skip navigation
Roughly Speaking

Roughly Speaking(1945)

  • Monday, October 27 @ 10:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Roughly Speaking A man's wild moneymaking... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great Movie about a great Mom

    • carla palmer
    • 5/13/13

    This was one I have miss with Russell and she makes a smart tough woman play out so well; and she is also warm. Great talent.

  • Roughly Speaking

    • Teresa Hartz
    • 5/12/13

    What a find! Thank you for selecting this one for Mother's Day. It is truly a great movie, I really fell in love with Carson and think this was the very best of Russell. I think his should be remade with Cruise as Jerk husband #1, Pitt as Great Husband #2, and Reese Witherspoon in the leading role.

  • Excellent movie

    • Joseph
    • 5/12/13

    Rosalind Russell is great in her role and the movie is truly inspirational. One of the best films ever made....

  • Great movie!

    • Melanie
    • 1/11/13

    Last night I was switching channels and I came across TMC channel. I love 40s movies (Black and white) and I am 35 years old. My grandpa watched old movies when I was growing up. Roughly Speaking was on and I caught the movie five minutes in. I love it. I felt close to the characters, like they were talking about my life. My favorite part is when Rosalind russell's character and Jack Carson where Jack's character had to practice on his wife on how to sell vacuums door to door. They look like they had fun doing that skit. It was great. Story plot was great and I love how the whole family loved each other.

  • Roughly speaking 1945

    • marty painter
    • 1/11/13

    1\11\2013 Roughly speaking 1945 is a good movie needs to be releases in blu-ray soon roughly speakingis a old good movie please tcm play this movie again soon tcm??/

  • Roughly Speaking

    • Words4Sail
    • 10/21/10

    Feeling good is the end product of this film.Much of it resonates with today's viewers who are faced with challenges - especially of the economic kind.Some might find it simplistic, but what is simplistic about facing adversity with courage, knowing false pride is a deterrent and hope is never a bad thing - even when circumstances do a 180?The cast is excellent, one of Jack Carson's best and Roz Russell sparkles and inspires.One complaint though - the current synopsis on this film needs a rewrite. It somehow misses the tone and plot line

  • Roughly Speaking (1945)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/13/10

    Excellent casting. Both Rosalind Russell and Jack Carson are ideal in their roles. It's not a predictable film, nicely written. It does waiver between tragedy and comedy a bit abruptly at times but I never lost interest in the film. Good direction and an effective supporting cast.

  • Truthfully speaking

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 12/28/09

    This film sort of has a feel-good flavor to it. And in some ways it functions as propaganda, convincing the average viewer that life is full of ups and downs and that we can muster the courage to continue, despite the odds. I also think the writers probably pitched it to the studio as 'early woman's rights advocate learns the hard way about men, marriage and love.' Still, Ros Russell is a breath of fresh air, like she is in so many of her film roles. And as others have commented, Jack Carson's chemistry is very good with her. The vacuum cleaner demonstration scene was probably the best moment they shared in this film, and I can imagine what it was like when they first read that scene, rehearsed for it, then actually filmed it. But this moment aside, some of the episodes don't exactly go anywhere. For instance, the time where he goes up in the air and flies around for a minute. What was the purpose of that? I think that's why this isn't a better known film. It could've withstood some revisions, and the action could've been tighter, with more of a nod to the theme. And just what was the theme? That a woman can find love again? Or that her family must brace for difficulty and war? (This was directed by Michael Curtiz, the same guy who directed 'Casablanca,' so I don't think the weaknesses lie with the director, but with an underdeveloped script.) At any rate, I am sure the motion picture resonated with audiences when it premiered, and it stands as a document of that era. Plus, it is a joy to watch the lead actors clown around and also do a bit of drama (the scene where she catches him playing pool has more serious undertones and is very good). Maybe if the film had stronger supporting actors, like if Agnes Moorhead or Lucille Watson had been included as the mentioned-but-not-seen mother of Ros' character, that could've helped make up for some of the story deficiencies.

  • Available on DVD at:

    • Steve S.
    • 5/30/09

    http://www.wbshop.com/Roughly-Speaking-+EST-MOD/1000100562,default,pd.html?cgid=

  • Rosalind Russell - a great actress

    • Lin
    • 5/21/09

    Roughly Speaking is my all-time favorite movie. I keep checking to see if it is out on DVD and am disappointed that it isn't yet. The character Miss Russell portrays is so modern for the time it was made. She is an independent, loving Wife and Mom and a capable career woman whose husband doesn't want her to be so capable. He is the weak link in that family. I admire Rosalind Russell and have never been disappointed in any movie I have seen with her, whether it is a lead character or in a minor role. She always shines. I own every one of her movies that are on video. I keep hoping Rosie and Roughly Speaking will soon be available. Ann Doran is another of my favorite character actors that I would watch in any genre.

  • i want 2 copys

    • rick
    • 7/11/08

    if we all had there chemistry, marriages would last forever, mine is breaking up. without a dream you have nothing, watch the movie and learn, and enjoy

  • Roz Russell and Jack Carson - a great team

    • Sharon A. Quinn
    • 7/10/08

    I enjoyed this film on many levels but I am particularly impressed with the chemistry between Jack and Roz. Too often he was typecast as a blowhard or buffoon. In this film he is genuine and appealing. The scene where they come home after the party is touching and very real. Even their body language bespeaks a warm and relaxed relationship. They bring out the best in each other and infuse their characters and their relationship with a sexy charm.

  • Average movie

    • Dean
    • 7/9/08

    This film demonstated happiness and success is acheived in your attitude toward life's experiences. Don't know if this movie belonged in a drama category as it seemed to be a good family style picture to me. Somewhat of an upbeat,inspirational movie that seemed to have a flat ending. Well acted and worth watching though.

  • Roughly Speaking

    • S
    • 12/22/06

    I too have been looking for this movie. Another user said that it is regularly shown on TCM. Just wish there was a way of finding out when it will be scheduled next...

  • "ROUGHLY SPEAKING" 1945

    • M. FULVIO
    • 12/11/06

    i was just wondering if there was a chance for this picture to be shown on tcm- i remeber seeing it in the early 1960's and was impressed by this warm movie. i also loved rosalind russell and all that she starred in. but i just never forgot this movie.i would buy it in a heartbeat, but i guess unless you show it no one will ask for it.please let me know if it will come on tcm- i purchase the "now playing" magazine so hopefully -well i can dream can't i.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.