skip navigation
I Remember Mama

I Remember Mama(1948)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

I Remember Mama Norwegian immigrants face the... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love

    • Glory
    • 8/5/14

    This is one of my all time favorite movies. I never miss it (if possible) and record it while I watch it so I can watch it again later. I always cry through it and it always makes me think of my great grandparents who were my only grandparents (but so do the Beverly Hillbilly's and Ma and Pa Kettle) because of the love and the care, taking care of everyone and making everyone feel welcome and at home. There isn't a movie today that can stand up and compare to this one. It is truly a classic and everyone should see it at least once.

  • Heartwarming Performances by All

    • Judy
    • 3/30/14

    I truly just love this film!!! Ms. Dunne gives a simply superb performance as the matriarch of this heartwarming story. Every actor/actress is top notch and I especially love the characters - irascible Uncle Chris, and timid Aunt Trina. A pure delight from beginning to end.

  • Thank you

    • Mary M.
    • 5/13/13

    Thank you for the gift of showing I remember Mama.Gift for me for Mothers Day. Outstanding film,much like my growing up days.Brought back wonderful memories of more simple times. Love,respect,manners & proper disciplineconsideration of others,& joy. Uncle Chris was a kind soul,helped others.Irene Dunne 10 .Thank you.M. M

  • Five stars!

    • RedRain
    • 5/12/13

    This film is so much more than just a "story." It is a glimpse into the past of our immigrant ancestors. It teaches us what the mores of the times were and how things were so different. I was especially touched by the performance of Oscar Homulka as "Uncle Chris," the supposed drunk of the family, who had many secrets but who also lived a life of remarkable sacrifice helping dozens of crippled children. We are all products of people just as these. I remember so very many of these exact circumstances happening in my own family of immigrants. I went to funerals of great-aunts and uncles who also did this sort of thing. I attended wedding "shivarees" and one was even thrown for my own wedding in the 1960s. I view this film each time it is shown on TCM and it always serves to make me believe that we have forgotten so many of what our immigrant ancestors tried to teach us on how to live and how to die. We are all the poorer for it too!

  • Stunning Irene Dunne!

    • Lynn
    • 5/13/12

    I Remember Mama is a wonderful film with a stunning performance by Irene Dunne. The premise of an immigrant mother devoted to raising her family is simple but timeless. Rich, universal movie moments include going to any length to see a sick child in the hospital, counting the family money on a strict budget, self-sacrifice for the good of her family and scrubbing floors to keep her home a proud place. What transcends and ennobles this film is the deep mutual love between a mother, her husband and children as narrated by a beautiful young Barbara Bel Geddes. Thank you TCM for showing this on Mother's Day!

  • JUST WONDERFUL

    • el debbo
    • 1/23/12

    As wonderful now as it was decades ago when I first saw it. Funny, heart-warming, tear-inducing, it's got it all!And the black and white photography is beautiful. Somehow, the profile of the sleeping nurse and later, the deathbed scene are magnificent. This is one good movie.

  • i remember mama

    • s johnson
    • 12/20/11

    probably one of the best movies ever. i have watched it many times. i watch it every time it is on tv.

  • Love it!

    • Brian
    • 5/9/11

    A charming, sentimental film. For the most part very well acted, though Steve Brown as Nels was somewhat wooden. The story is a snapshot of in the life of the Hanson family. A refreshingly functional family struggling to make ends meet and the mother who keeps everything together. In movies like this the father is often marginalized as a drunk, or an abuser, or otherwise incompetent, but Mr. Hanson is a hard working, loving dad whose worst vices are a love for tobacco and coffee. He struggles at times to connect with his children but its not for a lack of trying. Very much like millions of other fathers out there. Irene Dunn is outstanding as "Mama". An indulgent, but not overly so, mother whose common sense and level head keeps everything running smoothly even through difficult times and allows the children to focus on growing up.

  • I Love This Movie

    • Debra Jacobs
    • 2/18/11

    I love this movie. I remember seeing this movie when I was a teen-ager. I saw it again this year and it is still the greatest movie ever. So enjoyable. It reminds me of my grandmother.

  • i remember mama

    • barb
    • 8/17/10

    i first watched this a year after my own mother passed away, and i cried throughout the whole movie, but it has since became one of my favorites...fantastic movie, touching and charming...a true classic

  • I Remember Mama

    • Barbara
    • 5/10/10

    I saw this movie on Mother's Day and oh what memories it brought back. I had forgotten this wonderful movie. It is beaituifully done and the acting is superb. I remember not only this movie growing up but especially the TV version in the 1950's. I told my husband as we were watching that I strongly remember a series on TV and sure enough the commentator indicated that after the movie was over. There are few movies these days that can compare with the acting, diecting. cast, cinematography and the wonderfula script this movie had. The character development was especially wonderful.

  • Wonderful

    • Christine
    • 4/13/10

    This is the first time I've seen this movie all the way through and all I can say is that it is a wonderful film. The sentimentality, the sweetness and the loving family is just something that you don't see today. I agree with some of the other reviewers in that this should be shown in schools today. Kids today just don't know what it was like in the old days when people had to scrape money together to make ends meet. And they don't see too many movies these days without special effects and great acting. This was a fantastic cast and they portrayed immigrants so well, I really felt that they were from Norway. Irene Dunne should have recieved an Oscar for her performance. Mama's will do anything for their kids as this film shows and she was a wonderful Mama.

  • I Remember Mama (1948)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/17/10

    90/100. A very heart warming film, wonderfully written and believably done. There is a fine attention to detail and the film has a loving feel of the time. Superb cinematography, good art direction but it is the marvelous cast that makes this film work, as well as George Stevens sensitive direction. Irene Dunne is so perfect in the title role and gives one of her best performances. The movie boasts an amazing supporting cast, Barbara Bel Geddes, Oscar Homolka, Ellen Corby and Edgar Bergen. The scene with the cat is a classic! Bel Geddes, Homolka, Dunne and Corby were all nominated for Oscars, as was the fine black and white cinematography.

  • Great Movie

    • Joan
    • 6/18/08

    I love this movie. A commentor said this movie should be shown in schools, how right they are!

  • Heartwarming Story

    • clb
    • 9/25/07

    This is one of my favorite movies of all times. Every character in this film reminded me of a family member of mine. It is a heart warming story with great lessons in life and I only wish it was mandatory for every student in every school in America to watch. Great lessons in compassion for fellow human beings and the importance of family sticking together in happy, sad, and hard moments in life. Great family movie for the whole family to watch!

  • what a good movie really is!

    • michael
    • 5/17/07

    tears of joy, sadness and wonderment everytime i see this movie. i wish i could recommend the whole family to see it, but in this day and age people's senses are dulled by special effects, bad big name actors and few new ideas. back to the old i say. this movie shows old family values, regular people making it through life as it really comes...easy sometimes, hard at others. i can't pinpoint one outstanding cast member, since they all played equally off each other. maily the use of camera angles got me. in particular when katrin get her rejection letter as pappa fixes the window, dagmar dusts, and momma does her thing.

  • Great Mother Day movie

    • Melonie
    • 4/25/07

    I fell in love with the movie the first time I watched it. It shows how much a mother will sacafice for her children and family. No matter what happen she was proud of her children. Always willing to help someone, also showing how important it was to saving money and have an education. I felt it was a great honor to all mothers. That's why I love it for Mother day, it great for the whole family to watch. Ireen Dunne was great. I was also surprise to see Barbara Bel Geddes( Mrs. Ellie from Dallas fame)as the oldest daughter/narrator. I saw a whole different side to her acting.

  • Irene Dunne SHINES!!!

    • Elleen
    • 10/19/06

    This is one of my favorite movies of all time. This movie is truly a classic. I think Irene Dunne should've won the oscar for her performance in this movie. The story of this movie is excellent. I highly recommend this movie for everyone to see. You will fall in love with it, like I did....and " we won't have to go to the bank. This is a good family movie,also.

  • superb acting

    • Joan
    • 4/11/06

    superb acting by Irene Dunne. She should have won the Academy Award for this part. You felt like you were sitting in mama Hansen's kitchen instead of watching a movie.

  • Warm Movie

    • mark
    • 2/20/06

    I Remember Mama is a nice movie. The story is a real slice of life in the various situations that occur. Sometimes heart warming--sometimes sad--sometimes humorous--I regard this as one of Irene Dunnes' best films. And the character Uncle Chris is great too--as are his three sisters. Watch for one of these sisters Aunt Trina (Ellen Corby) of "Waltons" fame! Her shy and sheepish character is neat!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.