skip navigation
Easter Parade

Easter Parade(1948)

  • Friday, December 5 @ 09:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Easter Parade When his partner leaves him, a... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Great Year for Fred Astaire

    • Shane Seekamp
    • 6/27/14

    If there is any movie musical that Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer put out in all of the studio's existence, Irving Berlin's "Easter Parade" is the best one. Not only was Judy Garland great along side hoofer Fred Astaire, but Ann Miller showed just how much she deserved to be in the same movie as such legends as she tapped her blues away in Irving Berlin's 1929 hit "Shakin' the Blues Away". However, the most superb part of the entire film is when Fred Astaire tap dances down a stair case twirling his all so famous cane to "Steppin' Out With My Baby", another jazzy hit from Berlin. Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer was smart to put on such an extravaganza! With this movie, pop your popcorn and put up your feet as you watch the greats of show business sing, dance, and take to 5th Avenue in the ever so glorious Easter Parade!

  • Fred Astair & Judy Garland in beautiful color...

    • Beth Pets
    • 4/20/14

    singing and dancing to the music of Irving Berlin. It's a triple jolt of American genius! This is a terrific holiday movie and each production number is a gem. Why couldn't they have all lived forever?

  • Easter Parade

    • Dashiell B
    • 4/1/13

    A charming musical from producer Freed and songwriter Berlin. Astaire is a music hall performer who tries to turn Garland into a professional dancer to rival the former's ambitious ex-partner, Miller in a scene-stealing performance. Won the Oscar for Best Score, which matches well with Berlin's songs including "It only Happens when I Dance with You," "We're a Couple of Swells'" and "Shakin' my Blues Away." Not really big on story, but an enjoyable musical that mustn't only be watched on Easter. I give it a 4/5.

  • One of the most beautiful musical I ever saw!

    • robin.casney
    • 1/10/13

    Cast: the only time we saw Fred Astaire and Judy Garland together. Really a good pair. With his feet and her voice they can conquer the world! Fred this time dances with drummers, singing "Drummer crazy"; Judy makes us understand that she lived again in a farm singing "Down on the farm" with her marvelous voice. There's the handsomest Peter Lawford, that sings "A fella with an umbrella" for Judy. Unforgettable! And finally, but not less important, Ann Miller, that sings and dances for us. Music: the great Irving Berlin composed the songs for this movie. Some of my favorite songs are in this musical. The title song "Easter Parade" is the most unforgettable.Director: the choreographer and musical director Charles Walters. Producer: what musical can be without Arthur Freed?MGM!!

  • Sorry, Brenda

    • Scooter
    • 4/23/11

    I absolutely love this film. "We're a Couple of Swells" is one of the funniest routines ever captured on film. The score, the sets, the costumes, the cast - everything is simply perfection in this film. See it - and not just at Eastertime.And sorry, Brenda (review dated 4/10/2010), Liza made her big screen debut (at 14 months of age) in IN THE GOOD OLD SUMMERTIME, not in EASTER PARADE.

  • Easter Parade YES!

    • DJ Tenn. nYc
    • 4/21/11

    the solo dance sequences with Fred Astaire to "Steppin' Out " are the most genius ever put to film.. Michael Jackson , heavily influenced . saw this on the big Screen at The Cinema Village in NYC Easter 1989 with a dearly departed friend. brings back great memories.. I <3 Judy.

  • Easter Parade is the BEST!

    • Brenda
    • 4/4/10

    I absolutely love this movie! Not just on Easter, but anytime! However, why is Liza Minelli's name not on the TCM credits for this movie? She did after all, make her "big-screen debut" in this film. Just wondering.

  • One of Judy's best

    • Dnna
    • 4/4/10

    I look forward to this grest movie every Easter. Great song, great dancing , comedy and Judy & Fred. What a treat!

  • Berlin's Colorful Musical Extravaganza.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 4/2/10

    The singing talents of Judy Garland and the fancy footwork of Fred Astarie are the essential ingredients in Irving Berlin's delightful holiday musical filled with Berlin's beloved songs including his Oscar-winning title song, "Easter Parade", "Steppin' Out With My Baby", "Shaking the Blues Away", and "A Couple of Swells". Also starring Ann Miller, Peter Lawford, Jules Munshin & Joi Lansing. An Eaaster Basket Holiday Delight.

  • Best of the best!

    • Jo Hayden
    • 10/3/09

    Judy GARLAND, can make any movie a CLASSIC!And Fred Astaire is simply wonderful!Nothing can beat the Arthur Freed unit!

  • Classic

    • Pete
    • 3/25/08

    Classic musical, Judy and Fred Astaire are Fantastic, I love watching this movie anytime of the year.

  • MGM'S best

    • Molly
    • 4/8/07

    This is truly one of the best musical movies ever made. You can't go wrong with Irving Berlin, Judy Garland, Fred Astaire and the Freed unit at MGM.Glorios music, fabulous costumes and an Oscar winning score. ***** Five Stars !

  • Delightful musical

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 4/16/06

    Fred Astaire and Judy Garland make a great team on the screen. Easter Parade has wonderful songs and terrific dancing.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.