skip navigation
The Informer

The Informer(1935)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Informer An Irish rebel turns in his... MORE > $59.98 Regularly $59.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A film close to John Ford's heart

    • Robert
    • 2/27/14

    John Ford being of Irish descent, this story of Ireland's centuries long fight for freedom against British oppression was probably dear to his heart. There are many memorable scenes. Who could forget the chilling images of British soldiers storming the house of an Irish freedom fighter and gunning him down in cold blood in front of his family? John Ford made some of America's greatest films. This is one of his classics.

  • The Idiot

    • Meredith
    • 12/6/13

    I really didn't like this film because of McLaglen (not his acting, but because of the character Gypo). The guy was a drunken idiot. I couldn't stand the way he was being such a buffoon by buying people food and drink. They all knew him and knew he shouldn't have all that money. And I didn't buy the idea that even though he ratted the guy out to get 20 pounds because of what his girl said that he didn't know what he was doing. Of course he knew! I wish Gypo hadn't been such a moron because it could've been a good movie if he used more intrigue and smarts to elude the rebels. Instead he fell right into their hands still not even aware of how much trouble he was in. And, I was so glad he was caught, I thought well finally he'll shut up - the ending was the best part of this film.

  • The Informer

    • Dashiell B.
    • 2/11/13

    An engaging drama that won director Ford his first Oscar. McLaglen won the Best Actor award as a slow-witted brawler who informs his rebellious ally for twenty pounds. Steiner's score won an Oscar, as did the adaptation of the now-dated & sometimes draggy story. A fine film nonetheless. I give it a 4/5.

  • Fine Film

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/11/13

    Finally, a film I can enjoy in the Oscar marathon on TCM. I regret that many of the films selected by the Academy I have little affection for. This is not to say that the actors and some of the film picks are not worthy of Oscars because I believe that some of them are. This film is so well done from top to bottom. If anyone has read the writings of Brendan Behan and Liam O'Flaherty, it will be evident that it accurately depicts the Irish struggle. After a period in time, it seems that many great films of top quality were overlooked by the Academy. I am happy McLaglen, Nichols and Ford recieved recognition for this fine film adapted from O'Flaherty's writings.

  • MUST SEE--MUST OWN!!

    • xanticrime
    • 4/22/11

    I came to know

  • The Informer

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/13/11

    ***1/2

  • McLaglen in mind

    • Jack The Hat
    • 8/17/09

    This pictue and it's author had to have Victor McLaglen in mind---no one else could have done it so well. Great, great film!

  • A John Ford Classic

    • Charles McVicker
    • 5/2/07

    John Ford is without a doubt one of the greatest American filmmakers of the 20th century. His tale of Gypo Nolan a rather ignorant man who must overcome his inner strife to save himself and his love Katie from the times for which they live in. Victor Mclaglen is simply magnificent in his betrayal of the informant Gypo Nolan. Ford won the Oscar for Best Director and rightfully so he allows us to feel the pain and remorse of Gypo making you feel sorry for this anti-hero of sorts. The brilliance of Ford is his ability to take strong characters appear human and often makes the viewer think. A definite classic.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.