skip navigation
Top Hat

Top Hat(1935)

  • Tuesday, February 3 @ 02:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Top Hat A woman thinks the man who... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Top Hat

    • AudreyZ37
    • 2/11/13

    It's light hearted and funny. Great characters, Fred & Ginger, dancing.Who could ask for more to forget a grey winter's day. Always a favoriteof mine.

  • Top Hat

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 11/9/12

    RKO's biggest financial hit was this Astaire & Rogers masterpiece. The duo share their most romantic moments in this film, particularly in the "Cheek to Cheek" dance number. The usual mistaken-identity story involves memorable scenes of dancing, elegant costumes & a glossy Art-deco Venice. This is the greatest pairing of Astaire & Rogers', period. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • PREVIOUS REVIEWS MISS SOMETHING

    • william gauslow
    • 11/8/12

    Previous reviews : nobody noticed the cinematography of this movie. Look at this movie for its framing and black and white contrast. Top Hat is TOP NOTCH. The music is great. Without the focus and contrast, this movie is not as strong. Black and white dancing next to each other, spectacular. See Top Hat with this mind set and the movie gets much better.

  • Top Hat

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • Top Hat

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    Ginger is confused about Fred again

  • Fred's favorite movie.

    • Greg
    • 3/12/10

    Of all the movies Fred Astaire made, he considered "Top Hat" as his favorite. Now, that is really saying something! Considering how many absolutely fabulous movies Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers poured their heart and soul into. And while I enjoy every one I have seen, I especially love "Top Hat" for the superb comedy, as well as the dazzling and unique dance numbers.This movie is guaranteed to delight you through every bit of it!If you haven't seen it, shame on you! Get it as soon as you can, and show it to your family, your dinner guests, your young future olympic ice dancers, and anyone in need of a great big smile. You will end up watching it many times, I assure you.

  • Ginger and Fred

    • Fred
    • 9/30/08

    A simply great movie--Fred Astair has the most under-rated voice in movie history---and Ginger Rogers she could sing, dance,act and steal your heart away!

  • Excellent.

    • Kerri
    • 8/3/08

    Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers are absolutely brilliant in this movie. The songs and dances are beautiful. Fred is delightfully witty and suave. The rest of the cast is just as funny and entertaining to watch. Great storyline. A must see for Fred and Ginger fans!

  • Wonderful!

    • Susan Brainerd
    • 1/2/08

    This is one of my favorite Fred and Ginger movies, which in actuality, every movie they made together is one of my favorites. What a shame that these types of movies are no longer made. The songs, the choreography, and storylines are wonderfully romantic and beautiful!

  • BEst movie EVER!

    • alexandra
    • 5/15/07

    you have to see this movie. it is one of the best classics ever. fred astaire does WONDERFUL in this movie!

  • A Pure Delight

    • Rachel
    • 2/22/07

    This movie was my first Astaire and Rogers movie and by far my favorite. The comedy of the two is just outstanding. You can't go wrong spending your afternoon with those two in "Top Hat"!

  • All Around Delight

    • Leight
    • 2/14/07

    Swing Time gives it a run for the money, but Top Hat always edges out as my favorite of the wonderful Astaire-Rogers pictures. The dancing, music, acting, comedy--it's all there and I'd recommend this to anyone.

  • "STAR TEAM"

    • CANDACE
    • 8/10/06

    This has to be Ginger Rogers and Fred Astaire's best film. Its laugh out loud fun with all the singing, dancing its just wonderful!! Its a MUST see!!!

  • TOP HAT IS AMAZING!

    • Scout
    • 4/13/06

    This movie is one of the greatest films I've ever seen! It is absolutely fabulous. Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers are so awesome! I LOVE THIS MOVIE!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.