skip navigation
The Nanny

The Nanny(1965)

  • Thursday, January 1 @ 06:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Nanny A disturbed young man tries to... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

    • 1/23/13

  • Goose Bumps

    • Limpy
    • 1/23/13

    Bette Davis is just plain creepy. Creepy in a good way.

  • Fabulous Bette Davis Genre

    • Anita
    • 8/12/12

    I watched this movie when I was very young, I am now 52 years old and still love it. She was a fantastic actress and especially great at these scarry type movies. If you liked this one see "What ever happened to Baby Jane" with Joan Crawford.

  • Scared Me to Bits!

    • AP
    • 3/8/12

    I saw this movie as a youngster, and let me tell you! It haunted me for quite a while! I still remember some of the haunting images! Bette is a wonderful "weirdo!" Can't wait to see it again after all these years...

  • Spooky.

    • Chris
    • 7/28/11

    Creepy. Good

  • The Nanny (1965)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/15/10

    Bette Davis sure can portray evil well. This is one of the best of her post 1960 performances. Well acted by all, Pamela Franklin stands out among the supporting cast.The story builds up very well, and the characters are well defined.

  • Second Generation Nanny Gone Mad

    • Ellissa
    • 7/26/09

    Before she took care of this generation of young children, Nanny (Bette Davis), took care of their mother and insured that she'd become dependent upon her for life. Seems Nanny's obsessed with her original ward & jealous of her family. The youngest, a little girl, has already drown in the bathtub. Her slightly older brother was blamed for her death and sentto an asylum for children. Now he's home,acting out & certain that Nanny's a murderer. Strain builds in the family'srelations & suspsense builds as the audience expects Nanny to kill the boy. No one can play evil incarnate quite like Bette Davis. When she goes into character it's so easy to forget that the character is really Bette Davis. She's so believable as the nanny, I'd be wary about allowing children to watch this film. If I were a child, after seeing this, I'd never feel safe with a babysitter again. That's very effective acting. That's Bette Davis' skill.

  • A Nanny of Our Nightmares

    • Corbinn
    • 6/15/09

    The way this film was set it immediately drew me into it. There's a very dark family mystery that needs to be revealed before it's too late and another, yes, another, child dies in the same family with the same nanny (Bette Davis). The thing to figure out is why she's out to kill the children of the woman she raised. The suspense is experly drawn out. It really held my interest.

  • SSSSSSSSSSSSupsenseful

    • Officer1802
    • 6/13/09

    Bette Davis is a governess-nanny for the second generation of a family. The mother of two young children was the first generation she took care of. Therefore, the mother, being so close to her own nanny, now has blinders on. She can't see that her young daughter drown as a result of the nanny's actions. Now the son is at the nanny's mercy. The questions of the suspense become will the boy live or die? Wil his mother figure out what the nanny's up to and why? I don't think that children should see this film, personally. It could make them very afraid to have a babysitter ever again. It's a great older youth, teen and adult suspense with Davis giving a chilling performance.

  • Super suspense

    • DeborahG
    • 5/21/09

    Bette Davis gives an intense but restrained performance as the nanny. Believe me, this is not the kind of nanny parents want to employ. This one had been with the family since taking care of the children's mother. She's a beloved, trusted professional, as well as part of the family. Until the next generation starts having 'accidents'. The suspense builds as Bette Davis reveals the true inclinations of her character. This not a performance to be missed.

  • Bette Davis & William Dix

    • NJMB
    • 4/30/09

    After his younger sister drowns in the bathtub while "The Nanny" (Bette Davis) is on duty, her older brother played quite well by William Dix, is terrified of the nanny. Having been in the family for two generations, having previously taken care of the children's mother, the nanny is part of the family, beloved & trusted. Believe me, she should not be. I wouldn't recommend this film for young children because it is terrifyingly realistic. Davis plays the part with exquisite ability to portray the two faces of this derranged character. It's quite a horror film.

  • Had to be a Hammer Chiller

    • Tonix
    • 4/28/09

    Know for being the filmmaking studio that drips with blood, it's no surprise that this film comes from Hammer. Gawd help the children who have this nanny! She'd be any loving parent's nightmare. Bette Davis delivers a terrific performance as the nanny who's capable of psychological manipulation of the parents & psychological torture of the child. She's also capable of murder! Not recommended for young children, obviously; unless, like the nanny, you want to terrorize them. But for everyone else, this film is a 1st rate Bette Davis chiller.

  • betty davis movie, the nanny.

    • dino
    • 8/5/07

    can this movie be purchased, and at what price.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.