skip navigation
God Is My Co-Pilot

God Is My Co-Pilot(1945)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

God Is My Co-Pilot A flyer dismissed as too old... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • God Is My Co-Pilot

    • I_Fortuna
    • 5/28/13

    This is such a great film and I know it was one of my Dad's favorites. He was a pilot in the Army Air Force (USAAF) in WWII. I have the log of all his flights and an unpublished autobiography he was unable to finish before he died. Col. Scott was truly an inspriation to many and I hope that his memory will endure. This was a great memorial to him, my dad and so many others who fought in WWII on this Memorial Day. Thanks TCM.

  • God Is My Co-pilot

    • Mike
    • 5/27/13

    Regarding the complaints about references to God And religion, consider the title and the fact that it is a true story.My father flew long-range photo reconnaissance missions in the Pacific during WW ll.When their squadron lost a plane and crew over this vast ocean, there was never any trace found of the crew or plane.He told me that the atheists in his squadron always asked the chaplain to say a prayer for them before their missions.Make of that what you will, but, as my Dad always said, perspective is everything.

  • God is My Co-Pilot

    • Steve Berner
    • 11/4/10

    Overall, this is an enjoyable film to view... But there is a bit too much "God" in it to make it exciting. The extended references to religon slow the pace of the film down too much, and are simply too boring for the time frame. Before you get out the tar and feathers, however, let me state that while the story is in the air with the action, the story is really well paced (except the flight over the Himilayas with the priest), and fun for aircraft enthusiasts like me! I own a copy of the film on both VHS and DVD, and would not give up either one, as I view the film regularly... So do not think I am not a fan. Col. Scott was a very brave man, and the film is a fine tribute to him, as he has since "Gone West", himself. Enjoy the film to your own tastes, and you will not be disappointed... Steve Berner

  • Robert L. Scott, Jr is our Hero!!

    • Marilynn Pantera
    • 7/10/10

    I wish this movie was THREE HOURS LONG ... I can't get enough of my 'SCOTTY'!!! Are you a fan of Robert L. Scott, Jr and God Is My Co-Pilot? Then come join the ROBERT L. SCOTT FAN CLUB ASSOCIATION and share your "Scotty Stories" with us!

  • A DVD is the way to go

    • Joe
    • 8/1/09

    I can remember watching this film and then Flying Tigers and getting Dennis Morgan and John Wayne mixed up. The film was clearly aimed at building up our image during WWII. That notwithstanding, it had a message that was both humane and yet courageous. Of course, the "good guys" and the "bad guys" were easily identified as was the trend of that day. It needs to be found and resurrected on DVd for all us flying and WWII buffs.

  • What about a DVD?

    • Joe
    • 5/1/09

    I first remember watching this as a kid in the 60's. I loved the P-40 and the story behind the Flying Tigers. Even though the movie gets "Hollywoodized" a bit, it gives a good insight on how the Tigers operated. The footage of the P-40's, B-25's and other vintage aircraft is a must see for aircraft nuts such as myself. Recently saw a VHS copy at the Sun n Fun airshow for sale. It was going for $70.00, Sadly I didn't buy it, still hoping for the DVD. Many other vintage war flix can be found on DVD except for a certain few, wonder why?

  • Thank you TCM

    • John
    • 12/1/07

    I've requested this film a number of times--- truely a great film which has been out of circulation too long. Thanks TCM !!

  • A well done war film

    • Eddie Natale
    • 12/1/07

    This a gem.As a former C130 crewman in Southeast Asia,this is a classic.great cast,especially the supporting cast.I wish we had the admiration that the american public gave the World War II aviatiors.We didn`t even get welcomed home.This is am must for any aviator interested fans.I hope it come out on DVD,someday

  • Available on VHS! A classic WWII Film

    • Neal Belmuth
    • 11/29/07

    Thanks to The Wonderful folks at Turner, and the Museum of Aviation, God Is My Co-Pilot IS available on VHS. (The book is also for sale. Go to this address: www.museumofaviationfoundation.org/store/mostPopular.htmThis film gives a much better insight into the world of General Chenault's AVG, The Flying Tigers, than the film "Flying Tigers," Starring John Wayne. The late Robert Lee Scott was not only a fighter ace, but also a prolific writer. He wrote no less than 13 books, of which I have 11. His books, like the movie about him, were very popular, and some are still in print. He loved flying, and was still flying jets right into his 80's. He worked to build and promote the Museum of Aviation in Warner Robins, GA, until he was 97, when, sadly, he left us to finally meet his co-pilot in heaven. See the film, you won't be disappointed. Thanks Again, Turner!!

  • best war film

    • frank clark
    • 10/18/07

    this is one of the films i grew up with as an interested avaiation type. it represents a corner stone of aviation history.

  • Great Movie! Must release!

    • Brenda Sims
    • 8/26/07

    A must see wonderful, exciting movie. We were told that Brig. Gen. R. L. Scott was distant relations of ours, my grandmothers maiden name is Scott, and in 1997 my son went to meet him at the Museum of Aviation in Warner Robins, GA. He won my son over, he was such a wonderful man to him at that meeting, my son was so impressed with him that he joined the Air Force after that, Gen. Scott wrote congratulations letters to my son and I (addressing us as cousin) about this event, saying he is MIGHTY PROUD, and that my son was now a member of the GREATEST PROFESSION, and invited all of us to come see him at the museum as he grew older and older, signing his name as Bob Scott. Inspiring. My son is now a Major in the Alaska Air National Guard, has been to Afghanistan many times, always thinking of General Scott, his mentor. He was a wonderful war hero for our country and a wonderful inspiring teacher for the museum.

  • A must for DVD release!

    • AV8TORJoe
    • 7/25/07

    I saw this movie for the first time back in the 80's and I must say it's time to put it on DVD already! A great story about Col.Scott's exploits while flying the famous P-40 pursuit plane in the China/Burma theater of operation. Dennis Morgan played Col.Scott's character really well. 4 stars out of 5 for me.

  • Must See, Must be released

    • Yogi
    • 7/15/07

    Many years ago I met Col. Scott and got his autograph on his book. My father was in a ground support group in China. The movie was pretty close to the book

  • Great Movie says Bill

    • Bill Hardison
    • 7/10/07

    I have seen God is my co-pilot many times. Each time I watch it ,it's like seeing it for the first time, I shed many a tear while watching. If this film becomes available I will certainly buy it.

  • 'God Is My Co-Pilot' is revalent in Today's World

    • Paul Morse
    • 6/16/06

    A very good WWII movie showing allot of action of the Flying Tigers and its men. Showing the human side of a great WWII pilot and his dealing with his maker . A movie worth watching by all generations. Dennis Morgan as a moving actor. A movie good for DVD libraries.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.