skip navigation
Madame Bovary

Madame Bovary(1949)

  • Thursday, November 6 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Madame Bovary A romantic country girl... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Engrossing

    • tharold
    • 11/18/12

    Jennifer Jones is tremendous in this adaptation of Flaubert's masterpiece.

  • many women I know

    • Phil Casto
    • 12/14/11

    the movie captures the beauty and tragic aspects of ego and vanity .Loved Jennifer Jones . Saw many of the folks I know in real life in the characters in this play.

  • I only saw the last 30 minutes

    • Cockmongler C. Grinface
    • 7/22/11

    And I cried.

  • Tragic

    • Chris
    • 7/21/11

    I loved this film. I haven't seen any of the other versions, nor have I read the book . As just a great movie it delivers beautifully.

  • Madame Bovary

    • Tom
    • 7/21/11

    **1/2

  • Interesting film..

    • Noname
    • 6/7/11

    I think this is the best film version of the novel Madame Bovary, although it is in black and white it was able to keep my attention the whole time, and I thought the performances by Jennifer Jones and Van Heflin were great. obviously when books are made into movies some parts are changed or omitted, this movie not being an exception, but overall this movie does a good job portraying the book. I would recommend to anyone.

  • Lavish Selznick production

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/18/11

    Vincente Minnelli is an interesting choice for director of this film. Jennifer Jones is perfect, but I felt Van Heflin was a tad miscast. Louis Jourdan, however, is exactly suited for his role. And Ellen Corby does a fine turn as a servant. The film works because of its fine attention to period detail. The lavish ballroom scene rivals anything that Selznick created for GONE WITH THE WIND.

  • Obra prima

    • Sonia
    • 11/5/10

    Este filme uma obra prima dos anos 40 que com a direo de Vincente Minelli tornou-se um grande classico. Jennifer Jones arrassa em sua interpretao como a Madame Bovary tendo um fantstico desempenho num papel dificil de ser interpretado. Excelente.

  • Great performance by Jennifer!

    • Christine
    • 3/6/10

    I've seen this movie twice now in recent months (the first time was for JJ's memorium in January) and I just love it. I think Jennifer Jone's performance is Oscar worthy. Her character is not someone we are suppose to like or admire, but Emma Bovary is a strong, ambitious and determined woman who did not want to settle for boring small town life, so I love the romance behind the thinking and the behaviour of this woman. Haven't we all dreamed of living in a movie like this, scandalous, but sexy. Of course, the neglect of her little daughter and her good and noble husband is not something to be proud of, which is why Madame Bovary suffers the guilt and shame that leads to the final scenes. Beautiful costumes, great ballroom sequence and wonderful performances by Van Heflin and co-stars. I don't know who won the Oscar in 1949, but Jennifer Jones truly deserved it. I think it is her best performance on film (in the films I have seen of hers). I don't know what Jack is talking about.

  • Disappointing Film

    • Jack
    • 2/14/09

    I looked forward to seeing this movie bacause I enjoy the work of Van Heflin. I watched about half the movie before I gave up on it, because of Jennifer Jones' performance. I don't know what it is about her but she always impresses me as an actress trying to portray a character rather than coming across as the character, the same thing I find in her performance in "Man in the Gray Flannel Suit".

  • Bovary Soars

    • Adman
    • 11/28/07

    An excelellent adaption with a stellar performance by JENNIFER JONES worthy of an Academy Award. Expert costumes, especially on Jones and the three male leads. Many set pieces that are memorable such as "The Fair" where Jones and Jordan hide from Madame's husband,"The waiting for the Coach" during a late cold evening, and the early climax at "The Ball" that includes a waltz (Roza) that is breathtaking. A sad and tragic story told with pananche and integrity.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.