skip navigation
Wait Until Dark

Wait Until Dark(1967)

  • Saturday, February 28 @ 10:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Thursday, March 26 @ 02:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Wait Until Dark A blind woman fights against... MORE > $7.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • EXCELLENT FILM!

    • lisa petrocca
    • 8/22/14

    Loved this film since I was a teen. Watching it with my Mother. Never miss it. Story is fascinating. Actiing is SUPERB! A MUST SEE! Alan Arkin is great at being pure evil!

  • Wait Until Dark

    • Carla
    • 12/16/12

    Very suspensful and intriging. I loved this movie years ago as a teenager. I thought the apartment was designed perfectly for a modern couple back then. The whole signaling with blinds and the phone calls, and not ever knowing anything from her husband, keeps you guessing! You just want to scream at the TV.."Pick up your cell phone!!" Funny. But Miss Audry was excellent and stayed so cool while being petrified in her own home.

  • Wait until Dark

    • billy
    • 10/16/12

    I am so addicted to this movie. Never saw it when it came out in 67. I was a junior in high school and somehow missed it. Everytime it's shown on TV I have to watch it. Alan Arkin Is BRILLIANT possibly his best role ever. Hepburn is also at her best playing the role of the blind girl. This is suspense/thriller at its best!

  • Excellent Adaptation of Stage Suspenser

    • Michael L.
    • 10/15/12

    This adaptation of Frederick Knott's successful stage play, starring Lee Remick, is superb in just about every way. I can think of very few characters, in films, more menacing and horrifying than Alan Arkin's "Mr. Roat". And Audrey Hepburn makes a great "Suzie". In fact, everyone turns in a great performance. I give credit to director Terence Young for creating the claustrophobic staging of the Greenwich Village basement apartment. Although this film may seem tame to most viewers today, it still hangs in there as one of the best suspense films.

  • Coming of Age

    • Bette Oveson Arial
    • 7/28/12

    In my senior year, 1967, the young people in our sprawling, western town, gathered at a large, stand-alone, art deco theater, to socialize as much as watch a movie. I watched Wait Until Dark with a date and was so frightened, that I held his hard very hard and hid my head in his neck. Audrey Hepburn was classy, believable and so real. It was a perfect movie for budding romance. One of my all-time favorites!

  • Classic Suspense Film

    • Michael
    • 7/12/12

    Audrey Hepburn deserved her Oscar nomination for this film; and Alan Arkin is one of the creepiest antagonists in any film I've seen.

  • Super Scary Thriller

    • Bruce Reber
    • 9/19/11

    "Wait Until Dark" (Warner Bros. 1967) is a taut and intense woman-in-danger/woman-being-menaced thriller a la "Sorry Wrong Number" with Barbara Stanwyck and "Julie" with Doris Day. Audrey Hepburn plays Suzy Hendrix, a blind woman who's terrorized by three crooks (played by Alan Arkin, Richard Crenna and Jack Weston) searching for a heroin-filled doll hidden in her apartment while her photographer husband Sam (Efrem Zimbalist Jr.) is away on his job. The final scene where Suzy is being stalked by Roat in the dark apartment after she's stabbed him is one of the scariest of all time. Hepburn earned a Best Actress Oscar nomination for her performance (the last of her career I believe), and she didn't make another film for nearly a decade. Efrem Zimbalist Jr. (Sam) was having success on TV in "The F.B.I.", Alan Arkin (Roat) had starred the previous year in the comedy "The Russians Are Coming, The Russians Are Coming!", Jack Weston (Carlino) co-starred with Steve McQueen the same year in "The Thomas Crown Affair", and Hepburn starred in another 1967 film "Two For The Road". I have a VHS recording from TCM of "Wait Until Dark", and hope to have the DVD soon.

  • Wait Until Dark (1967)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/19/11

    While Audrey Hepburn does a good job in this fairly engrossing (if offbeat) thriller, her supporting cast members aren't anywhere near as convincing, and they come off as more silly than sinister. The script is pretty decent but the direction and cinematography are weak and dull, making the movie feel more like a cheap '70s flick than a classic '60s film. The dispassionate soundtrack doesn't help, either. With a better director at the helm - and with more experienced character actors in the supporting/antagonist roles - this movie could have been a memorable classic like "Dial 'M' For Murder" or "Rear Window."

  • Wait Until Dark(1967)

    • Bruce
    • 9/18/11

    Wow! This movie has me glued to the TV. My first ever viewing. I am askingwhere did this come from? 1960 era romanticism, with a superb cast! It is a thrill a minute type mystery. Intelligently played. A must see thriller-mystery. Am so glad I flipped to TCM when I got home.

  • wait until dark

    • matthew
    • 9/18/11

    i love this movie the end is my favorite part technology sure changed over the year i have most of her movies some boks

  • Wait until Dark

    • Ray Sverson
    • 6/16/11

    This is one of the best thrillers ever made for the screen. Hepburn makes us feel as vulnerable & trapped as she is in this film. Alan Arkin sends chills down the spines and may cause premature bowel movements in this film. Yes, he's that terrifiing. The famous climax caused me to jump 3' in the air and fall on my face, I've never been more scared before. To sum up, this is a scary, suspenceful masterpiece.

  • don't forget alan arkin

    • ed cohen
    • 12/11/10

    "Wait Until Dark" is perhaps the most intelligent thriller since "Psycho". Audrey Hepburn was fantastic, with a great supporting cast including Richard Crenna and Jack Weston. What I cannot believe is that nobody even mentioned Alan Arkin's name. He just came off doing "The Russians are Coming", in which he played a sympathetic character in a comical role. Here he is now, playing a psychotic drug dealer in what may be his best performance ever. I am a big Alan Arkin fan, and he may possibly be the most underrated actor of all time. His performance in this movie was as good, if not better, than Hepburn's. He deserves to be mentioned and recognized as an extremely talented actor. All one has to do is examine his body of work.

  • Hepburn at her best

    • Christina
    • 10/3/10

    As a die hard Audrey Hepburn of course I would say she is excellent in everything. Wait Unitl Dark proves me wrong Ms. Hepburn was absolutely brilliant in this movie. The suspense that is built until the ending climax is just thrilling. I recommend anyone who loves a good thriller to sit back and be prepared to enjoy and have a good scare with Wait Until Dark.

  • a. hepburn amazing

    • Nadia
    • 9/19/10

    This movie is an amazing example of Audrey Hepburn's flexibility as an actor. She portrays a blind woman who finds herself involved in a murder mystery. Almost the entirety of the film takes place in her apartment. Hepburn is amazing and the eerie soundtrack puts a cherry on top!

  • Wait Until Dark

    • Art
    • 9/19/10

    Generally I am not a big fan of thrillers. "Wait Until Dark" is the extreme exception. Audrey Hepburn's performance is flawless. As I sat in a first-run performance in Kansas City, I hardly blinked. Four of us were on a double date, and I remember the moment Tricia (above) must be talking about. The entire theater screamed and jumped in unison...except for me. After the movie, my friends asked how I could sit through that without flinching, and I just shrugged casually, "No big deal." The truth was that I was frozen in absolute terror! I can't wait to see it again and share it with my fearless 16 year-old son, tonight!

  • Wait Until Dark (1967)

    • James Higgins
    • 12/27/09

    Very tense and exciting thriller, helped tremendously by the presence of Audrey Hepburn, who is excellent. The plot isn't as strong as it should be, but it has such a good pace and atmosphere, it can easily be overlooked.

  • Wow!

    • Annie
    • 6/1/08

    This is a really great and suspenseful movie. They just don't make 'em like this anymore. All the actors are great. I highly recommend it! I also love the theme song. I believe it's called "Theme for Three" by Henry Mancini. Truly great.

  • Suspense!

    • Tricia
    • 1/20/08

    I was 19 when it came out. It was nail-biting, edge-of-your-seat action.I screamed one time when the would-be killer grabbed Suzie with his bloody hand and the entire theater jumped! It was great.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.