skip navigation
Young Cassidy

Young Cassidy(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Young Cassidy True story of playwright Sean... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Awesome

    • Sue
    • 3/18/14

    I saw this movie for the first time last night, and it was fantastic!!! Thank you Maggie, I love you. You are one of my favorite female actresses of all times.Thank you Sue

  • Young Cassidy

    • Gordon Vallins
    • 8/27/13

    Such a shame this fine film is not available on DVD especially as we approach the centenary of 1916 and the Dublin Easter Rising. This film explores the background to this violent political event and the build up to it through the eyes of Young Cassidy, an aspiring playwright, and based on that period in real life of Sean O'Casey, a major literary figure and activist. An invaluable historical film aiding us to have insight into one of the major seismic events in Irish history.

  • Good Film

    • eringobragh
    • 8/22/13

    Ireland is best seen in May/June,when the day is long and before summer tourist season.Great maggie and Rod acting seen here.

  • Loved this move!!!

    • Elizabeth
    • 3/17/13

    Thank you for showing our Irish movies today. I WANT TO VISIT THERE MORE THAN EVER!!!! This was an excellent movie. I felt so part of Mr Taylor's world...Great portrayal of the Irish Rebellion in 1910.

  • Requesting 'Young Cassidy'

    • Dr. Frank Braio
    • 3/18/12

    "Young Cassidy" is a beautiful movie. Brilliantly acted, written, cast, photographed, directed, etc.Why is it not available to us in DVD format?Why is it not available to us in any format?Just seeing the performances of Julie Christie, Maggie Smith, Michael Redgrave, Rod Taylor, etc.should be enough to gain it a large audience and profits for its distributor.Sean O'Casey's meetings with Yeats are wonderful. And some of the lines and scenes in the film are priceless. Can we get this movie available to us???????

  • A Gritty Little Biopic

    • Henry Hoffman
    • 6/9/10

    The film had a swiftness in the edit & Jack Cardiff's cimematography (as well as his direction) was precise in its visualization of the grittiness of the Troubles. Rod Taylor was always a highly appealing leading man w/ just enough actorish husk to suggest a cut above those stud-men who relied only on their vanity & Maggie Smith (being an acolyte of Olivier's great Nat'l Theatre ensemble) demonstrated some choices that dazzled. I appreciated John Whiting (screenplay), being a literate playwright of the school of Christopher Fry (I believe it was Whiting who wrote the play THE DEVILS), moving the awkward chunks of bio exposition along, esp. in the Redgrave-Evans (Yeats & Lady Gregory) backstory, which was a hair's breath from being wincingly uncomfortable had it not been for the protean talents of the two actors. Good to see that great Beckett actor Jack MacGowran & the brief tenderness of Flora Robson, who (unfortunately) underachieved in film by pretty much playing heinz 57 varieties of what she codified in WUTHERING HEIGHTS.

  • Yound Cassidy

    • Cathy
    • 4/15/10

    I LOVE this movie! The scene were he sings & kisses her by the water is the most romantic/sensual scene ever!!! Ahhhh..Rod Taylor at his best!!!

  • Young Cassidy

    • james
    • 3/19/10

    a great film about a great playwright.

  • Young Cassidy

    • Molly
    • 3/18/10

    I am very, very fond of this film, and I always look for it on the TCM schedule around this time of year. What a wonderful cast! It is surely Rod Taylor's finest work, and Maggie Smith touches my heart every time I see it. This film was a labor of love for those who made it, and it shows. I hope it will be rediscovered by a new generation - and I'm rooting for a DVD release!

  • A tip of the cup to Sean O'Casey...

    • Jack
    • 12/10/09

    John Ford started this film based on O'Casey's `Mirror in My House.' A heart attack brought on director/cinematographer Jack Cardiff and Ford's absence is missed. But what's here is a poignant telling of ambition, art an romance amid the drama of the Easter Rising that's both memorable and indelible. Much of that is thanks to Sean O'Riada's beautiful score for this film. I was told that the Irish composer wrote and recorded a lot more music than was used in the film, and was angry about its loss. Overall, this film should have been a classic film, instead, it's wonderful film full of life and no small measure of legend. The end of the film is one of the best endings imaginable. `Young Cassidy' is a personal treasure of a movie. It needs to be on DVD-- and the score released for study-- and enjoyment.

  • A lovely, obscure movie

    • Sherry
    • 1/25/08

    I want to thank TCM for scheduling this movie for viewing. My husband and I saw it in a theater years ago, and loved it. It was never available on commercial VHS much less on DVD, and is well worth seeing. The film depicts the early life of Irish playwright, Sean O'Casey, and features a fine cast including members of the Abbey Players. I believe this is one of Rod Taylor's best performances, and we have a chance to see Maggie Smith and Sian Phillips in early roles. The direction by Jack Cardiff and John Huston is excellent. Perhaps some viewers will be inspired to read or see some of O'Casey's dramas. like the Plough and the Stars, or read his multi-part biography. He wrote eloquently of political controversy and the contradictions in his nation. His views made him an exile. I'm grateful TCM is providing everyone with a chance to see this film.

  • Young Cassidy on dvd

    • ellen
    • 6/26/06

    Many of us are getting tired and appalled at the sexual/violence/foul language content hollywood feels will attract business. This movie is heartwarming, family friendly and inoffensive. I could watch it many times and enjoy it. The acting is good, and autibiographies as a whole are informative, pleasant to watch, and at least have a message.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.