skip navigation
Interrupted Melody

Interrupted Melody(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Interrupted Melody True story of Australian opera... MORE > $17.99 Regularly $17.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Interrupted Melody

    • Karen Robinson
    • 6/25/14

    I can't believe I've never seen this movie before. I was flipping channels to see what was playing and was intrigued when I saw Eleanor Powell in a singing roll. I didn't know she could sing!!! Wow!, was I surprised. She was always a fabulous actress, but this performance is absolutely breathtaking. I'm so glad I found it.

  • Sooo.... Impressed by Eleanor Parker

    • Christina Rietman
    • 6/18/13

    I have never seen this film before. When I saw that it was coming on, I gave up something else I was going to do. I'm so glad I did. I have always been a fan of Eleanor Parker's work and feel she was never given the credit she so fully deserved. Never knew she did a film like this that really demonstrated her tremendous range for acting. The fact that it was not her singing was forgotten with her beautiful acting. I was in tears at the end of the picture. Glen Ford also did a great job of acting without overshadowing the main character because the story is about his character as well. The story is also beautiful in telling about a love that does not give up just because the going is hard. We need more movies with stories like this about real people and overcoming real-life situations. Movies lately have become dark and negative and uninspiring filled with superhumans that don't exist. I like fantasy as much as the next person, but it has gotten a little out of hand. I love a good, real story.

  • Love the Singing

    • Bryan
    • 5/1/13

    I enjoyed this film very much, especially Ms Parkers performance. She deserved the academy award nomination. I found her operatic parts very moving, and can now better understand how opera can have such an emotional impact on the viewer. As an aside comment I found her speaking voice to be very similar to Kathleen Turner's.

  • Extraordinary Performace

    • Martha Crawford
    • 5/1/13

    This was an incredibly difficult role. Eleanor was deservedly nominated for an academy award. Her work with Eileen Farrell was such that few actresses could have done it.

  • Sopranos and Speaking Voices

    • Emily Paget
    • 1/4/11

    In response to the review that questions the validity of Miss Parker in the role of an operatic soprano because her speaking voice is deeper than the singing voice, please go to YouTube and listen to interviews with Renee Fleming, Leontyne Price, Joan Sutherland, Natalie Dessay, etc. All of these women are sopranos. All of them speak in the same general timbre as Miss Parker. The timbre of one's speaking voice does not necessarily correlate to one's singing range.

  • Can't buy Parker in this role

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 10/21/10

    She's miscast. She has too deep a speaking voice to be believed as this sort of operatic singer. Highly unrealistic.

  • Interrupted Melody (1955)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/19/09

    Very melodramatic biography of Marjorie Lawrence, but Eleanor Parker really does a terrific job in one of her best roles. A notch above the typical 1950's tearjerker. Good production, fine art direction, make-up and costumes.

  • Eleanor Parker's Interrupted Melody

    • Brian Haggerty
    • 5/14/09

    I cannot understand why this film has not been cleaned up and released on DVD. The video copy is really not great, colors are not the vibrant colors we should be seeing. Someone earlier wrote it was coming out on DVD March, 2009, but do not believe it has. It is a wonderful film and performance.

  • Very Underated!!

    • cathy
    • 4/20/09

    Interupted Melody is a beautiful biography of a wonderful artist whose life was changed drastically overnight and still persavered.Eleanor Parker's portrayal of Marjorie was superb and she should have won the Oscar. Ms. Parker is the most underated actress during the 40's and 50's.

  • Available on DVD at last!

    • claire
    • 3/22/09

    This film is being released on DVD through Warner Bros Archive Collection on 22 March 2009.

  • Opera inspiration

    • Philip Mealey
    • 12/24/08

    I was a teenager when this movie came out and it was thrilling to me. I was a pianist and that was my first experience with Tristan. Little did I know that later on I would be an accompanist for Johanna Meier, the first American Isolde in Bayreuth, who herself, was a student of Marjorie Lawrence. Several of the arias are done more completely than in other films, and forget that incredible performance of Eleanor Parker. I wonder how many young musicians she inpired with her first rate performance.

  • Parker and Music Soars

    • Adman
    • 3/8/08

    the beauty of Parker matches the beauty of the music...both mesh to create a compelling story of will, determination and emotion. This remains a well remembered film from my first viewing. I still can recall the touching finale as exqusite in telling. A small gem in the MGM bio library of the 1950s. Bravo Eleanor!

  • Eleanor Parker was brilliant

    • theresa fisicaro
    • 8/26/07

    This film gave me (as a teenager) a life long love of the opera. Eleanor Parker's portrayal of Marjorie Lawrence was so incredible, I can still see and feel some of the scenes in that movie. Please bring it to DVD.

  • Eleanor Parker is sheer perfection in this film!

    • Sheila B
    • 8/14/07

    This film is magificent! Why has it not been converted to DVD format? Miss Parker portrays operatic diva Marjorie Lawrence in a powerful, unforgettable performance. She has always been my favorite actress. I just wish she gotten the Oscar for this film, a tribute she richly deserved. Bravo, Miss Parker!

  • ELEANOR PARKER-UNDERRATED

    • VINCENT SANTANGELO
    • 5/4/06

    THIS FILM AGAIN DISPLAYS THE BRILLIANCE OF ELEANOR PARKER'S FINE ACTING ABILITY.UNFORTUNATELY, IT AGAIN DISPLAYS HOLLYWOOD'S OVERLOOKING THIS ACTRESS BY PASSING HER BY AT OSCAR TIME. ELEANOR PARKER PROVED HER ACTING ABILITY AGAIN AND AGAIN BUT WAS NEVER GIVEN THE FULL BLOWN RECOGNITION SHE SHOULD HAVE RECEIVED FROM HER PEERS. ANOTHER OVERLOOKED HOLLYWOOD STAR/ACTRESS.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.