skip navigation
Cool Hand Luke

Cool Hand Luke(1967)

  • Thursday, December 29 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Tuesday, January 3 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Monday, February 6 @ 08:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Cool Hand Luke A free-spirited convict... MORE > $12.97 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Cool Hand Luke

    • Michael Whitty
    • 10/26/16

    A prison story in the south as we see convicts in their cells and outdoors in the day working around the roads with an interesting Paul Newman who had an Academy Award nomination as his thoughts to be the anti-hero liven this movie. Where as Newman didn't win the Academy Award George Kennedy, one of Newman's pals in the story, did win Best Supporting Actor as George would later go on to bigger pictures. "What we've got here is failure to communicate" says prison worker Strother Martin of Newman's behavior as Martin appeared in several movies with Newman. There in the 60s movies had their anti-hero types going against establishment rule and Paul Newman and Steve McQueen were about the best at playing these characters.

  • Too Much Made Of This Film

    • nojesus
    • 2/4/16

    Yeah,Newman made a fortune as anti-heroes.Chain gangs should've been outlawed.But killing someone for a 3rd escape attempt?Prisoners seem to be bound to breakout,given opportunities.Luke's no hero,probably wouldn't make it today in prison.Harry Dean Stanton deserves much credit for his music.How many of these men have passed on since the late 60s?

  • response to daniel G

    • kevin sellers
    • 2/4/16

    Thank you for opening my eyes to the true meaning of this film. Obviously, the parking meters that Jesus(Luke) beheads are the money changers. And Jo Van Fleet is the Virgin Mary! Thank you, Daniel. I am enlightened and ever so grateful.

  • None of you got it did you.

    • Daniel G
    • 2/4/16

    Look at Luke, laying on the table, after eating fifty eggs. Tell me that's not Jesus? Dragline is St. Peter. Capn' is Pontius Pilot. (Strother Martin) The Devil is the Man With No Eyes... The list goes on and on. Let me say that I profess to be no Christian by any means...but good grief, this whole movie went right over your heads. The nuns at our local Catholic High Schools made the kids watch this one...to see if they would figure it out. NO ONE HERE DID..obvious as the nose on your face. Watch it, see what you see then just google the movie and see what others came up with... Oh and I love the movie, with or without the allegory involved. Love the southern mentality, the back grounds are great, even if it was filmed in California...it just reeks of southern chain gangs... What they gonna make us do now Luke? NUTHIN! When I worked at the road commission I used to say that at the end of a long day slingin blacktop.

  • cool hand luke

    • kevin sellers
    • 10/18/15

    Likable, typical 60s anti authority stuff. (Basically, it's the polar opposite of that classic pro authority statement of the much more conformist 1950s, "The Caine Mutiny.") Too long, though, and repetitive. ( Do there have to be TWO failed escape attempts? One would have sufficed.) Some good performances, however, with Newman solid as always as a rebel, George Kennedy quite believable as a kind of chain gang Lenny to Newman's George, and the greatest redneck character actor of all time, Strother Martin, who has the well deserved honor of speaking, to a battered Luke, one of the top 50 greatest lines in an American film. Give it a B.

  • cool hand luke

    • shawn
    • 3/21/14

    one of the best dam movies

  • One of the Greatest Movies of the 60's

    • Stanley Hearn
    • 3/19/14

    Paul Newman did many great movies in his career but he outdid himself in this movie. He also has a great supporting cast including lasting performances from Strother Martin and the Oscar winner for Best Supporting Actor George Kennedy. Not lacking also is a soundtrack that adds depth and meaning to an already great movie. Enjoyable at every level.

  • Cool Hand Luke

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-3 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-3 and 1/2 out of 5

  • A natural-born world shaker

    • Kathy Erickson
    • 4/3/13

    Cool Hand Luke is one of my all-time favorite movies. The cast, setting, and soundtrack combine to illuminate this unforgettable film.

  • Cool Hand Luke

    • Dashiell B.
    • 12/9/12

    The major film which cemented Newman's reputation as the 60's iconic anti-hero. Newman shines as the title character who refuses to conform to chain gang life, Kennedy won a Best Supporting Actor Oscar as his bully-turned-friend. A product of it's time, The story deals with rebellion & includes religious motifs, but the story falters in it's second act and waddles throughout. It's few flaws are over-shadowed by Newman's charm. I give it a 4/5.

  • Paul Newman At His Finest

    • Adventure
    • 3/12/12

    Cool Hand Luke is to me to the finest work of Paul Newman's splendid career. Jo Van Fleet in a role turned down by Bette Davis is very fine as always. btw a bit of trivia this film was produced by Newman's peer Jack Lemmon via Lemmon's Jalem Company thru Warner Bros. A Must see film

  • Cool Hand Luke(1967)

    • nshepard
    • 8/21/10

    Women LOVE Paul Newman, Enjoy this eye-candy festival of ole blue eyes sans shirt. Film of a directionless rebel, but women LOVE Paul Newman, so enjoy.

  • A Rebel With a Cause.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 8/21/10

    Paul Newman is in rare form in one of the greatest performances of his glorious career as he stars in the title of Lukas Jackson, a member of a Southern chain gang, who defies the authority of the prison system. George Kennedy gives an Oscar-winning performance as "Dragline", a fellow inmate, who challenges Luke to an egg-eating contest. Strother Martin is the ruthless prison warden, who growls the movie's most famous line, "What we have here is...a failure to communicate." Donn Pearce, who co-wrote the adapted screenplay with Frank R. Pierson based on his own best-seller, spent two years on a chain gang himself for two years. A perfect cast for a perfect prison movie. Don't miss the scene in which Joy Harmon sexually teases the convicts with an equally sexy car wash. Also starring J.D. Cannon, Lou Antonio, Robert Drivas, Jo Van Fleet, Clifton James, Morgan Woodward, Dennis Hopper, Harry Dean Stanton, Anthony Zerbe, Ralph Waite, Wayne Rogers, Luke Askew, Robert Donner, Marc Cavell, Charles Tyner, John McLiam, Richard Davalos, Warren Finnerty & Buck Kartalian.

  • Newman's Best

    • Vinny Castellano
    • 3/14/10

    Paul Newman is at his best as the unlucky loner Luke Jackson. His performance, along with a talented supporting cast and excellent script, make Cool Hand Luke one of the greatest movies ever. From the light-hearted egg-eating contest to the poignant conversation with his dying mother, Newman once again shows his ability and range as an actor. The messages about religion, freedom, and abuse of power make this 60s movie relevant for any decade. Newman's performance was worthy of an Oscar. - (one of many he didn't get)

  • 50 Eggs In One Hour!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/17/10

    "Cool Hand Luke" is one of my all-time favorite Paul Newman films. He gives a powerful performance as Luke Jackson, a non-conformist who does whatever he wants and shakes up a Southern chain gang with his defiance of authority and rebellious attitude. The scene where Luke bets the other inmates that he can eat 50 hard boiled eggs in one hour (and actually does it!) is an all-time classic. Newman should have won the best actor Oscar that year (1967), but George Kennedy won for best supporting actor as the chain gang leader Dragline in a very good perfromance. To me "Cool Hand Luke" reflects the anti-establishment and anti-authority attitude of the 1960's. Excellent-four stars.

  • Cool Hand Luke

    • Pat Turman
    • 2/5/10

    I defy anyone to watch this movie and not become an instantaneous Paul Newman fan.

  • One of THE great American films

    • Bobby Mack
    • 12/26/07

    Probably my favorite movie of all. A film rich in story, symbolism, and terrific performances. A much deserved supporting actor Oscar for George Kennedy, but Paul Newman was stiffed for the best actor award (again.) I considered Newman's performance as one of the all time greats.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.