skip navigation
Life with Father

Life with Father(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Life with Father A straitlaced... MORE > $6.98 Regularly $6.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • ...that little pug dog...

    • pam
    • 7/28/14

    love that every member of the family is a redhead--except that little pug dog!!

  • The most under appreciated movie of it's time.

    • Kathy Haider
    • 6/17/14

    I think the one word to describe this movie is charming. William Powell and Irene Dunne are just that, making you love them both, despite night and day personalities. Clarence Day Sr. is the epitome of an old fashioned father, so brisk and stern, seemingly tight fisted with the money too. But you see from the house, the maids, the ring he brings Vinnie (Mrs. Day), he's really not. And when he's told his wife is sick, money is no object. Vinnie (Ms. Dunne) is much more carefree and easy going as her husband, except when she finds out he's not baptized! I know, on paper, this doesn't sound like a hilarious premise, but this cast pulls it off. I never miss an opportunity to watch this movie and I realize as the final scene concludes, my face is sore from the smile I've worn for the last 2 hours.

  • Thank you for playing "Life with Father"

    • Laura Baldschun
    • 6/1/14

    I just tried to watch one of my all time favorite films and was dismayed to hear and see a "remastered" version. I wrote an email to Warner Brothers to let them know that this film is a treasure and they should restore it. I was very happy to see that TCM is showing it on June 15. THANK YOU!!! TCM is a treasure!!!

  • LIFE WITH FATHER

    • scarlett harden
    • 2/7/14

    I love this movie very much, every month I look at TCM schedule to see what is playing and when I saw Life with Father was it made my heart jump, thank-you TCM

  • truly grateful !

    • Alice
    • 6/16/13

    I stand "amazed", even today, that I enjoy this film as much as I do; yes, love this film, as much as I do ! I am one of those people who was raised in a house, not a home, with a very cruel, authoritarian, physically, as well as, verbally and emotionally abusive, biological, father. For decades, it was impossible to find any humor at the idea associated with the word, "father"; that is, until, I saw this film.I first saw this film, probably two years ago. I was 66 years old at the time. Thank you, TCM, for making it possible to truly laugh out loud, while I watch a film that depicts the idea of a person I so hated and feared all my life. I am indeed, so grateful to you for making it possible for me to know about, and enjoy such a wonderful film as, "Life with Father". Many, many thanks to you. Please keep on showing beautiful movies like this one. Alice

  • Life With Father, with my mother

    • Guy
    • 4/15/13

    Life with Father was one of my late mother's favorite films, starring one of her favorite actresses, Irene Dunne (also Showboat, and I Remember Mama, her best-loved Dunne film). The scene my mother loved most was the one in which Irene Dunne explains to William Powell that she has traded the ceramic dog for their son's new suit, and Powell tries to convince her there ain't no such thing as a free lunch: "Well, McCreary's isn't giving anything away-- they're going to make me pay for something!" "Well, don't you let them!" (or dialogue to that effect). My mom was clever, and she pinched pennies till Abe's eyes popped out, but even she knew you couldn't pull this one off, and she never ceased to laugh at this scene.

  • My Favorite Movie of all time

    • JHH
    • 11/12/12

    One of the few movies that each time I see it I find something new. My Favorite movie of all time.

  • LIFE WITH FATHER DVD QUALITY

    • Harold Jacobs
    • 8/24/12

    Life With Father is a wonderful movie. I purchased this DVD from TCM and was shocked at the terrible quality. The box claims that it has been "digitally remastered" but what good is that when it was produced from a non-Technicolor print which has scratches and doesn't even always hold a steady frame. The colors are awful. I cannot believe that TCM would sell such an inferior product and, since it is no better than the one I already have from another company, I want to return it. BUYER BEWARE!

  • How did they get Elizabeth Taylor

    • Jack The Hat
    • 6/17/12

    Just one question? Since Elizbeth Taylor was MGM's greatest asset, how did Jack Warner get Louis B. Mayer to lend Elizabeth for this film? There must be a story there.

  • One of My Favorite Movies

    • Karen Mosley
    • 6/19/11

    This is a favorite movie of all time. William Powell's acting is supurb and funny. I wish they would sell the remastered version they run on Turner. I've tried twice to buy this film only to find I have to send it back. The audio recording is terrible on the version they sell. I'm a hopeful "someday owner" of this film.

  • Ohhh, Gad!

    • Gunter Meisner
    • 6/19/11

    "Now CLare, you gave your word! You must be baptized!" I love it.

  • Life with Fathr

    • cj
    • 8/1/10

    This is a wonderful family comedy. Some of the funniest lines ever. Great acting by all. TCM needs to make a good dvd available for purchase.Amazon and Netflix have the poorest quality picture and sound I have ever seen on a dvd movie...what a waste, very difficult to sit through and hard to enjoy. Sound is difficult to understand and color is practically nonexistent - the great music is left wanting clarity. For now, try to watch this on TCM - look for it. --- and tape it for your children to enjoy as well. I Love TCM!

  • Life With Father

    • Virginia Faulknor
    • 3/30/10

    Irene Dunne and William Powell are the perfect combination. This is a wonderful turn of the century tale about a straight back man who melts like butter for his precious wife Vinne. It is an all time favorite of my family and I know it will be for everyone.

  • A delightful movie!

    • Wendy
    • 11/19/07

    Irene Dunne has a wonderful performance as Vinnie, the mother. The scene where Irene/Vinnie must explain where $5 went to William Powell/Father is a classic! Who else could turn it around so that Father owes HER money back! Great performances throughout this movie, a real gem!

  • A real gem.

    • Mrs. J. Gill
    • 2/13/07

    Fans of Liz Taylor will love her in one of her first films... cast as the teenaged girlfriend in this heart warming film. The movie is based on the book of the name...about a very excentric father and his family living in New York in the late 1800's. Absolutely one of my top ten favourite films. Five Stars.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.