Tilis
    • 6/4/12

    This movie is, for all intents and purposes, a call for inaction. Coming out in 1954 it must have been McCarthyism's last gasp against "those commie protesters who weaken our great country by questioning authority." This movie wasn't even aimed at the Beat Generation in particular (they could recognize fascist propaganda when they saw it). No, this movie was aimed at Mr. & Mrs. Average American, the fence-sitting herd animal that only needs a nudge now and then to be kept in line. Behold Lt. Keefer (MacMurray), the writer, intellectual, and free-thinking liberal ... See how this complainer without a backbone works to undermine our armed forces! See how the decent but gullible crewmen are corrupted by his words! Witness how Lt. Greenwald (Ferrer) proves Queeg's incompetence but then later repents his evil deeds! Forgive our corrupted leaders because they were once like the great men of today who span the globe in order to protect you, your families, your homes ...! A well-filmed, well-acted piece of utter fiction that is, unfortunately, just as relevant today as it was then. Pity the conformist who complains about his job but not to his boss's face because he doesn't want to get fired, yet spit on the free-thinker who may happen to do the same thing. Naturally Keefer was portrayed as a man too cowardly to stand up for his beliefs; the movie wouldn't be able to serve its purpose if he was a "Hawkeye" Pierce, someone more than willing to stand up for their morals. Better to ignore the countless protesters throughout history who have willingly sacrficed their lives in the name of peace, freedom, and the betterment of humanity. Instead, honor the conformist who carries out orders without question. This movie is an exercise in free speech but one that attempts to damn free speech when it bucks the establishment. The real message here? All rebels are scum ... unless you're part of the revolution. Didn't the year 1776 ring a (liberty) bell for the makers of this film?

  • The Caine Mutiny Experience

    • Kathleen
    • 1/8/12

    I've read the book and seen the movie three times. They are both very good. The movie leaves out many details of the book which makes for a very different experience. All the actors are excellent especially Van Johnson and Humprey Bogart. Fred McMurray is interesting as the villain of the piece.I don't know who the female lead was, but she was good too.

  • The Caine Mutiny

    • Alicia Woods
    • 9/11/11

    I've seen this movie many times and it has so many merits, but if you're not into a thinking military courtroom drama - this isn't your kind of movie. What I have to include is a comment by Ben Mankiewicz's on Lee Marvin (9/10/11). This is the second time in one week that I've caught Mankiewicz in errors on actor information. Huge faux pas: Lee Marvin never served in the Navy - he was a Marine. How do I know? My husband knew him both during and after the war...and he only wore the uniform of a Marine as my husband did during WWII. If I caught these errors with ease, then I'm sure a true film historian could make mincemeat of the "facts" that Mankiewicz presents. Solution: would someone at TCM please fact-check all of his film introductions? I'm amazed he hasn't gotten into trouble before.

  • What is the point of this movie?

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/20/11

    Queeg was obviously a nut-job, and Fred MacMurray's character and Van Johnson's character were obviously in the right to do what they did. But then what happens? The audience is told that they should be thankful for all that men like Queeg have done for America in the past and that the other two are really stool pigeons and nobody likes a snitch. Say what?? What Queeg was like in the past has no bearing on the present whatsoever. That's like aquitting a murderer because he USED to be a nice guy. No, Queeg was rightfully brought to trial for his incompetence and the others most certainly weren't snitches for doing so -- lives depended on what they did. So what was the point of making such a backward-thinking film, then? Well, it all starts to makes sense when you see in the end credits that the movie was supported by the U.S. Navy itself. "Protect thine own interests" is the motto here, apparently. This movie leaves a bad taste in one's mouth.

  • A slow, plodding movie

    • Dean
    • 8/17/11

    This is my least favorite Bogart film. The script is slow and plodding, with an uncharacteristically weak performance by Bogart. It is dull and lacks energy for the most part, with the exceptional outburst of anger. His testimony on the stand is especially lackluster. I think he is miscast in the role as captain of the Caine, and he looks uncomfortable in the role. By contrast, Van Johnson's performance is over the top. I think he is trying to overcompensate for the lack of energy that seems prevalent in the entire cast throughout the film, offset by a few moments of hysteria and hyper-activity. The story lacks real action and there is very little substance to begin with. Who cares that a few spoiled, undisciplined officers rebel against an overbearing, incompetent captain on some nameless, rusted out old barge? There's nothing fresh here. The book the movie is based upon is an updated version, a rip-off of Mutiny on the Bounty, and the film is a weak re-make of the same, but without real drama or the lovely scenery of Tahiti. It's all much ado about nothing.

  • "Caine" is one of Bogie's best!!!!!

    • Joe Coppola
    • 11/29/10

    Bogart give a fantastic performance as Queeg! He uses his great acting talent to make Queen the most believable character possible! From the steel balls to the "Strawberries" to the way he buttered the toast and the end of his testamony in the court room where he breaks down! How Bogart did not win a Oscar for this performance only proves that the Ocsars are a popularity contest!Not only should Bogart have won the Oscar for playing Queeg he also should have won the Oscar for playing Dobbs in "The Treasure of the Sierra Madre!" And for Richard Blaine in "Casablanca!" And you can even make a great case for Glenn Griffin in "The Desperate Hours!"

  • Bogart + Johnson + MacMurray + Ferrer = EXCELLENCE

    • Richard
    • 12/3/09

    I think the title of my review says it all. All of these performers outdid themselves in this movie. Johnson was absolutely marvelous and Fred MacMurray.....Who Knew? Ferrer is great as the prosecutor......especially at the end where he crashes the celebration party...... and lastly there's Bogart and he is well.........Bogart. This film is a viewing must.

  • The Caine Mutiny (1954)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/16/09

    Certainly one of Humphrey Bogart's finest performances. He is amazingly good, and it is a pleasure to see him act in this, particularly when it is against type. The screenplay is extremely well done. A fine classic.

  • This Movie:

    • Angelique
    • 6/24/09

    I saw this movie, and I really liked it, great! Mainly because I am very interested in joining the Navy someday =).

  • Classic

    • j mallon
    • 6/23/09

    I will never forget Bogart's performance, especially with those little metal balls. I also don't understand why he didn't receive an oscar for it. Also one of my favorites is in this classic: Van Johnson, his performance is also right on the mark. I think that it is one of Johnson's best!

  • great cast grat book outstanding movie

    • david lauck
    • 6/15/09

    same as above

  • Better than the novel

    • Richard
    • 3/21/09

    I remember my senior English teacher having us read this pulitzer prize winning novel, The Caine Mutiny. The movie is far better. Now there are probably few movies that fit in this catagory.

  • Bogart's Blithering Bonzo

    • Paul Conrad Jackson
    • 3/21/09

    The Caine Mutiny came out when I was just 10 years of age, and lived in a seaport in England. So I have an affinity for the sea. I have seen this movie repeatedly since then, and will see it repeatedly again. It is five stars out of five stars in my rating. Tell me an actor today who can match Humphrey Bogart or Fred MacMurray! None can. The genre has been demeaned. That's why, on my 100-inch - that's more than eight feet - TV screen I watch TCM day and night.

  • Raising Caine

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 1/6/09

    It is understandable why Herman Wouk won the pulitzer for this remarkable character study. The movie version does nothing to alter this fact. Quite the contrary; it brings them all to life. Amamzing cast, with some solid performances by Tom Tully, Fred MacMurray and Jose Ferrer. Best for last. Arguably Bogart's finest performance (but I'd hate to hang in the balance between African Queen; Treasure of the Sierra Madre and this one). Right up there with Bogey's performance is that of the recently departed, Van Johnson. This I believe is HIS finest performance. He is the glue that holds this film together. Nominated for 7 Academy Awards; won - - NONE! How unfortunate; this is a great film.

  • Great Classic

    • j.mallon
    • 3/20/08

    Who can forget Bogart's great scene in the courtroom when he takes out of his pocket those little metal balls. This is probably one of my favorite Bogart movies. The other actors also have memorable performances. This is a classic!

  • The Caine Mutiny

    • Craig Brewster
    • 3/19/08

    A great movie Bogarts a great. One of his last movie before he died of cancer. Fred Mcmurry is great also. Went one to do comedies just as well. Dont make these movie greats any more. Also of note there never been a real Mutiny in the US Navy.

  • Very good performances!

    • Nancy Joy O'Connor
    • 1/6/08

    After watching and enjoying many performances by every actor in this movie, there could not have been, in my opinion, an better ensemble performance by all. Humphrey Bogart ventured into the character of mental instability while the end of the movie....where Ferrer declared McMurray the ultimate trouble-maker, was superlative alongwith being very understandable from the viewpoint of a prosecutor and movieviewer.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.