skip navigation
Ivanhoe

Ivanhoe(1952)

  • Thursday, November 6 @ 12:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, November 23 @ 06:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Ivanhoe - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The sisters never reconciled.

    • Elise
    • 1/2/14

    I posted just a few months ago on 8/6/13: '...bless her, Joan Fontaine is still alive and well! I wish her a happy and healthy long life. I hope she reconciles with her sister Olivia de Havilland.'Alas, my wish was not granted. Joan passed away on 12/15/2013 and the sisters never reconciled. Joan was 96 so she did have a healthy long life (and happy?). We should all live such healthy long lives!

  • Ivanhoe

    • John
    • 8/6/13

    Overall- 2 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-2/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-3/5Score- 3 1/2 out of 5Titles-4/5Screenplay-2/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-2/5Recommendation to fans of the genre-2/5

  • Most are gone...

    • elise
    • 8/6/13

    I note with sadness that most of the leading actors in this move are gone, thought not forgotten.George Sanders, Robert Taylor, even Elizabeth Taylor who passed away 2 years ago.But bless her, Joan Fontaine is still alive and well! I wish her a happy and healthy long life.I hope she reconciles with her sister Olivia de Havilland.

  • Swashbuckler!

    • RedRain
    • 8/6/13

    There is a lot to commend this film. The jousting scene is magnificent. The costuming and sets are lush and beautifully filmed. Robert Taylor and the great George Sanders are simply terrific. Fontaine and Taylor are there for eye-candy only but both are beautiful. The dialog in this film is extremely well written and you become more engaged in the story as the film goes on. I'm a huge fan of this genre and this is a very good example of it. It isn't the best swashbuckler but it certainly is worth viewing!

  • Snooze

    • Ann
    • 4/10/11

    As I watched this drag on, I tried to remember the time in which it was made. Perhaps with that as a perameter, it would seem better. But, alas, it's pretty bad. Robert Taylor is stiff, exuding no macho or sensual qualities. Liz Taylor is her usual overly made up, under talented self, Joan Fontaine has no chance to show off her beauty or talents and the rest of the cast sort of does the yoeman's duty of getting through the whole mess. Urbane George Sanders is the only one with a spark of life or energy. But I just couldn't see past his costume. He is better in a suit and tie. I would give it 2 stars for color and set design. But as I watched, I longed for the days of old - Errol Flynn, his merry men and the delicate beauty, Olivia De Havilland. And of course, Claude Rains.

  • The Origin of the Robin Hood Legend.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 6/9/10

    Robert Taylor, Joan Fontaine, Elizabeth Taylor and George Sanders star in this brilliant thrilling adventure epic based on Sir Walter Scott's classic novel set in medieval England. Taylor stars as the gallant, chivalrous knight, Sir Wilfrid of Ivanhoe, who embarks on a crusade to fight against the tyrannies of Prince John (Guy Rolfe) and the Norman Knights in an effort to help King Richard the Lion-Hearted regain his throne. Filmed on location throughout England. A magnificent display of swashbuckling since Errol Flynn's original 1938 film classic, Robin Hood. With Robert Douglas, Emlyn Williams, Sebastian Cabot, Finlay Currie, Felix Aylmer, Francis De Wolff, Harold Warrender, Basil Sydney, Patrick Holt, Roderick Lovell & Norman Wooland.

  • Ivanhoe

    • jorge
    • 6/2/10

    a very good movie. I learned a bit of England History with this film.George

  • Literate Ivanhoe

    • Bob Hendrick
    • 1/27/09

    A rarity: A costume drama with an intelligent, literate screenplay. Add a fine cast, great sets, crisp direction and all the ingredients are there for this rousing adventure tale. Errol Flynn was regarded by most as the best actor in these costumers; but Robert Taylor was a close secend; a VERY close second. His blatant good looks hid a very capable and versatile actor. That great character actor Finlay Currie who plays Ivanhoe's estranged father is brilliant as always. Casting George Sanders as a semi-heroic villian (if you will) was a stroke of genius. Joan Fontaine and Liz Taylor are competent and beautiful. Miklos Rosza's score is appropriately thrilling. A real winner.

  • Great Action Film

    • Lola
    • 6/9/08

    Ivanhoe is a very good film with fine performances from Robert Taylor, Elizabeth Taylor,Joan Fontaine and George Saunders.I do not want to give away the plot, but Liz Taylor looks stunning and seems to be the perfect match for the dashing Ivanhoe. The battle scenes are exciting, well done and better than most costume dramas.

  • very good film,very much

    • carlos
    • 10/30/07

    I recommend this film.Realistic battles.Elisabeth is wonderful.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.