skip navigation
Parnell

Parnell(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Parnell - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wonderful movie!

    • Jerial
    • 5/5/13

    I had never seen this movie before TCM played it 4/13. I adored it! I wonder who could 'not' have liked it!

  • parnell 1937

    • george snedker
    • 5/11/12

    dreadful bio one of the worst ever i ought to know i'm from ireland

  • Parnell was certainly not awful, but...

    • Sara Volk
    • 9/27/11

    I believe I read that Clark Gable apologized for this movie. It is kind of a Cliff Notes version of Irish history before The Troubles, and the main trouble here is with Gable's performance - he delivered his lines with a kind of puny languor that kind of made me wish he would hurry up and die and get it over with. Pacing was definitey an issue. That being said, it was nice to see Gable not dragging some woman off her feet and kissing her into submission. That is the Gable I believe people paid to see, and he played so far against type in this film that his fans couldn't forgive him for it. There are echoes his performance in "Parnell" in "Gone with the Wind" and "It Happened One Night," where Gable learned to show a more tender side without appearing vapid. Myrna Loy is her usual wonderful self - I don't think she gave a bad performance. The supporting cast is made up of the usual suspects, the solid group you see in movies with healthy budgets that the studio expected to do well. I don't know if I'd buy the film, but I'll certainly watch it again. I've been curious about it for years.

  • Parnell

    • C Rutman
    • 9/26/11

    I watched this movie for the first time on TCM on Monday Sept 26th 2010.As an Irish born person I loved this movie & want to know how I can buy it so that I can share it with my children who are American born

  • My Dad told me about this one..

    • Mike Jones
    • 3/18/10

    He said I should not forget to watch this because it is a classic.

  • Man.

    • Tim Smith
    • 3/18/10

    Thats all I have to say is . .. Man.

  • Was the best ever

    • Joe Smith
    • 3/18/10

    i have a lot to say about this movie.

  • Parnell

    • Bonnie
    • 3/18/10

    Great movie, one of Clark and Merna's best ever. Please make it available in video for purchase.

  • Not available

    • Diarmuid
    • 7/30/09

    As far as I know, this has never been released publicly on any format like VHS or DVD. Unfortunately, it bombed at the box-office and so nobody has any interest in it now. It's a pity, because it is of great historical significance, particularly to Irish people. My only hope is that RT or the Irish government will at some time buy the rights to it and show it on national television. If TCM have it, I urge them to show it (come on, as part of a Clark Gable weekend matine!) It's certainly a shame that a Gable film like this is, for all intents and purposes, lost.

  • Where Can I buy the film "Parnell"

    • Sarah Parnell
    • 11/19/08

    Please tell me where I can purchase the film "Parnell".

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.