skip navigation
The Unknown

The Unknown(1927)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Unknown In this silent film, an... MORE > $39.98 Regularly $39.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • "The Unknown" is disarming and oddly charming

    • Jeff Boston
    • 10/31/12

    Weird but watchable mini-movie, thanks to the wacky and wicked Alonzo, played by Lon Chaney Sr. He was "The Man of a Thousand Faces" who put fear into others, but when Chaney wore the face of the few and the proud in "Tell it to the Marines" he didn't need paint to create a lasting image. He was made an honorary leatherneck.

  • The Unknown

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/15/12

    Director Browning's greatest film is this under-valued silent gem. Chaney gives a harrowing performance as a supposedly "armless" knife-thrower who falls in love with Crawford. This chilling & grim story is too short, but the story itself is engaging. A film that should be measured up against Browning's "Dracula" and "Freaks." I give it 4/5.

  • The Unknown

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/5/11

    ****

  • The Unknown (1927)

    • James Higgins
    • 2/17/10

    What an amazing film! A very young Joan Crawford is mesmerizing, but it's Lon Chaney's picture all the way, he is magnificent. Great score and an absolutely fascinating plot. What a wild story!

  • One of the best!

    • David Coincon
    • 10/12/09

    This was one of the best silent movies I've seen in a long time. The updated music really added to the film. The plot was perfect, and the acting very artsy. Wonderful film.

  • WOW!

    • Dee L.
    • 11/6/08

    I never saw a Lon Chaney movie nor have I ever watched a silent film from start to finish due to lack of patience. Well, I cant emphasize how wonderful this film was. I have watched it over and over(it is only about an hour)and cant wait for TCM to play more Lon Chaney movies. A must see!

  • Love can make you do crazy things

    • Cathy Turk
    • 9/7/08

    I really liked this movie for the fact you felt for the criminal and knew it was going to end sadly. I'm surprised they haven't done a remake of this since the movies nowadays comes close to this type of stuff where as back in it's day this movie was way ahead of it's time.

  • Brilliant, bizarre and macabre

    • BBCWiHi
    • 12/25/07

    Chaney as an armless, twisted knife-thrower/arch-criminal. A young Joan Crawford. The best (and oddest) of Tim Burton and Quentin Tarantino rolled into one silent ball. Watch it. Shake your head. Watch it again.

  • The Unknown, great movie

    • Veronique
    • 11/14/07

    this was my first silent movie i actually sat through, from the beginning i was entranced by Lon Chaney's acting and wanted to know more about him and his movie career. The Unknown is still an incredible movie and can hold up to most movies being made today, watch some real talent, nothing like watching Mr.Lon Chaney in action!

  • The Unknown

    • Mike
    • 4/16/06

    The Unknown, one of my personal favorite silent movies. The Unknown stars Lon Chaney and a young Joan Crawford in one of the strangest, yet great movies of the silent era. When I first saw The Unknown, it left me wanting more. A great movie for suspense and silent movie fans.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.