skip navigation
Pride of the Marines

Pride of the Marines(1945)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Pride of the Marines A blinded Marine tries to... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A real war story

    • denscul
    • 12/6/13

    Any resemblance between war, and war films is strictly coincidental. Ask any combat vet. However, this film goes a long way to showing that even with medals and accolades, a lot of people killed and perhaps even worse, disabled for life. That's when the real personal war begins. This film ranks with Best Years of Our Lives. The fact that Pride of Marines was made during WWII was a gutsy decision because it was not like most of the films made during the war, which were aimed at recruiting, and not scaring the hell about the realities of war.Garfield was great, and its too bad, that not all the wives and girl friends were as accepting what happened to their loved ones when they came home. Eleanor Parker played the role perfect. Not overdone, not melodramatic. The fact that she was drop dead beautiful, and could have found many men who returned whole, yet stuck by her man, was inspirational. And that perhaps was the real rational for making this film, which was preparing a nation to accept the men home, who had sacrificed their lives and limbs.

  • Rare film re the war wounded!

    • RedRain
    • 3/4/13

    Because my brother treats, at Bethesda Naval Hospital, our returning soldiers from Aghanistan who have traumatic injuries, this film truly resonates with me. Few films tell the stories of what our wounded soldiers feel and go through on their return from war. Garfield is magnificent as the returning wounded soldier who has so much pride that he wants help from nobody. The beautiful Eleanor Parker, as the woman who loves him, turns in an excellent performance here. This war and our traumatically injured soldiers are no different than all the other wars but we simply don't see or hear about this brave men and women and what they go through. I watch this film as a reminder to keep these soldiers close in our hearts and minds.

  • Pride of the Marines

    • Phil
    • 2/12/13

    From start to finish, the 20 or so minutes of actual battle scenes in this movie (because of the dialogue, riveting action, small details, eerie scene qualities, etc.) are considered by film historians and vetsof the conflict to be possibly the most realistic Pacific War battle re-enactment ever made. Unfortunately the rest of the movie is dated and sometimes corny. Hospital scenes come across a bit too tidy and pleasant as well. But throughout, John Garfield, the eternal underdog, is fun to watch with his signature "everyman" screen persona.

  • Pride of the Marines (1945)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/10/12

    Some intense scenes. Good work by Garfield.

  • pride of the marines

    • barbara
    • 9/2/11

    Loved the movie, I watch it every times it comes on TV. The opening scenes of Philly are great. But then John Garfield is my favorite actor. What ever happened to Al Schmitt's son. A long time ago there was an article on hime and his father in a local paper.

  • Pride of the Marines (1945)

    • James Higgins
    • 4/11/10

    Powerful war film, which focuses more on the wounded soldiers adapting to life after returning home that it does on the war itself. It is melodramatic, but it needs to be to make it's point. The performances are outstanding by everyone in the cast. John Garfield and Eleanor Parker are excellent in the leads. Rosemary DeCamp, John Ridgely, Ann Todd and Dane Clark provide great support. It is a great and inspiring story, and that story was nominated for an Academy Award. Good direction by Delmer Daves. It has a very creative dream sequence. It was an important film in it's time and paved the way for the similar The Best Years of Our Lives.

  • I would love to have a copy of this film....

    • Barbara Merchant
    • 5/23/09

    The first time I watched this movie, my husband told me that his mother and father were in the film, I laughed. But it's true.....Jim Merchant and Ella Mae Merchant are his parents and Loretta is his sister. His father passed away in the early 60's but his mother (92 years old) and sister are still alive and well in New Jersey. Every time my husband watches the movie he just lights up. If anyone can tell me how I can get a copy on DVD, I would greatly appreciate it.

  • Lee Diamond

    • Michael
    • 5/16/09

    It gives me great pride to write that Lee Diamond, who is portrayed by Dane Clark in the movie, is a friend of mine. Lee is 91 years old and is doing alright for a man of his age. I'm looking forward to watching the movie with him.The movie can be purchased at http://www.wbshop.com/Pride-Of-The-Marines-+EST-MOD/1000100799,default,pd.html?cgid=ARCHIVE.

  • Thinking of my Great Uncle

    • Linda
    • 5/10/09

    This movie reminds me so much of my Great Uncle George Berwanger. He was also in the landing on Guadalcanal with the 1st Marine Division. A Sgt. as well. My Mother and he had a special bond for Uncle and Niece. She kept all of his letters which I've read, and he was one great guy, funny, sweet, etc. We too are German, and from Northeast Philly. Whether he and Schmid ever met would be pure conjecture. But, UncleGeorge was the subject of a bookas well, based on the account of a patrol. It was written by a war correspondent who went on the patrol. I have a copy to this day. It's no longer in print but can be found online. Uncle George was gut shot by a sniper on that patrol, and never came home. The gentleman brought a copy to my Grandmother, his sister, (parents already deceased) when the war was over. It was a great kindness. He is buried somewhere on Guadalcanal, and is noted on the memorial in the Phillipines. So you can see why this movie has a special place in my heart. I do so hope it will be placed onto DVD someday soon. God Bless all Service People.

  • What about?

    • William Rivers Freedman
    • 4/11/09

    What about the other two men in the machine gun crew? Al Schmid wasn't alone that hot August night. There were two men with him. P.F.C. John Rivers(of Native American Heritage), who was awarded the Navy Cross posthumously and Corporal Lee Diamond(A Jew)another Navy Cross recipient. Guess because of the prejudices of the time their contributions were either pushed aside or forgotten. The actors who protrayed them weren't mentioned in this review! Some things will never change.

  • great moral movie

    • rocco
    • 12/19/08

    Not being born when this movie was made,yet I could only imagine how people saw this film, and stood up an cheer,It made you want to join the service and fight for your country. a great movie for the moral of the country.

  • GREAT!

    • bailey
    • 10/16/08

    As a former Marine, I can say, this movie says it all.

  • Pride of The Marines

    • Craig Brewster
    • 2/29/08

    The Philadelphia Navy Yard and the the old Marine Barracks still stand today.

  • Pride Of The Marines

    • Craig Brewster
    • 2/29/08

    The story of a real hero was well done. John Garfield was a good actor.

  • Outstanding action scenes

    • Ray
    • 7/4/07

    One of the best action scenes of the Pacific fighting that I've ever seen in a movie. It rates with Saving Private Ryan when the troops are landing on Omaha Beach during D-Day.

  • John Garfield: one of the best!

    • o.a.c.
    • 12/18/06

    This film tells the true story of marine Al Schmidt a WWII hero. Great acting by a great cast that includes Eleanor Parker and Dane Clark. Filmed in N.E. Phila. where I lived at the time.

  • Best war movie

    • Bob
    • 4/14/06

    This is a great movie and a true story.

  • loved that mivie

    • barbara harper
    • 3/5/06

    i want to say that i loved pride of the marines and john garfield in it. besides that it is a true story

  • Fine film

    • Lori
    • 2/4/06

    A fine film that I can't find ANYWHERE!

  • Pride of the Marines

    • Todd
    • 1/23/06

    Pride of the Marines is one of the finest war films ever made. John Garfield as a blinded marine adusting to life on the outside. Dane Clark and Eleanor Parker in supporting roles are just great. It is about time that this classic is released on dvd and it deserves a prime time showing on tcm.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.