skip navigation
The Phantom Tollbooth

The Phantom Tollbooth(1970)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Phantom Tollbooth A bored boy enters a fantasy... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Not one of Jones best

    • Paul
    • 6/1/13

    No one loves Chuck Jones early work for Warner Brothers more than I do. And The Grinch is a classic. But the animation in this film is simple and poorly timed. I must admit I am not a fan of the story or the songs either. The whole thing just drags on with no spark or flair.

  • The Phantom Tollbooth

    • Dashiell B.
    • 4/13/13

    A brightly-coloured, dazzling family musical. Nobody except Jones could have been able to pull this film off, whose style matches Juster's story. Although it overplays the songs, the journey of valuing an education and appreciating everyday life is rewarding. Best recommended for preschool or young elementary school children, anyone over 10 will likely dabble on their iPhone's during the film's run. I give it a 4/5.

  • This is a lost gem!!!

    • Alyssa
    • 4/21/09

    The book is considered a classic and this cartoon should be also!It is really clever and witty. Since Chuck Jones directed , it has similar style and tone to Loony Tunes (you will also recognise the voice talent for sure)This movie is really funny-- even as an adult it cracks me. Another nice thing about it, is that is has a good message and is educational---but it is done in such a clever and entertaining way that kids just love it.Most of the childrens fare these days is truly fluffy garbage with no substance--movies as good as this one should not be put out to pasture!!! I have been looking to buy this on DVD for years--(I own a VHS copy).I am really hoping they will release it again---soon!I would recommend it to everyone I know via Facebook and blogs etc to help support it!!!

  • phantom tollbooth is great

    • Ben
    • 3/27/09

    This is a great little film.Great message and very educational.Love the cleverly written screenplay and music.This film was actually made in 1968,but post-production financial problems delayed its release.The animations were typical of the time,but very well done.And some of the best voice-over talent of the day was used.This deserves a DVD release.Its much better than the trash kids are viewing today.I enjoyed the norton juster book of the same name and have used it as a basis for teaching.

  • Fun!!

    • kimbers
    • 3/25/09

    I overslept this morning because I stayed up to watch this movie. While it was a smart movie for kids, there was a whole lot in it that had me at 53 cracking up. I'd like to see this on DVD so that I could give it to the kids in my life!

  • At Last! Loved the Movie!

    • Deborah
    • 3/25/09

    I saw this movie a long time ago and have been looking for a home video version ever since. I like the story and the animation is beautiful. I love the characters and the voices. One of my favourites. Can't wait for it to come out in DVD! Hopefully it will come out on DVD very soon!

  • Very Entertaining Fantasy Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 3/25/09

    I saw Phantom Tollbooth right after it came out in early 1971, and last night was the first time I had seen it again.It's a combination of live action and animation by the great Chuck Jones, who did all those cartoons with Daffy Duck, Bugs Bunny, etc. that I loved to watch when I was growing up. I think this was his only feature length film, and Bob Osborne said in his introduction that MGM didn't make any effort to promote the film because the studio was struggling financially at the time. As a result I guess hardly anyone saw it. The animation seems a bit primitive compared to today's CGI and anime, but it looked quite awesome for 1970. The kids of today used to seeing 21st century state-of-the-art computer animation should see Phantom Tollbooth to see how animation was done back in the day, by manual drawing. Would like to see it on DVD sometime soon.

  • Love this!

    • Michelle
    • 3/24/09

    Excellent film! Very smartly written and beautifully animated.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.