skip navigation
Kathleen

Kathleen(1942)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Kathleen - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Where the heck is "Kathleen"

    • mark
    • 4/30/14

    Geeze....where is the movie Kathleen such a great film, that is not for purchase anywhere, that is so surprising, not only the great Shirley Temple.... But we have other very good actore Herbert marshall and Laraine Day.... this makes no sense, such a fine entertaining movie...Mark from NYC

  • I thought TCM had EVERYTHING

    • Selita Slabaugh
    • 4/26/14

    Like I said, I thought TCM had EVERY THING FOR SALE. Is Kathleen, the movie, ever offered or shown on TCM? Just wanna know why...every other DVD of Temple's are easily found. Just not this one. The place I ordered from...well sounded as if they had this movie but simply decided if anyone else wanted a copy then they were simply outta luck. I sincerely hope I am wrong cuz I am pleased with all my other orders. They might not have a copy either...reckon?I just hope they will make a decision to make copies IF they have "Kathleen". May they continue to be blessed in the Lord's name

  • Kathleen - starring Shirley Temple

    • KATHLEEN
    • 9/21/13

    It may be because my name is Kathleen that I have a special desire to have this movie available on DVD.I've searched everywhere to find a copy that isn't used, abused, or second hand.Why isn't this beautiful film available for purchase ?On behalf of the many friends and acquaintances I've mentioned this film to - Please hear our request !!Thank you ....... Kathleen

  • Kathleen

    • Rebecca Cavaletto
    • 6/12/13

    I am in my 50s and have been a big Shirley Temple fan since I was a young child. I was surprised that I had never seen, or heard of this movie till it was on TV last week. I did not see the beginning of the movie, but what I saw of the movie I really liked. I was just browsing online to see if this movie is available for sale. The movie was really good and I loved the acting. I liked the movie so much that I was really disappointed when it ended; I had hoped it was going to be a long movie. I would love to add this movie, to my Shirley Temple movie collection. Rebecca, Michigan

  • Kathleen

    • Lily54
    • 4/23/13

    Having been a Shirley Temple fan as a child I was in for a treat when I watched "Kathleen" this morning. So cornball, so predictable, so very comforting. I live in Massachusetts and this past week has been horrific with the Boston Marathon Bombings. Never was I so happy to be able to escape to a simpler more predictable world, even if only for a couple of hours. When the uncivilized 'real world' of today starts to get me down, my 'happy place' is among the black and white stars of long ago. God Bless and keep it coming !

  • Kathleen with Shirley Temple

    • Kim Borgal
    • 1/28/12

    I sooo enjoy watching all of Shirley Temple's movies, no matter her age. However, I do believe one of my favorites of all is Kathleen, and so long for a simpler way of life, and wish that we could once again be at a time the way it was protrayed during this era. It is refreshing to watch these. I would love it if TCM would play Honeymoon, Kiss and Tell, and Adventure To Baltimore, as well. These are little known Shirley Temple movies, too, and are so enjoyable.

  • Shirley Temple's Kathleen

    • Susan
    • 12/22/11

    I am an avid Shirley Temple fan and just love watching all her movies. I've never seen this one, and sooooo wish it was on DVD. I want to add it to my collection and watch it over and over and over. What great fun, family films she made.

  • Needs to be on dvd

    • Sue
    • 7/29/11

    The movie, "Kathleen," starring Shirley Temple, is a great family movie about a 'tween (12 year old) who lives with a father who ignores her. The nanny considers Kathleen, the 12 year old, to be wicked, but the nanny snoops about the young gal's room. The movie is interspersed with scenes of Kathleen's daydreams of what she'd love her life with her dad to be like, and this adds a lot of charm and gives Kathleen her genuine, loving character. A wonderful actor from Shop Around the Corner portrays a loyal, father-figure friend to Kathleen, so when her friend has to move away, it's right at the climax of the movie when other conflicts climax, and young Kathleen has no one else she can confide in. Don't miss this movie! I think the German man who wrote the book for "The Parent Trap" must have seen this movie to get his idea. If you love good family situations with real-life heartaches to feel, be sure to watch this movie. I you want to understand your preteen better, please watch this movie. Hopefully it will be put onto dvd, and I will watch for it.

  • Resembles Courtship of Eddie's Father

    • Lois
    • 7/28/11

    This movie reminded me of The Courtship of Eddie's Father with Ron Howard and Glenn Ford. Eddie wants his widowed father to fall in love with the wholesome neighbor played by Shirley Jones. His dad is dating the glamour puss played by Dina Merrill. In this movie, Shirley Temple wants her widowed dad to marry the wholesome child psychologist, but he's engaged to the evil gold digger. Poor Shirley's pouting doesn't work well after age 6, but this was a hoot to watch.

  • Where have I been?

    • Allison
    • 4/23/10

    I had never seen this movie before-where have I been?! As a life-long Shirley fan, I have seen most of her movies, but somehow missed this one. This is a great look at Shirley as a teen in a role that was different than most she had in her early years. Predictable, perhaps, but I loved it and wish it was available on DVD.

  • Kathleen

    • Barbara
    • 4/23/10

    Please offer this delightful movie available for sale. Add The Killers with Burt Lancaster and Remember the Night with Barbara stanwiyck

  • FEEL GOOD~

    • KAY
    • 4/23/07

    THIS A GREAT FEEL GOOD MOVIE. GETS ONE AWAY FROM THE NEWS OF TODAY WHICH IS PRETTY DEPRESSING. SHIRLEY TEMPLE AND LORRAINE DAY ARE WONDERFUL.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.