skip navigation
The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter

The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter(1968)

Contribute

FOR The Heart Is a Lonely Hunter (1968) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Heart Is a... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Heart is a Lonely Hunter

    • John
    • 8/5/13

    Overall-2 1/2 out of 5Lead Performers-4/5Supporting Cast-2/5Director-2/5Score-3/5Screenplay-2/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-2/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-2/5

  • A walk Down memory lane

    • Mark Mckee
    • 11/28/11

    I was 12 when this film was shot in Selma, Al. l Lived there At the time. It was the talk of the town. I rode my bike in every location And was even offered a part in the film as the red headed freckled face kid. I turned it down at the time, because I was to shy. When it was released I went to the Wilby Theater in Selma with family. It's no longer there . The Theater itself looked like something out of Gone With The Wind. A long winding spiral staircase.Beautiful portraits taller than I was. The large red brick hotel in the film was just as magnificant. The grave yard scene at the end of the movie is just across the street from my grandmothers house . Believe it or not it still looks the same today. As a twelve year old I thought the film was boring and sad, but now that I'm 54 I realize it portrays real life with all its saddness and joy combined. I've been wanting to show this film to my own kids now. I wonder what there review will be like 40 years later. All in all it's a classic . Few films touch the heart of man like this one. It makes me think about how I treat my fellow man. FIVE STARS.

  • sub-plot of racism

    • S. turner MD JD
    • 6/18/11

    Americans do not know even basic history-only 12% passed a basic test, it is no surprise that in history dealing with racism, African-Americans, anything to do with black history is close to nil. Racism was just as bad or worse in the north. New Jersey was called the Georgia of the north. Most whites & young black people today do not know that slavery existed in the north & the south. As late as the late 60s, a black man could be stopped by the police for wearing a suit if he were not a preacher, teacher, or a doctor. Black men & women are stopped & harassed by the police today for driving a fancy car or for no reason.The doctor in the film is embittered for good reasons. White men do not have to deal with a lack of respect & emasculation on a daily basis. Today the AMA-American Medical Association admits that quality of care sadly depends on the color of your skin. In 2011, black people do not get the same care as white people due to racism, cultural myths, prejudice, & the way white & black doctors are raised to believe from home & that most bigoted & dangerous of racist tools-the TV . The TV & media are so strongly convincing & such a part of our lives that even some black people believe the negativity & bashing of black people that is so prevalent in this country. We need to talk about it, not run & pretend it does not exist or to get over it. It is not over & it has generational ramifications. You would never tell a Jewish person to get over it & as a group Jewish people are strongly financially & politically empowered, unlike Black people. The horrors of slavery & Jim Crow should serve as a lesson in bigotry against other groups & as Americans look for scape goats. The sub-plot of the brutality of the legal system is just as relevant today. Black men daring to touch white women echoes still as proven false claims of rape by black men who served decades in prison. Gross disparity exists at all levels of society-housing, education, legal, employment.

  • racism is never overdone nor done

    • s. turner MD JD
    • 6/18/11

    The reviewer who feels that racism is overdone in this movie is clearly one of those citizens who feels uncomfortable with the idea of racism in America. Racism continues and is getting worse, the pain and suffering of such a vile evil entity is never overdone. If only America would admit the existence of this ugly fact of life, we could begin to heal and rid this country of this scourge. Movies and TV are more racist than ever with the exclusion of black women in leading roles or included at all except for a few recycled actresses or the ever present stereotypical roles. As part of the entitled and arrogant group you cannot "See." White women are rarely killed in films of today- if the producer wants a successful return and they do not even get a smudge on their faces as we are constantly reminded how beautiful they are-regardless of what they look like, while black women are usually absent from film, are killed off early, have extremely minor roles, have typical stereotyped negative portrayals, are never referred to for their beauty(save Halle Berry) or viewed with respect or simple dignity. We are often sexually handicapped to protect society,made blind, bitchy, cold, gay, disinterested.The subliminal and covert messages in films tell us white life is more valuable than black life, all blacks( term used to dehumanize ) are criminal or prostitutes, drug dealers, ghetto dwellers and black children are never portrayed the way all these highly-gifted and beautiful white child actresses are. Positive terms - beautiful, gorgeous, breath-taking, intelligent are saved for white people. you can see that ol' time deep southern attitude returning full force. Gutter sexuality, denigration of black culture equating us to the lowest common denominator(the opposite for white culture) is more rampant than ever. See the movie- Josephine Baker for the vile hateful comments. White Hollywood producers, writers, are taking us to new lows in terms of bigotry and race

  • THE HEART IS A LONELY HUNTER

    • JOE
    • 1/25/11

    BEAUTIFUL...HAUNTING....STICKS TO YOUR BONES, AND SOUL, LONG AFTER THE ENDING...I consider myself a fairly knowledgeable, sophisticated fan of classic well-made movies, both big and small...Last night, I saw this movie for the first time, on TCM...As I sat in my chair for a long time afterward, just staring at the tv screen and Robert Osborne's commentary, I kept repeating to my wife and myself..."There is one of the best damn films I have ever seen." It may not be totally loyal to the original novel, but--like Elmer Gantry, and countless other movie adaptations of literature--this movie can stand "on it's own" as a "work of art." A great, "little" film with many "little" moments and characters...well acted...Some reviewers are critical of either the brief scenes which "jump around" and of the sub-plot of racism in the late 1960s south....I think these are two of the strong points....Just sit back, clear your mind of expectations, relax, and just watch and listen....the novel, and this film, are about the "real people" of society...the ones we pass by everyday....the ones, like us, who have their own individual struggles and heartaches....Mr. Arkin and certainly, Sandra Locke...this film is the best damn thing you have ever done...hope to see it again, late at night, every few months, on TCM.

  • Untitled

    • Rocky
    • 1/25/11

    I saw this movie when I was an usher in a movie theater. However, I forgot how good it was. Warner Bros/Seven Arts released two tear jerkers that year directed by Ralph Ellis Miller the other one was Sweet November. Another excellent film. Sondra Locke as Mick at Mr. Sanger's gravesite telling him that she loved him, tore my heart out. This was the sixties when they made movies, not video games.

  • Don't look for any comedy relief.

    • denscul
    • 1/24/11

    I saw this while I was in the service on 16mm film. Of the 25 or 30 men who started watching the film, I was the only one left before the film was half over. The projectionist wanted to leave, but I outranked him. I was kidded about being wimp, watching such a "soap opera" but the film is a gem, and as I watched it more than 40 years later on TCM with my wife who stayed up with me, I am convinced that if you have a good script, good actors who may not be box office stars, you can make a gem. This film reminds me of Marty. Its about lonely people who find love. Carson Mc Cullers who also wrote Invitation to the Wedding had a difficult life, and she wrote well on a subject she was intimately familiar. This film is unlike Marty because its ending does not end on a happy but entirely realistic note. The only fault I found in the film was the 1968 racial attitude in the film. The country was going through racial trauma at the time, and some Hollywood attempts to portray the racial injustice of the time sometimes was overdone, as I think it was in this film. By over reaching the relationship between the doctor and his daughter played by a young Cicely Tyson, her husband and the White Alan Arkin, the film leaves the timeless subjects of lonlyness, love, the universal hardships of life that know no boundaries of time, place or race. Whenever I see a film attempting to send a "message" that "message" should be understood by an audience watching a century later. Great works of art survive because they not topical, but permenent problems understood by audiences generations removed from when the art was created.This film should probably end up being Alan Arkin's signature piece. As much as I loved Arkin's performance in "The Russians are Coming", a lot of the comedy will be lost as time separates us from the Cold War.

  • The Heart is a Lonely Hunter

    • Jeanna Bailey
    • 1/24/11

    This is one of the most beautiful, sensitive and emotional pictures that I have ever seen. This is my first time seeing it and I was deeply touched. Memorable performance by all the actors.

  • Alan Arkin SHOULD Have Won The Oscar!

    • Linda Nitzschke
    • 1/21/11

    Alan Arkin was nominated for Best Actor for this, and he really should have won, but lost to Cliff Robertson (Charly). I've never forgotten this movie since I first saw it when it came out in 1968. Thank you for showing it!

  • Alan Arkin wins oscar

    • Mark Hutchinson
    • 3/3/07

    This 1968 drama is a real gem.One of Mr.Arkins'best performence's.Since it is not in print, please air it so I may tape it. Thank's

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.