skip navigation
Smokey And The Bandit

Smokey And The Bandit(1977)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Smokey And The Bandit A maverick trucker tries to... MORE > $12.98 Regularly $12.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Smokey and The Bandit

    • Marion Hogues
    • 6/26/13

    Best comedy of all times.I could watch this movie at least once every week !!!!!

  • disappointed

    • sherri
    • 6/17/13

    I watched Smokey & the Bandit last night, just long enough to see that the profanity was not going to be deleted. I am very disappointed in TCM for this. When the movie first came out I was a teen. I was uncomfortable with the language then, and 35 years later I am more disappointed that Turner showed the movie uncut. Using God's name as a swear word is not my idea of entertaining. In the past, I have enjoyed watching movies on your channel, knowing that it would be free from bad language & nudity. I hope this won't become standard fare for Turner, as it is the most watched channel in our home, & I would hate to stop watching it.The best thing about this movie is the late Jerry Reed, and the theme song.

  • Sadly, one of my favorites has become dated.

    • denscul
    • 6/16/13

    As I watched this on Father's Day, 2013, with my grandson, I realized that this had become dated. My grandson could not understand why the Bandit was using a CB instead of his cell phone, and couldn't understand what the big deal was about Coors beer. Wasn't it always sold east of the Mississippi? He did like the Trans Am. And a grandfather, I was no longer ignorant of the fact that the Bandit, was in fact a Bandit, and people like him were likely to put my family at risk with his actions. OK, its only a film, but with age, you go from a teen, with no responsibilities, to a grandfather, with kids, grandkids, and a lot of experience with people like Burt Reynolds character. He is no longer someone to be idolized,. but someone to stay away from. There still is no taking away the fact the Buford Justice, played by Jackie Gleason was still laughable. Poking fun at law enforcement is still standard practice in Hollywood, but he was too ridiculous to be taken seriously. Nobody then, or now would have wanted to be Buford. But a lot in my generation did want to be Burt Reynolds. And if any woman liked the film, it was because Burt was at the height of his career and sex appeal.

  • tons of fun with some greats!

    • roy earl
    • 6/16/13

    Jackie Gleason. Sally Fields, Burt Reynolds---top line- a great fun funny movie...No academy awards here but still tons of laughs and tons of fun with 3 class acts!..(.ps- someone should clue the junior kiddie in at tcm to include Jackie Gleason in top billing next time! And, tonite even veteran herman manciewicz (e.g.,wrote citizen kane-a classic of classics) chose the film 6-16-13 to watch on tcm).

  • 'The Great One'

    • Kai
    • 4/10/13

    One of the greatest movie, funny movies, Jackie Gleason and Burt Reynolds together it gets no better. Thank you for showing this film. Great film with 'The Great One'!

  • Smokey And The Bandit

    • Bruce C
    • 3/26/13

    One of the great all time good humor comedies. Well built cast with Burt Reynolds, Jerry Reed (hadbeen successful previously in Gator) Sally Field (Hooper) and the great Jackie Gleason. Its a goodtime flick, is represented that way by Hal Needham. Just like Gator, Reed sings the theme and doesa ballad as well. It was as life was in the mid seventies. The good guys were not so good and thebad guys were not really bad. A light jab at getting back at the system. Watch out or you'll miss it, its incorrectly listed as airing on 3-27, the actual air time is 3-38 @ 3:00 am. Smart play by TCM toair it during Oscar month - by honoring the work of Needham.

  • Seriously, TCM?

    • SteveS
    • 2/3/13

    Okay, just had to comment ... Turner CLASSIC Movies is showing Smokey & the Bandit? During Oscar month?? What did it win an award for ... goofiest moustache on a leading man? Burt Reynolds isn't even a frickin' real actor!! Paul Williams certainly isnt! What is TCM coming to? Stick to the pre-1970s CLASSICS, why dontcha?

  • Eastbound and Down

    • mike
    • 7/28/10

    The archetypical redneck comedy and the best of it's kind. Burt Reynolds accepts an offer to deliver Coors beer to Atlanta (It was illegal at the time of the film's release) in less the 24 hours. Jerry Reed accompanies Reynolds to Texarkana, TX without incident to pick up the contrband beer. Things look good until Sally Field joins up with Reynolds. She had just ran out on her arranged wedding to a dim-witted deputy sheriff.Her almost Father-in-Law (Jackie Gleason) is in hot pursuit of Reynolds and Field who are driving a customized Pontiac Trans-Am, for what seems to be the entire Southeast and into Atlanta. Gleason steals every scene he appears in and there are more than a few car crashes along the way.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.