skip navigation
Mr. Lucky

Mr. Lucky(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Mr. Lucky A gambling-ship owner is out... MORE > $12.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • No subtitles or Captions

    • William Lathan
    • 10/20/13

    This movie is great. Cary Grant plays a rather different role than he normally did. Here he is a charming bad guy who is changed for the good by love. The problem is... this movie which in my opinion is one of his best and most important has no captions or subtitles. That is such a shame. Why can't captions or subtitles be added. Some of his fans, like me, are getting on a bit and have bad hearing.

  • Mr. Lucky

    • Penny Montgomery
    • 3/29/13

    I've loved this movie since I saw it as a child. I simply cannot believe TCM put it out as a DVD without Subtitles. To my way of thinking it is not remastered or totally available without CC or Subtitles. It is a guy Cinderella story and just too good to miss!

  • Muito bom

    • Sonia
    • 11/13/10

    Este filme muito bom. Uns dos melhores de Cary Grant como sempre charmoso em seus filmes.

  • Mr. Lucky, Pure Entertainment

    • Norm
    • 8/10/09

    Star crossed lovers unite, Lorraine Day and Cary Grant tantalize the audience with their on again/off again relationship. Is it doomed or is it in the Stars ? Great music score, really sets the tone !

  • One of Cary Grant's best

    • Judy Spagnola
    • 6/30/09

    I know many have missed this classic Cary Grant. You can tell he enjoyed using the cockny slang. I have told many about the scene where he is knitting and how Lorraine Day cries. The song 'Give me Something To Remember You" etc. Set during the war. Later made into a tv series

  • TRULY A CLASSIC!

    • RICK MARTINEZ
    • 8/28/08

    PAUL STEWART'S PLAYS THE PERFECT ANTAGNOSTIC CHARACTER TYPE PLAYING AGAINST THE GOOD NATURED HARDENED GAMBLER OF GRANT/MR. LUCKY!

  • MR. LUCKY - PHENOMENAL MOVIE!

    • henrietta martinez
    • 8/28/08

    THIS IS TRULY A CLASSIC MOVIE WITH GRANT, DAY, BICKFORD, STEWART AND SOKOLOFF GIVING EXCELLENT PERFORMANCES! AS A CARY GRANT FAN, THIS MOVIE IS #1 ON MY FAVORITE MOVIE LIST.....

  • Mr Lucky

    • Steve
    • 1/31/08

    Long over due....should be on DVD so it doesn't fade away lost on video tape forever.

  • Great Cary Grant Film

    • Ollie
    • 12/1/07

    Not available on DVD, but I don't know why. It's got a series of strong performances in a dramatic WWII Home Front setting. Strong performances, great climax for the romatic set.

  • A Gem of a Movie

    • roofus21
    • 7/8/07

    Mr. Lucky is a wonderful movie. All of the performances are top notch, with Cary leading the way. Why in the world isn't it released on DVD?

  • Mr. Lucky gets another

    • Rochelle
    • 6/7/07

    In reading other comments on this movie it seems that I am not the only person to have the world of black and white film opened up to me through the eyes of Mr. Lucky. I was around 7 years old the first time I watched this movie and was immediately drawn into the movie as the characters made their first appearances on the dock. I loved it so much I made my dad record it the next time it aired. I still have that copy on VHS at almost 20 years old and cannot wait until it is released on DVD. This began my fascination with this era in American history and opened me up to many conversations with my grandmother about her life and times as one of the first female marines! Who knew one movie could be so influential?

  • Mr.Lucky

    • Eddie
    • 2/3/07

    Great movie!Cary Grant at his best, as a tough guy with a heart.Must see if its ever scheduled to show again.

  • Mr. Lucky

    • Karen
    • 12/30/06

    I was 19 years old when I first saw the film Mr. Lucky. My mother and grandmother use to always watch black and white movies. We only had one tv and I would begrudgingly watch the old movies with them. It was this film, that made me enjoy watching the black and white movies rather than the feeling of being forced to watch them. After that I would willingly and eargerly watch them with my family. Now at 35 I still watch black and white films and my husband has found the same love of TCM classic movies as I have. Thank you for keeping the classics on the air.

  • Love Mr. Lucky

    • linda
    • 10/16/06

    I love the film Mr. Lucky. Cary Grant shows another side of himself. The ties are horrible. Larraine Day is gorgeous. It gives a perspective about what was happening during WWII without being preachy. The blood banks, the refugees, the materials sent by Americans to Europe.Has the wonderful song Please Give Me Something to Remember You By. Big WWII song. It is all there and is entertaining as well.

  • subtext, subtext, subtext!

    • tom
    • 4/17/06

    I agree with the previously filed comments and add that the dialogue and acting present an interesting and unusual cinema realism considering when Mr. Lucky was filmed (1943). Grant plays a Runyanish character, hard-edged and a bit thuggish, but yet loveable, who says things like "never give a sucker an even break, but don't cheat your friends". Dahl convincingly plays a gorgeous,smart,modern woman drawn to Grant's character because, centrally, "he's the only man that's ever frightened me". Additionally, the film suggests a Brechtian worldview naturally populated with hard-edged, unrepentant gamblers and crooks. Altho uneven, Mr. Lucky is a most unexpectedly interesting film.(for me, anyway)

  • Mr. Lucky was the best

    • Suave_Brooklyn
    • 4/16/06

    I'm a big fan of Cary Grant and wanted to know how come this movie hasn't been released on DVD yet. Please consider bringing this classic to DVD.

  • Great Film!

    • Steven
    • 4/8/06

    One of Cary Grant's best performances, presaging his complex work with Hitchcock later. And Laraine Day never looked better.

  • Does anyone know about this movie?

    • minkamoo
    • 3/27/06

    I saw Mr. Lucky on cable in the 80's, and taped it. It is one of the best performances I have seen from Cary Grant. I am so surprised to find it is not on DVD. This is Cary Grant at his best! Please bring this movie to DVD.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.