skip navigation
High Noon

High Noon(1952)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

High Noon A retired Marshal must defend... MORE > $12.97 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • High Noon..Great film

    • Bob Pomeroy
    • 2/1/17

    It has been so long since I have seen it. PLEASE play it.

  • He was all Alone

    • Jon F
    • 5/13/16

    His Friends? They all deserted Kane, when he needed help. He reached out, but was turned down. No unlike some real life experiences.

  • high noon

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/27/15

    I pretty much agree with the standard criticism that this is the favorite western of people who hate westerns. Great song, though.

  • High Noon and Gary Cooper First Rate

    • Delia
    • 1/29/14

    Gary Cooper is a good guy lawman who must stand alone when a gang of thugs come to kill him. This movie is SO much about how people talk a good game, but really don't show up at game time. GC knows the bad guys are coming and enlists the help of every male in the town. All of them punk out for one lame reason or another so that Gary has to go it alone when the bell tolls. But wait! Grace Kelly decides to Stand by Her Man (thanks, Tammy Wynette!) and turns out to be a deadeye shot. Really an homage to the difference between a coward and a real man/real woman. When Gary & Grace head out of town at the end, you know they ain't ever comin' back! Excellent.

  • High Noon

    • John
    • 8/3/13

    Overall- 4 and 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-5/5Director-5/5Score-2/5Titles-2/5Screenplay-4/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-5/5

  • The date of the High Noon gunfight

    • Kent Jordan
    • 4/24/13

    The fight was on Sunday, June 26th, 1898. Several clues in the beginning of the picture circuitously indicates that is the date. Most descriptions of the movie suggests the 1870's or 1880's. However, the handsome two story building that may be a hotel has a 1888 date on the gable so it is apparent that it is after that date. In the marshal's office is a small poster stating "war is declared". The only war declared around that time was the Spanish-American War declared on April 25. 1898. And at the train station the station manager is writing down the telegram that Frank Miller is coming in on the noon train, there is a calender over his left shoulder with the 26th printed on it. We know it was a Sunday and the only 26th in the summer of 1898 was in June. Also, it is reported that it took place in New Mexico which did not become a state until 1912 and N.M. was still wild and lawless in the 1890's.

  • An Aristotilian Drama

    • Robert Dorff
    • 8/28/12

    Carl Foreman's screenplay is a testament to the precepts of Aristotilian drama. Specifically, UNITY OF TIME AND PLACE. Also, its recurrent emphasis on the central THEME -- In this case: law and order, cannot survive without the support of the populace. An unusual preachment for a Western.

  • High Noon

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/21/12

    An exciting, intelligentally- made western. Cooper gives the literal performance of a lifetime, conveying agony & elegance with ease, great early performance from Kelly. Real-time conveys the approaching menace & the Oscar-winning score and song are appropriate in most scenes. A film that could have easily won a Best Picture Academy Award over De Mille's "The Greatest Show on Earth." I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Excellent Classic

    • Richard
    • 11/11/09

    I''ve always thought that this was and is a great movie. One man.......alone, standing up for what's right.....and all that he has going for him is that he is right. To the people who put labels on this movie like "un-American", "Communist", "witch-hunt", etc., etc., etc........I say, "Get a life"! It's a movie!!!!!!!! Maybe you people THINK TOO MUCH!!!!!!!!

  • Excellent Movie about a strong individual.

    • spunkylubbock
    • 11/5/09

    I've seen all the controversial comments about this film but I've always enjoyed it at face value & don't read a lot of political stuff into it. Sit back and enjoy it!

  • Still controversial but dated film

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 9/2/09

    High Noon continues to represent the frustrations of sidelined screenwriters and Hollywood talent accused of being 'red.' It's a heavy-handed offering that attempts to co-opt its audience into thinking that an abandoned marshal should experience glory in his final moments with evil. What occurs to me is that the screenwriter was indeed blacklisted but most of the actors (lead actors as well as supporting cast) continued to work in Hollywood after its release. Was it prestigious to be part of such a project, but not be too subversive that you didn't get blacklisted, too? I continue to think this is an irresponsible piece of propaganda masquerading as Americana. We must also note that the story is depicted in a very American genre, the western. There's a reason the message wasn't presented as a horror flick in which the marshal was a policeman trying to deal with scared people and aliens. Why? Well, that would be considered camp and would not earn an Academy Award and make enough of an artistic and philosophical statement.

  • A great movie about human nature

    • Leonardo
    • 8/22/09

    It's incredible to see how some people here insist on the bulshit about the movie being "anti-american". The story is about how human nature really is, about fear and what really happens when we most need people. It is a beautiful story that was awarded because of its kindnes and smartness. The role of Cooper was not about the traditional "hero" who's not afraid of anyone or anything, but a man like anyone else who feels he has a duty to protect people. Definely, the difficulty to deal with what is different and this stupid thought of thinking everything has to be "american" or "anti-american" is tragic and stop people from thinking for themselves.

  • Un-American film

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 8/9/09

    I watched the film without prejudice..and waited to research the background of it before I rendered my own judgment. Throughout the viewing, I kept thinking, this is NOT an American film. It seems very eastern European...and not at all conventional. It is set in the old American west but it's an allegory for contemporary blacklisting and not a true western. I like the pacing of the film and some of the visuals are impressive, but it drags and is boring until the last ten minutes...but even then, the confrontation between Cooper and the baddies is played quickly and even Grace Kelly's killing scene is too tidy and quick. The only thing I really liked about the film was Grace Kelly's costuming and make-up. She looks sensational. While I don't like ignorance and bashing, I can see why John Wayne disliked the film so much. I don't blame him...I don't really like it, either. The music is silly and I would've preferred silence in the scenes where Cooper's marshall character walks the street. The quick and quiet ending is supposed to make us think but it all seems too heavy-handed.

  • Not really a Western

    • Sam Pell
    • 7/30/09

    To me High Noon is not a Western it is a story as contemporary today as it was in 1870 or 1952. A story of a man whose character will not let him walk away from his duty. Place this tale in your office, your school, your community or internationally. There is a bully who threatens the acceptable order. Everyone knows the bully will change what everyone worked hard to achieve, but noone is willing to risk challenging the bully--not the deputy, not the judge, not the business community, not the church and certainly not the politician--not even his new wife. Everyone urges the hero to just leave and everything will be alright: in fact maybe they will be better off! Plus many in the community really didn't like him anyway, as the hotel clerk rationalizes, he is too aloof or arrogant. The symbolism of this movie is wonderful. Gary Cooper's expressions of vulnerability, self-doubt and fear are absolutely terrific. I can't imagine John Wayne in this role, and I think it might have ruined his career. Wayne built his personna on not showing those emotions.The comment about this being a Communist propaganda film strikes me as pure rubbish. To me this film represents the essence of American idealism, take a stand against the bully who threatens peace and order, when noone else is willing to. But remember you will probably not be thanked for it so just move on.

  • High Noon (1952)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/29/09

    A fine western, but I also feel it is an overrated film. Gary Cooper is very good, the screenplay is excellent, nice pacing. It has some tense moments. It's hard to believe that theme song won an Oscar.

  • You don't think---

    • Whisper
    • 7/26/09

    You don't think that the script writer, Carl Foreman actually meant that Marshall Will Kane is a product of the type of hero that the Soviet Union produces and that the towns people are the type of cowards that America produces. Oh no! That is to far fetched. Speaking of cowards, we now know why Carl left America a hurry!

  • The American Way

    • Minky
    • 7/26/09

    I couldn't agree more with Jack The Hat's assessment. If this film is supposed to be anti-war (Korean) it failed miserably. The towns people, I assume are the peace activist and are portrayed as cowards, where by Marshall Will Kane is willing to stand by his principals and fight for what he believes is right, even if it cost him, his life and against over whelming odds -- isn't that the American way?

  • Pro-Communist

    • Jack The Hat
    • 7/26/09

    According to what I read, John Wayne turned down this film because it was promoting Communist thought. It would not be unexpected knowing Hollywood. I just do not know where the Hollywood message comes in at? Actually, it states very clearly that the criminal element in this film was supposed to be hung but had his sentence commuted and then finally freed to kill again. This sounds more like a conservative message promoting the reason for and the continuation of capital punishment.

  • High Noon is overrated!!

    • Pat Turman
    • 5/6/09

    High Noon is a good drama but it's not a good western because the premise isn't credible. He goes around town trying to find deputies from the townsfolk? That's why he's the sherrif!! They hired a sherrif to fight so they wouldn't have to! If you study western history, you'll find that was the arrangement made in every community that was beyond the long arm of the law. Plus there is no outdoor photography in the whole movie. Any authentic western has to contain photography of the wilderness that the characters were a part of.

  • BEST WESTERN EVER

    • Bruce Reber
    • 2/28/08

    High Noon is much more than a fine Western; it is a story of standing up for your beliefs and principles even when everyone else disagrees with what you are doing. It also differs from many Westerns because it avoids the usual cliches in both plot and characters. The film gives the viewer a sense of approaching danger and shows the desperation of Will Kane being unable to convince the townspeople that facing the outlaws is not only his fight but theirs also. The photography is very stark and the story is told in real time unlike other Westerns.I recommend High Noon to anyone who has not seen it not only as a Western but as one of the all time best films ever.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.