skip navigation
Operation Petticoat

Operation Petticoat(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Operation Pettic... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Operation Petticoat (1959)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 10/19/14

    A standard military comedy, seriously dated, with an overly long running time, and all the patently sedate "humor" you'd expect in a sub-par Cary Grant flick. For superior Grant comedy with a military bent, check out "Father Goose", "I Was A Male War Bride", "Once Upon A Honeymoon", and even "Gunga Din" instead.

  • jGreaat movie

    • Sue
    • 1/8/13

    I watched this as a kid, and try to watch when played. Would like to see this released. They don't make movies like this anymore

  • operation petticoat

    • stephen
    • 11/11/12

    I watched this movie along with Father Goose when I was a young lad and I loved both of them.I like watching them now so I can relive memories from my childhood

  • When I need to laugh

    • Greg Saunders
    • 5/18/11

    Operation Petticoat is a film I can watch over and over, especially when I need a good laugh. Grant and Curtis are great together. And with a fine supporting cast, it's a boat load of fun.

  • Operation Petticoat

    • Mobile
    • 2/13/11

    As the tale goes Tony Curtis always idolized Cary Grant and employed a sendup of Mr. Grant in the classic Some Like It Hot so he finally worked with him in this very good farce.

  • Straight up laughs

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 1/30/10

    The film seems like a forerunner to military-themed TV sitcoms. Cary Grant and Tony Curtis are great, and the situations (which are based on real-life incidents in the U.S. Navy) are truly funny. The plot concerns men who must learn to bunk with women, instead of each other; five of them find their lifelong female companions. And the sequence at the end of the film is more than a bit erotic when the women are required to take their undergarments off in order to save the men. It's an interesting group of actors for this type of story, especially given the fact that Cary Grant was rumored to have had an affair with Randolph Scott for many years; Tony Curtis was public about his bisexuality; and costar Dick Sargent (of 'Bewitched' fame) was gay.

  • Operation Petticoat (1959)

    • Jay
    • 1/20/09

    Very amusing military comedy, helped out immeasurably by the presence of Cary Grant. Tony Curtis also is fine in one of his better roles. Good harmless fun, very entertaining. It is a little overlong however.

  • FUN & FUNNY!

    • linsalwnw
    • 7/15/08

    Cary Grant & Tony Curtis are wonderful together in this movie. They play off each other flawlessly with hilarious results. Many laugh out loud jokes and scenes. I became a Tony Curtis fan after watching this movie (I was ALWAYS a Cary Grant fan.)

    • Jimmy Cisneros
    • 1/26/07

    The greatest film I have ever seen in my life.

  • A very "colorful" comedy....

    • FrankieCee
    • 12/25/06

    Hilarious romp aboard a WWII submarine in which the war itself is merely an incidental "backdrop" to all the chaotic shenanigans, aboard ship. As Cary Grant tries to "pit his wits" against a conniving hustler, Tony Curtis, Mr. Grant soon realizes that he no longer has any wits left to "pit" with, lol. This film is very entertaining and the fulfillment of a personal dream of Tony Curtis', to act in a film with his screen "idol", Cary Grant. Both, turn in some very enjoyable performances, as do the supporting actors. A delightful film for all ages.

  • Best of All Times

    • Betty Marciano
    • 8/28/06

    I loved this movie. I've seen it a dozen times and I never get bored.

  • Good funny movie...

    • Kenny Piper
    • 6/23/06

    I've probably seen this movie about 10 times over the years and each time it's always a delight.I highly recommend this movie and after watching it you will too.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.