skip navigation
Jailhouse Rock

Jailhouse Rock(1957)

  • Sunday, December 28 @ 09:45 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, January 7 @ 05:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Jailhouse Rock After learning to play the... MORE > $43.98 Regularly $43.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Jailhouse Rock ~Elvis's Best

    • Dana 58
    • 11/14/12

    Without a doubt, Elvis is in rare form, a real delight, the plot is without a doubt an excellent drama, that only Elvis could play. A Classic in every way!

  • Jailhouse Rock

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/8/12

    The iconic film starring the "King of Rock 'n' Roll." Presley's singing & acting is the driving force behind this film. The story was irregular at times which put me off. But these complaints are weak because this is Presley's film to the end. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Dancin' to the Jailhouse Rock

    • mike
    • 1/12/11

    The King of Rock and Roll at his most rebellous. Elvis plays an avereage Joe who is convicted of manslaughter and is sent to prison. He meets up with Hunk (MIckey Shaughnessy) a musical has been who teaches him about music, but also how to survive prison. Upon his release, Elvis teams up with a record company executive (Judy Tyler) to start up a singing career. The path to stradom is hard especially when you have to deal with crooked record producers. Elvis turns inot a top flight singer, and top notch SOB in the process. Hunk re-enters the scene to give Elvis his comeuppance. The kind of film tht Elvis could have made later on before Col. Parker screwed things up.

  • Early Elvis Rocker

    • Bruce Reber
    • 5/5/09

    I saw "Jailhouse Rock" again Sunday night 5/3/09 and it is probably the best of Elvis' 50' films. He had just made a smash in 1956 with his appearance on national TV and touring, and with his hit songs Don't Be Cruel, Hound Dog, Heartbreak Hotel and others. He had an energy, charisma and signing ability that has not been matched by any rock singer since, nor ever will be. I think TCM should show more of his films and also have a SOTM tribute to Elvis (maybe January 2010, which would have been his 75th birthday). I have seen almost all of his films and have heard nearly all of his songs. There will never be another Elvis Presley. Long live the King!!!

  • El at His Best

    • Maurice
    • 6/17/08

    This film (in my opinion)is the best movie Elvis made.The plot and storyline were great..The songs were some of the best he recorded.."Young & Beautiful" is a timeless song..

  • MORE ELVIS!!!!!!!

    • Brianna
    • 8/20/07

    Diana is right we need to see more of the "KING OF ROCK AND ROLL". We love his acting ability. Also his good looks. please show the ones you didn't show. I never seen all of his movies and I want to see everyone of them.

  • We need to have more Elvis at TCM

    • Diana
    • 3/31/06

    I am among millions of Elvis fans and I would like to see more Elvis on TCM. He brought so much enjoyment and happiness to so many.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.