skip navigation
Stablemates

Stablemates(1938)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Stablemates A broken down veterinarian... MORE > $18.95 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • stablemates

    • sherry maccanico
    • 12/13/13

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE. WE NEED THIS TO BE RELEASED ON DVD...PLEASE I WANT TO SEE IT AGAIN!!!WOULD LOVE TO OWN IT.

  • Stablemates

    • Marc
    • 12/9/13

    Watched this movie for the first time today. Laughed and cried several times (and I am guy). Went directly online to buy it and was sad to find out it was not available! This is a great movie with an ageless story about the special bond between family members! Awesome!

  • stablemates

    • Garnet Stevenson
    • 12/9/13

    Just a wonderful movie with Wallace Berry and Mickey Rooney. Please- Please make this great movie available to the public to buy. Thank you.

  • Stable mates

    • Valerie George
    • 2/24/13

    I saw this when I was a kid ditching school. I was always interested in old movies and read books on the stars, their biographies and such. I would have to say that I really liked this movie and wish I could buy it for my collection. Mickey Rooney and Wallace Berry are a perfect pair to do a movie together I a another of Wallace Berry's movies, been also looking for a western he did with Shirley Temple. I give this movie excellent review and if you have one you are lucky, if you know where I can a copy please email me. Just see the movie on this site and let me know what you think. A movie admirer

  • Stablemates

    • Rick
    • 5/3/11

    5 Stars

  • Stablemates

    • Rick Ferraro
    • 5/3/11

    Notice how everyone gets it but Maltin? Great entertainment, well produced and acted.

  • stablemates

    • laura v adams
    • 10/23/10

    Wallace berry and andy rooney are just wonderful together!another one of mgm,s family movies that gives your skin that goose pimply feeling!you don't know. Whether to laugh or cry about life its self.....it gives you such a good feeling aBout being alive and living!!!Great inspirational life movie!

  • Wonderful

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 9/23/10

    MGM's family film formula is very much intact here. The stars work well together (they also appeared in AH, WILDERNESS). Some of Mickey's work is a bit over-the-top, but he's an emotional teen, so it works. Beery, as always, brings an earthy likable quality to his characterization. The operation scene where he desperately needs a drink is probably one of Beery's best...there's a lot of truth in this picture. Worth seeing.

  • Stablemates

    • Dan Brooks
    • 9/23/10

    This is an exellent film about thoroughbred racing.It is well done and presents a more realistic view of horse racing than "Seabiscuit."Whrther you are a racing or just enjoy movies,you will appreciate the performances of Wallace Beery and Mickey Rooney.The emotive scenes will bring a tear to every eye.I hope "Secretariat" is this good.

  • Stablemates(1938)

    • nshepard
    • 9/23/10

    Wallace Beery and Mickey Rooney star in a classic tale of a neer do well former vet and a starry-eyed wanna be who team up as an original odd couple. The marriage propoasal scene between Margaret Hamilton and Wallace Beery is worth the price of admission. Mickey who is a workout rider inherits a horse Lady Q. for past debts owed to him. Her inability to run well attracts Tom Terry(Beery) to operate and make her into a top quality thoroughbred, capable of winning a big stakes purse. As their adventure ensues, Beery and Mickey become close , but the past keeps haunting Beery, and making life difficult for him. An new Del Mar racetrack is the backgorund for the "BIG" race. You can even see the cumulo nimbus clouds in the background, before the area became saturated. 4 stars out of 5.

  • Loved This Movie.....

    • mike
    • 11/30/06

    Loved This Movie When I Was A Kid But WHY IS NOT ON DVD!!!!!!!!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.