skip navigation
The Bribe

The Bribe(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Bribe A sultry singer tries to tempt... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A film noir sleeper

    • Paul Anghinetti
    • 12/20/13

    A smartly acted and taut crime drama that represents one of the better film noir offerings of the 1940's. Taylor reveals his ability to play a stoic, understated role. Gardner as femme fatale and Lawton's usual professionalism. The direction, editing and pace of this film enhance the suspense.

  • Atmospheric Thriller(1949)

    • nshepard
    • 6/13/12

    Great study in character as Rigby(Robert Taylor) is sent to investigate a smuggling operation on a Central American island, I wonder where his jurisdiction ended ? Well, while he is there he falls in love with Elizabeth Hintten(Ava Gardner) who couldn't be lovelier , especially with the tropical heat. Charles Laughton and Vincent Price are doing the racketeering and they are very good !What draws the film down is the poor lack of pace and unusual amount of dialogue, otherwise it gets 5 stars out of 5. The film tries to build to a crescendo but stumbles along the way.But it is atmospheric and very well photgraphed. Definitely worth a look see. 4 stars out of 5.

  • Good story,good acting so-so plot

    • Bart
    • 8/8/11

    Thought everyone did well in their parts,Ava and Robert.Laughton and Vinny are good bad guys

  • Excelente

    • Sonia
    • 12/18/10

    Este filme excelente. Tem um elenco fascinante desde Robert Taylor , Vincent Price e a deslumbrante Ava Gardner. Um timo filme que conta com uma direo afinada de Robert Z. Leornard.

  • The Bribe

    • Susan W
    • 5/6/10

    This is one of my favorite Robert Taylor movies. Having been made in 1949, it's post WWII and his face reflects a bit more 'experience' having lost the innocence you saw in him before he served in the war. (Which I respect immensely....you wouldn't see today's "movie stars" serving in the military.) I really enjoy this movie for it's gritty nature and the passion Robert's character feels for Ava Gardner, on and off the screen, is obvious. They make a great couple! The movie offers a mystery, action, keeps you riveted to your seat and those wonderful kisses aren't bad either! Oh, to swoon over Robert Taylor...is a good thing, indeed. I enjoyed all the characters performances - very entertaining.

  • You'll need to bribe me to watch it again!

    • Steimo2
    • 12/12/09

    With the exception of Sir Charles (Laughton) performance I was very disappointed w/ "The Bribe"...The plot was certainly on the dull side albeit greed is always a good basis for a story BUT, not paying taxes on scapped airplane engine's from WWII - nah!And as far as TCM's synopsis goes - it took Ava about a nanosecond (in that beautiful half-strapless evening dress) to seduce ol' Bob Taylor.Also, any actor could have played John Hodiak's role (about 10 minutes of screen time) and I LIKE John Hodiak.

  • The Bribe on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 6/26/09

    I wouldn't mind having this movie DVD. I like Charles Laughton.

  • Great Film Noir Performances

    • J. Dordick
    • 4/1/08

    Ava Gardner was at her most beautiful; Robert Taylor was at his most beautiful and the screen sizzled. The character actors were among the finest of the period, particularly Charles Laughton. This was one of my favorite popular films from the period, and I have wanted to see it again for years. This is definately an oldie-but-goodie that should have been out on video long before now. And why is it that TCM has never shown it???!!! Everyone will love it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.