skip navigation
The Go Getter

The Go Getter(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • the go getter

    • harvey applebaum
    • 3/24/19

    I'm a night owl on the prowl for vintage, and classic movies for my collection of around 1900 titles. I don't recall the time, but TCM had this title on...I watched it, laughed, and had a great time. I belong to a movie group of around 14, and when I rendered a synopsis, they all thought it sounded like a film they would enjoy watching...This should be on DVD, a gem directed by Busby Berkeley should not be hidden from from movie buffs...I would be open to discussing with TCM the possibility of burning a copy, for whatever amount you deem reasonable, and I would sign whatever legal documents you require, that I would not copy, or distribute or stream in any manner this movie....I have done this with serious collectors when I was VP of the non-theatrical division at 20th...never had a problem...At the time, I was the classic movie maven of the lot....I'm the individual that had "sunrise" restored, when I was told that this old movie was found in the vault...I had the material shipped to Crest National who did the restoration....Since retiring 17 years ago, I know more advanced restorations were done.....So, if you would let me know if you can assist me in adding this film to my collection.......Thank you....By the way I started working for Fox in January 1956....As time passes, the history of this great studio will slowly fade...

  • The Go-Getter

    • Yvette Hammell
    • 3/6/19

    Please Please put this movie on DVD, One of my favorites! Love George Brent Movies Femme is good tgoo

  • The go getter 1937 with George Brent

    • Karen miller
    • 10/16/18

    Love this movie please put it on dvd and put on sale so I could purchase it ,it is a enjoyable movie

  • A riot

    • roberta
    • 3/16/18

    This kept me company this morning, an unexpected, charming, and never-knew-of before movie in glorious B&W, that made me laugh. Catch the funny lines and asides. Poor George Brent must have been exhausted from having to limp through the whole movie, but he soldiered on and good for him; a solid, reliable, and quiet leading man, but he gets his points across. I'd love to see it again from the beginning this time, I tuned in after it had already started.

  • How Can I Watch The Go Getter?

    • Mary
    • 8/20/15

    I am the fourth of eight children. Our father -- a retired musician -- is now 86 years old. He has been talking about this movie, "The Go Getter" as long as any of us can remember. About 10 years ago, my sister thought it would be a nice gift for dad to get him the movie. That was easier said than done. At that time, we couldn't even find mention of it anywhere.Fast forward to today. I saw these postings on TCM.com and saw that TCM shows the movie occasionally. My post is to ask -- does anyone know how I can get a copy of the movie? Alternatively, does TCM post a schedule so we could at least coordinate a viewing of the film?Ideally, we'd like to have a family reunion in a year and it would be fantastic to show The Go Getter!Any tips or ideas would be most appreciated!

  • Completely Unexpectedly Great Movie

    • Viveca Powell
    • 5/26/15

    I love and almost study old movies as a passion. Saw the plot synopsis and decided to record it since I am a George Brent fan. I laughed all the way through this movie. I thought it was going to be a drama since he was an amputee in the movie. However the movie had the perfect tone with out being sappy. While at times ridiculous, it was still funny and absolutely endearing. Handicapped is only a state of mind. I forgot about his leg for most of the picture, and I think that was the point. It brightened my day. It is gems like these that keep me scrolling through the movie lists because I never want to miss a great, or even just good, movie. And this one was great.

  • the go getter

    • Carl
    • 11/16/13

    Great movie. I don't understand why it is not available to purchase.

  • The Go Getter (1937)

    • Mathews Hollinshead
    • 11/12/13

    Enjoyed immensely. Didn't catch the beginning, but saw 74 minutes to the end. Great character acting, wonderful plot, good B & W cinematography. Hope it becomes available on iTunes or TCMshop if not already, & gets shown again soon on TCM!

  • promising start

    • Bry Walker
    • 11/12/13

    A very promising start but watch out for the interminable blue vase episode which takes the middle third ofthe movie and its downhill from there.

  • The Go Getter

    • steve
    • 12/8/11

    One of the best movies I have seen...wonderfully acted...great screen play...true to the book...in my top ten movies of all time.

  • GREAT MOVIE

    • Linda
    • 11/30/11

    I didn't catch the beginning of this movie but what I saw was a GREAT. I laughed all through it. I'd love to see it again. I hope it becomes available on DVD soon!!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.