skip navigation
Psycho

Psycho(1960)

  • Tuesday, February 17 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Saturday, March 7 @ 04:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Psycho A woman on the run gets mixed... MORE > $119.98 Regularly $119.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Boy's Best Friend is....

    • Graham Thomas
    • 10/29/14

    Psycho has entered into the canon now and as such is almost immune to critique. But it must be remembered how shocking this film was in 1960, changing the filmic and possibly the cultural future eventually. The door opened, never to be shut. Unlike "Marnie" where Hitch seemed behind the cultural curve, here he was way, way ahead, for better or worse.

  • FIVE stars!

    • RedRain
    • 9/1/13

    I saw this film in the theater the month it came out and, I admit it, it scared the heck out of me and I screamed bloody blue murder! When you see what passes for "horror" films these days, you appreciate the brilliance of this film all the more. You never see the actual murders, never see the dead bodies, but you are creeped out the entire film. Anthony Perkins is just fantastic in the lead and it is a shame his career ever after this film did not live up to the promise "Psycho" made of him. Janet Leigh definitely gives a great performance and you are frightened for her during the entire film. The ending, of course, is the real shocker and, once seen, it is never forgotten. We all love thrillers but this is the one that really gets you. It is the one all these "slasher" films try to copy but they fail miserably. Once seen, you will remember this film your entire life!

  • Psycho-a Movie Legend

    • Shane
    • 8/29/13

    This is by far one of the most meticulously pieced-together movies in the history of cinema, and Hitchcock's style shows through stunningly here. But this film won't only appeal to the fans of his style, as that is only one of the stars of this movie. Anthony Perkins was gypped of an Oscar for this, mainly because the film was dismissed as a B movie by critics on its initial release, but they were sorely proven wrong by its massive success at the box office and it's everlasting influence on cinema in the future. This movie is a gem of our time because of some very important factors: Hitchcock's directing, Perkins' acting, Herrmann's incomparably innovative score, Stephano's pithy screenplay, and years of experience on all parts. This film is a collaborative effort of some of the best and most overlooked people in Hollywood history. As for the film itself, arguably the greatest of all time.

  • "WHATEVER MOTHER SAY'S"

    • Travis Black
    • 11/25/12

    Psycho (1960) is one of my TOP Favorite Hitchcock films next to "Rope", "Rear Window", and "The Birds". Psycho is most disturbing of all of Mr. Hithcock's films and the use of darkness and lighting gives a fantastic atmospheric feel to the movie. Sidenote- Psycho along with "Texas chainsaw Massacre" (1974) and "The Silence of the Lambs" (1990) are all somewhat loosely based upon the heinous crimes of America's most Bizzare Serial Killers: Ed Gein. I used to read about Serial Killers ALOT and discovered the crimes of Ed Gein, he was born in 1906 in Wisconsin and lived a very isolated life due to his VERY religious and dominering Mother; Augusta Gein. Gein was a Necrophile and grave robber who stole corpses to use in Bizzare acts and experiments.

  • Psycho

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/23/12

    Not only is this Hitchcock's masterpiece, but it's also one of the greatest films ever made. A woman spends the night at an isolated hotel after taking $40,000, only to get famously stabbed in a shower. Leigh won the Golden Globe as the doomed Marion Crane & Perkins became immortal as the Ed Gein-like killer. Anybody who hasn't been scared by this film is either lying or in denial, because shower scene & Balsam's murder are part of a terrifying tale of sex & lunacy. An iconic film that's a must-see for everybody. I give it a 5/5.

  • My Favorite Alfred Hitchcock Film

    • Alex Krajci
    • 10/16/12

    This Is My Favorite Alfred Hitchcock Film, I Like This Film Because Of Anthony Perkins Performance As Norman Bates, Alfred Hitchcock's Direction, John L. Russell's Cinematography And Bernard Herrmann's Score.

  • THE BEST SUSPENSE/HORROR EVER MADE!

    • Andy Alburger
    • 11/7/11

    Psycho is an amazing movie like no other. Hitchcock surely does it again, and this cult-classic for so many reasons doesn't dissapoint. Being a fan of Hitchcock, I expected alot from Psycho, and believe me, you get way more than you expect. Hitchcock's directing is incredible and the risks who took are just amazing. It's unbelievable that he didn't even win the directing Oscar for his superb work. The story is extremely original and the screenplay not only has excellent writing, but has an incredible amount of suspense, thrills and excitement. The haunting Bernard Herman score is nothing but extraordinary and the sets, sound and black-and-white cinematography are all amazing support. The acting is also extremely powerful. Janet Leigh is awesome in her 40 minute screen time and Vera Miles, John Gavin and Martin Balsam are also all strong in their roles. To think Anthony Perkins got absolutely no award recognition for his role is just too hard to imagine. He did a fantastic job and gave a memorable performance which is still loved today. The scenes in Psycho are amazing, and the 'shower scene' is remembered and famous for a reason. Psycho is a horror and suspenseful classic from the master of suspense, himself. Psycho is truly my favourite film ever made! An essential for any movie fan and a heck of a classic! if only they made films this well-done nowadays

  • Psycho (1960)

    • Jeff
    • 6/26/11

    The movie that is the direct definition of suspense is this one, directed by the Master of Suspense in Alfred Hitchcock. The film is about Marian Crane (Janet Leigh) who runs away with the money she stole to the Bates Motel, where there are 12 inns yet 12 vacancies and finds herself in trouble there. The suspense sends shock waves to the audience. Bernard Herrmann's score is the best he's ever done and is a phenomenal one at that. The script allows a lot of the suspense to pump through. However, the movie is not as good as it could've been due to casting. Anthony Perkins and Leigh are good, yet overrated and are not as effective in the roles as James Stewart and Debbie Reynolds would've been. However, as usual, Hitchcock uses the actors as mere pawns in his scheme and will not let the audience forget that it is his movie.

  • leah's review

    • leah l
    • 6/21/11

    its scary but ist worth it. the camera work is the best ive ever seen in any film in my life its so unique and different from any film. but see it at midnight and you wont sleep. so see it at daytime highly recomended.

  • Favorite!!!!!!!!!

    • chris
    • 5/23/11

    I've always loved this movie.

  • Shower Scene

    • don
    • 1/6/11

    Don't know why they used a double for Janet Leigh in the shower scene, I guess back in the 1960s actresses were reluctant to appear in the nude. Beautiful Janet Leigh certainly had the body and would have made the scene even more stunning and memorable.

  • Scary .. Very Scary.

    • Joe Smith
    • 3/18/10

    Could not sleep for days!

  • Hitchcock's Gothic Masterpiece.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 10/25/09

    Alfred Hitchcock made movie history in 1960 with this horrifying classic based on Robert Bloch's book inspired by a real-life murder case in Wisconsin in 1957. Anthony Perkins stars in his most memorable role as Norman Bates, whose isolated little motel becomes the scene of a grisley murder supposedly committed by his violent mother. Janet Leigh's shower murder scene remains unsurpassed as the most unforgettable chapter of the movie. Also starring Vera Miles, John Gavin, Martin Balsam, John McIntire, Lurene Tuttle, Frank Albertson, Vaughn Taylor, Pat Hitchcock, John Anderson, Mort Mills, Simon Oakland & Ted Knight.

  • Classic

    • Rick
    • 3/23/09

    All though somewhat dated this is a true classic for almost anyone

  • Hitchcock At His Best

    • Spencer Dunnings
    • 1/17/09

    Psycho was amazing. i hope tcm will play this movie non stop. when i first saw this i could'nt sleep for 2 weeks.

  • Psyco very scary for little ones.

    • Suzanne Kuhn;e
    • 10/1/08

    When I saw it for the first time, I did not take a shower until I was 23yrs. That how frighten I really was.I made sure that I took only bathes.In the 90's,my boss did trust me with $20,000 cash. Because of that movie, I didn't even think about taking it.I was about 7 years old when I first saw it.I covered my eyes too, in the scary part.But, my bigger sister saw it. The film is in black and white.She swore that she did see the blood red running down the drain.And, they really have a Bates motel going towards California. I did stay there one night. I was looking for Norman.I thought that he was so cute.But, old people did run it.My favourite is this one and Psyco111.I did not care for the remake of this movie. I loved all the actors in this one.

  • "Psycho" AGAIN!?

    • Don of Sacramento
    • 9/6/08

    This movie has been shown EVERY MONTH THIS YEAR! SHOW "DEAR RUTH" INSTEAD!! TCM fans need more variety!!

  • Like Alfred Hitchcock's other movies

    • Ann
    • 8/24/08

    This a good thriller movie like all of the other Hitchcock movies. There is that famous background sound when Norman Bates holds the knife at the shower scene. I remember when I first saw it when I was a little child--I was into the movie but totally frightened afterwards. I couldnt sleep and was afraid to go to the bathroom at night. This movie is not for little kids lol. I just found out there are sequals to this movie II and III. Its not directed by Alfred but I cant wait to watch both of them.

  • I Was Wrong

    • Bruce Reber
    • 4/3/08

    I saw "Psycho" again Tuesday night on TCM and Norman DID say " I am Norma Bates" when he was caught dressed as his mother. In my previous review I said that I had never heard it. I also found an error in your cast list - John Anderson plays Charlie the used car man and Mort Mills plays the highway patrolman.

  • psychiatrist @ end

    • mason
    • 3/4/08

    The psychiatrist may seem outdated, but in 1960 the audience absolutley needed to have him explain the motive to them. The scene also serves as a contrast to the eerie world at Bates Motel.

  • Synopsis Error

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/26/08

    Each time I have seen this film I have never heard Norman say " I am Norma Bates" when he storms into the fruit cellar dressed as his mother and tries to kill Lila, or maybe he does say it and the music drowns it out.I also disagree with Emily about the ending; the psychiatrist explains the relationship between Norman and his mother and what drove him to commit the murders.When the film was originally released, Hitchcock made theaters agree to a policy that no one would be admitted after the film started; in order to maintain suspense and fully understand the film audiences had to see it from the very beginning. One of my top five Hitchcock films.

  • Psychiatrist at the end completely ruins it...

    • Emily
    • 2/24/08

    The psychiatrist who has supposedly interviewed Norman at the end is completely annoying: his soap-opera style overacting and the whole explaining process that suddenly dumbs down a movie for the audience which was, up to that point, flawless in its acting and storytelling. Too bad.

  • Truly the father of slasher movies.

    • Justin
    • 12/28/07

    The name describes the movie very well. Without this the whole genre of slasher movies might not gotten off to a start. Truly a classic!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.