skip navigation
Libel

Libel(1959)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Libel A former POW is accused of... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • love it

    • jae
    • 6/1/13

    i agree with gina. this movie is intense and absorbing. when mark is on the witness stand and the camera zooms in on the key players i almost fell off my chair. i have had a crush on dirk bogarde for a long time. [great actor] i also loved robert morley and found it to be one of my favorite role for him. just give this movie a chance.

  • Intense and absorbing

    • Gina
    • 1/7/13

    Quiet but intense, this courtroom drama sucked me in and kept me spellbound. Bogarde is brilliant -- has any other actor ever used his eyes so well? -- and de Havilland, Massie, and the others give strong supporting performances. The story had me so on edge, I could hardly make it to the end, but then I was really glad I did! Despite a plot hole or two (I never did figure out the part about the jacket), this is a terrific little film.

  • The Jacket

    • Karl Benson
    • 1/6/13

    If Mark beat the Canadian guy nearly to death, why would Mark put his own jacket on the Canadian guy? He wanted to fake his own death? Or as an attempt for Mark to steal the identity of the Canadian guy? That part didn't make sense to me.

  • @tcmfan's question

    • Alyssa
    • 8/27/10

    tcmfan posted a review that asked, "The doctor never found the scar above his knee which was supposed to be there. That issue was never resolved. Perhaps the doctor didn't look closely enough, and/or the scar diminished in size over the years?" The only testimony that Sir Mark even has a scar comes from his cousin, who stands to inherit everything if the real Sir Mark Lodden died in the war. Since the cousin otherwise says nothing to discredit Mark, but Mark refuses to shake his hand at the end of the movie, my impression is that the cousin invented or exaggerated the injury as part of his secret collaboration with Buckenham, Mark's accuser. (The cousin assures Buckenham before the trial that, though he's being called as a witness for Sir Mark, he has no intention of aiding his cause.)Btw, I *love* this movie. Dirk Bogarde is amazing in it. Talk about soulful eyes.

  • Great movie

    • tcmfan
    • 8/27/10

    I just watched this movie today. It's such a great movie. However, there is a part of it which I can't quite reconcile with the ending. The doctor never found the scar above his knee which was supposed to be there. That issue was never resolved. Perhaps the doctor didn't look closely enough, and/or the scar diminished in size over the years?

  • A moral dilemma?

    • John
    • 4/16/08

    I seem recall an unresolved issue following my viewing of "LIBEL". A feature of the story was the (misguided perhaps) bona fide belief that a deception had been occasioned.[Identity stolen if you like ] Circumstances as they unfolded, appear to support that belief.Does one neglect to expose an perceived injustice because of a risk of litigation?- don't want to get "involved".

  • LIBEL - a lasting impression.

    • John
    • 4/16/08

    I have waited for more than 45 years for the opportunity(hopefully) to see this work again.While my recollection is scant in some areas much of the detail appears as clear today as when I last saw it in the early 1960's.I suspect it may have been a film " out of its time" but one which related a story which needed to be told.

  • Fascinated: Saw when I was 11.

    • Spencer L.
    • 1/28/08

    I remember only a few scenes from this movie, but I have wanted to see it again for years. Even at 11 I was intrigued by the story and the dual roles played by Dirk. It's coming in February...I can't wait.

  • catch this little known film

    • diane
    • 10/13/06

    An amazing film whose story and acting caught me when I saw it on tv as a little girl. If you're lucky enough to catch it you can see why dirk bogarde especially was a master at his craft.

  • You're liable to like Libel

    • Richard Nowak
    • 7/29/06

    I found this relatively obscure film to be very entertaining. In addition to excellent acting, it had many twists and turns in the plot in the final 3o minutes. To thoroughly enjoy the movie, do not read the detailed notes of the plot as it will ruin the suspense for you.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.