skip navigation
Guess Who's Coming to Dinner

Guess Who's Coming to Dinner(1967)

  • Monday, January 19 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Thursday, February 19 @ 05:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Guess Who's Coming to Dinner An aging couple's liberal... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Overshoots the mark

    • muriel
    • 5/12/13

    I was raised in a very tolerant household, so I expected to like it. Romance and groundbreaking and all that. But this film just beats you over the head with the message. Sheesh. Hard to watch.

  • Guess Who?

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/23/13

    I love Mr. Poitier and the entire cast. This was such a ground breaking movie when it appeared. I loved Hepburn and Tracy all the time. What a pair! The supporting cast was great and enjoyable. Thoughtful and fun film too. I think this is a film for the entire family.

  • Guess Who's Coming to Dinner - 1967 version

    • Heather Martin
    • 11/12/12

    This is an overall exceptional film. Mr. Kramer and Mr. Rose made a movie that really makes you think about your own prejudices and how society views certain people.

  • Guess Who's coming to Dinner?

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/1/12

    The greatest film of Kramer's career is this successful dramadey which has the final pairing of Hepburn & Tracy. A young woman brings home her black fiance to her parents, whose principal's are tested by their arrival. Poitier & Houghton are great as the lovers, Tracy's final film earned him a posthumous Oscar nomination, Hepburn won her second Academy Award and Kellaway & Richards were nominated as well. The story still has relevance, it's message against racism is toned-down & the story seems always optimistic. Every person with a TV should watch this. I give it a 5/5.

  • Great

    • Doris Boozer
    • 10/27/12

    Wonderful movie I love Sidney I love all his movies

  • Guess Who's Coming To Dinner

    • A.S. Dyer
    • 5/12/12

    I truly well performed, and moving, speech by Tracy to close out this classic motion picture. ASD

  • Important film

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/13/11

    This movie gets to the heart of all outdated ways of thought -- which is that the next generation moves toward progress with optimism, while the older generation, having not seen enough progress in their time is wary with pessimism. Even the liberal-minded Spencer Tracy character, who is a proponent of change and the betterment of mankind, knowing the world as he does, is worried for his daughter's future happiness when she falls for Sidney Poitier's character. Great acting by Tracy, Hepburn, and the supporting cast. Poitier's scene with his father - telling him that the older generation owes everything to their sons and daughters that they are responsible for bringing into this world, and they, in return owe them nothing - is so true and brilliantly said.

  • One of the Great Landmark Films of the 1960s.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 1/3/10

    Spencer Tracy and Katharine Hepburn make their last film together, as they star opposite Sidney Poitier in Stanley Kramer's landmark masterful study of interracial marriages and society's prejudices. Tracy and Hepburn play an aged couple, whose liberal views are put to the test, when their daughter, played by Hepburn's real-life niece, Katharine Houghton, announces her engagement to a black doctor (Poitier), and both families must face each other and examine each other's level of intolerance. Brilliantly written by William Rose, who won an Academy Award for Best Original Screenplay, and Ms. Hepburn won her second Oscar as Best Actress. Also starring Cecil Kellaway, Isabel Sanford, Roy E. Glenn, Sr., Beah Richards, Virginia Christine, Skip Martin, Barbara Randolph, John Hudkins, Grace Gaynor & Alexandra Hay. Spencer Tracy died on June 10, 1967.

  • Guess Who's Coming to Dinner (1967)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 9/30/09

    A first rate and very poignant drama. What a cast. Sadly, the last teaming of Katharine Hepburn and Spencer Tracy. Incredibly well written, nicely directed, great costumes and score, well edited. Beah Richards is particularly good. She gives a magnificently subtle performance. Hepburn and Tracy are of course incredible, Sidney Poitier gives one of his best performances. A truly great film.

  • Simply the Best

    • rodney
    • 11/28/08

    Anyone who knows anything about movies and the flow in which they are presented must admit that this film has some of the best or if not the best dialogue and camera work ever. The way that Mr Kramer (director) presents each scene and the dialogue between all of the cast is absolutely breath taking with the top 3 at their very best. The subtle exchanges between Poitier's character and Ms. Houghton's is very underated for it's time. Racism was still very active at this time and the way he (Kramer) is able to incorporate innocent touch and feel between the two is remarkable. You must pay attention to their exchanges to really see it. Also the way each character is able to dialogue with the other individual characters alone transcends the movie to where you are able to feel and understand each of their individual thoughts and deepest feelings. It is masterfully presented and very underrated. Katherine Houghton to me is the vehicle that drives all of the other characters to react to her innocence and she does not get enough credit for her ability to carry it the entire movie. Tracy and Hepburn are the best. The only thing I hoped could happen would have been a sequel with their lives after the marriage but I would not have wanted it to happen without Mr Tracy as the father.

  • One of the greatest performance ever

    • Karen
    • 11/10/08

    I became fascinated with the on/off screen couple Tracy and Hepburn. I was so excited when TCM decided to show this film. The movie is very ahead of its time and brilliantly presented the controversy of interracial couples. The scene that moved my heart is the speech given by Mr. Tracy. It was not only a magnificent script, but perhaps his declaration to all about his undying love for Ms. Hepburn. Never have I seen more adoration and confirmation of love than the looks Mr. Tracy and Ms. Hepburn shared during this final movie they made together.

  • Ms. Hepburn and Mr. Tracy: A Love Story

    • David Atkins
    • 8/16/08

    Stanley Kramer tackled great thorny subjects in his career such as the Nazi evil in "Judgement at Nuremburg", greed in "Its A Mad Mad Mad World" etc and had a working relationship with the screens finest actor Spencer Tracy, rarely has their been a Director-Actor team that worked so well, so seamlessly, so memorably.Spencer Tracy was an ill man in the mid 1960's and Kramer presented a story to Tracy of racial Integration and together they made movie history in this Columbia film. As is now part of movie lore, Mr. Tracy had a lifelong relationship with another legendary star Katharine Hepburn, and together for the last time this great movie team along with Sidney Poitier made a movie classic. Superbly cast with a fine roster of supporting players, the final scene with Tracy talking about love and his long time love for his wife -played by Miss Hepburn,is one of the greatest scenes in movie history. Only the most jaded could not be moved by Tracy's speech with works on many levels, one for the movie but more meaningful to me, in the last days of his life,talking of his love and respect for Miss Hepburn is movie work at its best. Miss Hepburn says nothing but her eyes tell it all, and movie acting at its greatest.Tracy was nominated for his performance, and Miss Hepburn won Best Actress for her classic performance. Ms. Hepburn always claimed it was an affectionate hug on the Academy's part for Mr. Tracy, but I feel it was most of all for her work and for her lifetime of Integrity. Tracy and Hepburn, Kramer and Potier, legends of Hollywood and at their respective peak in this grand movie.

  • A Great Movie

    • Michael Robinson
    • 7/11/07

    I've never seen camera work like this. It is a unique film but still a classic. The message is don't judge people by the color of there skin. This is the greatest movie that deals with racism. Spencer Tracy and Kathern Heburns greatest movie. Movie Magic.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.